We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Symi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Symi Garden Studios
Ranked #15 of 18 Symi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is a good place to stay in Symi. Nice and kind of traditional at a reasonable price. In short distance with the "city center" but quiet too.
We stayed 4 nights...Actually 3 ,because the first night there was a problem with the plumping system, so the man who runs the studio found us another place to stay the night - although turned out to be not a very good option. Anyway, the room we got was very comfortable, big and traditional, with cooking facilities as well. The bathroom was quite traditional as well, but a little bit neglected.
We were also offered and asked for a "service" from-to the hotel with an electric car towards the port, that was free of charge and very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel looks very beautiful from the outside, but unfortunately the inside leaves much to be desired. The room is spacious... but not very clean or welcoming. The beds are not very comfortable and the whole room has a cold feeling to it. The bathroom is quite cramped and after taking a shower the whole bathroom floods... making it very unpleasant. We stayed in the four adult room in winter... and only one of the rooms had an air conditioner/heater.

The service was very poor. We had to go to a restaurant owned by the same man who owned the hotel to find him. Afterwards, there was some confusion as to whether the hotel booked online was the same one.

Wasn't impressed with the hotel for the amount paid.

Symi is definitely worth visiting though!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

symi is a cozy n terrific island...u can see all over the island by motorbike...we stayed at this hotel 2 days...very cozy, clean n so domestic. favorable hotel staff...if u stay 2-3 days choose this hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cenkhasdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I just returned from 10 days on Symi island in Greece, a real jewel (and a hidden one at that, too -- Rhodes was full of tourists, and Symi empty, just natives... which makes it a lot more authentic). I chose Garden Studios because I always like lodging in garden surroundings, and also I like the colors of the outdoor walls shown on their Website. It came at a great price, had a kitchenette so I could cook lunches, and I could spend time on the balcony that overlooks some spectacular scenery behind the town -- you look directly onto a hill dotted with bushes and trees going up steeply, in the back of the Garden Studios.

Can't figure out how some of these reviews came in negative, as I had nothing to complain about. The wifi was perfect for watching streaming films in my room or on the terrace, it was very tranquil, great for reading. And just two or three blocks from the port and restaurants/shopping. All in all, it was a great vacation, as long as you like taking it easy (there isn't much to do on Symi, but that's fine if you bring your entertainment -- books and a netbook -- with you).

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor studio, they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank provencebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was very disappointed by the behaviour of the owner of the place and the whole Symi experience (a very beautiful island indeed) was ruined. The place is OK. The rooms are nice but not very clean, and we had a good welcome; but that was not the point. The owner of the place asked us to pay our rooms in advance from the first day in order to book them, since he said it was a very busy period. We did indeed (we were determined to stay for 6 nights) both me and my wife (Greeks) and a friend of mine (from Austria). The unfortunate event was that on the second night of our stay in Symi we had an accident. My wife broke her leg, and we had to go to Rhodes for an X-ray and cancell our vacations (Symi is not an island you can enjoy with a broken leg).
The owner was aware of the whole situation, he even saw my wife with her broken leg and the only thing he had to say was "I am sorry but I can't give you a refund". Bear in mind, it was a "very busy period" (as he said to us) and I am sure he found immediately people to put in our rooms. So we both lost around (2 rooms)x(45 euro)x(4 nights) = 360 euro.
For me this behaviour is very disappointing and totally unacceptable. He did not even offer (although we asked for) to give us back a portion of the prepaid money.
Obviously I will never go back to that place (although happily I will visit again Symi) and I have only a bitter experience to share with.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DAster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Symi is a wonderful island and definitely worth the trip for its sea, the lovely architecture of the village and the good atmosphere of the port at night. Just try to avoid this hotel if you can.
The place is actually well located in a quiet area just steps from the waterfront, where most shops, cafès and restaurants are located, and from the outside it looks very good and well mantained. The 2 buildings are freshly painted in the island's typical bright colours and the garden and terraces are lovely.
The real problem of the place are the guestrooms, making it abig issue. During our short (4 nights) stay, we had to change room twice and both times were disappointed. The first time we were given a room on the first floor with direct access to the terrace but an ultra small bathroom with just a shower head in the middle, while the second time we had a dungeon-like room in the basement, very dark and with a bad smell of cigarettes. Both rooms were furnished with old, depressing furniture but that's really the minor concern.
Cleanliness is another issue as it seemed that the daily cleaning routine was made very superficially and quickly, thus leaving behind a lot of dirt and spots, especially in the living area.
Owner and staff are quite nice, but that's definitely not enough to justify a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bersaglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our studio was on two levels, the bedroom was up some very steep stairs, with a small window so very little air and light, but thankfully the air con worked fine.
Bathroom and kitchen were on the ground floor and were nice with fairly big windows. The service could be better: reception is closed from 3pm to 6pm so you have to catch the guy when he is around (not a very welcoming person). The location is great though, just behind the harbour and close to everything in Gialos. Also very quiet compared to the restaurants/bar area. A very good solution if you don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r0b75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Symi hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera House Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#1 of 11 in Symi
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokona
Kokona
#1 of 2 in Gialos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#6 of 11 in Symi
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symi Garden Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symi Garden Studios

Address: Ghialos port, 856 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Symi
Price Range: £30 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Symi Garden Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Garden Studios" is a quiet place, good for relaxing thanks to its beautiful GARDEN and ideally located 2-3 minutes’ walk from the picturesque harbor of Ghialos. Shopping facilities, kiosks, boutiques, banks, patisseries, restaurants and taverns are all located nearby. Built in the style of local architecture all studios are newly renovated; providing plenty of space, comfort and facilities. We are known for our hospitality, the good value for money with good prices and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Symi Garden Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing