We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anastasia Apartments sept 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anastasia Apartments
Ranked #16 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Symi
Richmond,surrey
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Anastasia Apartments sept 2012”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

if you are used to the very basic accommodation of most Greek self catering apartments then the Anastasia Apartments will not surprise you,simple with all that you need for a base,fridge,2 cooking rings,pots pans ect and most importantly a kettle...We were there for a week and the apartment was cleaned twice and new sheets and towels given....
The views from the balcony were lovely,you could see pedi bay the village and the valley,i did not see any of the rubbish or mess that one of the other reviews had mentioned!?
In the morning there were a lot of cockerels ,a few Donkeys and goats to hear and for me it was lovely and a sure sign i was away on holiday,nicer to hear the sounds of the country than traffic of a city....
The veranda was a lovely place to sit and unwind after a long day at the beach or from walking around and it was good to chat with the neighbours and the owners who were lovely...Sam the husband of Anastasia brought us fresh figs on three occasions and always Anastasia made us feel at home...
It you want a simple place to stay on a STUNNING island then i would try this place out,you may just fall in love with it as i have done...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cottontailx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
15
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

I'm loath to write anything negative about this accommodation in case it puts people off staying in Horio, as the village is a great place to stay when visiting Symi in terms of being a lot more peaceful than Yialos & easy access to both Pedi & the harbour, plus the locals couldn't have been nicer & the cafes, bars & restaurants we visited in Horio were fantastic.
Whilst the village itself looks pretty from afar the area around the Anastasia is far from inviting; waste ground, litter & pretty much how I imagine Beruit to look!
The Anasatasia apartments themselves, I accept are a very cheap option but I still expected better & it proved to be a very uncomfortable week:
- The pillow was a cushion not a pillow & was incredibly uncomfortable, like a concrete slab (though so thin it was hard to distinguish if you had your head on that or the mattress where you could feel the springs poking through)
- Sheets with holes & cigarette burns
- The shower was fine in terms of heat & water pressure but why not attach it to the wall? Pain having to hold it to wash.
- The bathroom floor constantly had an inch of water on it, I felt like I had bloody trench foot by the end of the week, get some bath boards!
- The shelf in the bathroom was broken so everything fell off it & landed on the wet floor
- the only light in the bathroom was a shaving light over the mirror that took a good few minutes to light up meaning you had to leave it on all night or wait minutes for it to work before you could use the loo
- I get that you can't flush loo roll in Greece but that being the case I expect the bathroom bin to be emptied regularly (grose)
- No privacy, thank god for the air con as in order to have any privacy what so ever, we had to shut the windows & curtains as our neighbours (who were lovely) had to walk past our window to get to their apartments
- we couldn't flush the toilet at night because of the god awful racket it made & woke the neighbours
- And finally the fridge would let out a tremendous noise intermittently waking us up in the night only to have to try to get back to sleep on the concrete pillows!
Sorry to sound like a miserable moaner as I loved Symi but could not wait to leave the Anastasia!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Symi hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Thought the authentic village experience would have been better. Very very small studio, absolutely no privacy. Extremely limited outside space, just the width of a plastic chair and neighbouring apartment guests have no option but to squeeze past you just to access their accommodation. Noisy all night with all sorts of village sounds, might sound quaint but it wasn't in reality. Felt so disappointed that the only option was to check in to the Pedi Beach hotel, which was wonderful and really saved our well earned holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just returned from our holiday on the beautful island of Symi (our 30th Greek island). We stayed at the anastasia apartments up in the chorio. Superbly placed for the view over Pedi beach. Our room (number 2) was slightly on the small size but ideal for what we wanted. Well positioned for local tavernas, bars, bakery and mini markets. Sadly the local museum was closed for re-furb. Not far from the apartments are the infamous steps down to the lovely harbour area (Yialos), we took @ 8 mins to go down and @ 10 mins to climb back up. There is a regular bus service running up and down 'the hill' and also to pedi beach. We found prices in chorio and yialis to be about the same, eating out was superb and we found the Neridia taverna (at the rear of the harbour area) and the Odyssia (near the boat yard) to be excellent.
A special mention to the Sunrise Bar, owned by Kevin and Claudia, well situated for our apartments, always a smiling face and advice if requested. Open early and late if desired - a superb oasis. All being well we will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valentinetankmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Anastasia appartments are basic but comfortable, with adequate facilities.The owner lives just across the way and when we had a problem with our shower it was dealt with immediately. The best thing about these appartments though is the stunning view across to Pedi beach and the old town. The locals live in this area and are very friendly and welcoming.It was a refreshing change to get away from the touristy area! You do need to be fairly fit to stay here though as it's very high up and the Kali Strata stairs take some getting used to.
The Sunrise Bar just along the road is a great place and we went there almost every night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catwoman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in the 2-3 bed apartment room 5 and had a fantastic time. The balcony does get the sun all day but had just a nice bit of shade in the corner for a comfortable morning breakfast. There is not much I can add to Gemma's review, other than we enjoyed feeding the sparrows in the morning with left over bread from the previous nights taverna. Taverna wise, we really enjoyed Merekalis, Georgios, Syllogos, Neraida and Tholos - but we never had a bad meal anywhere. Horio provides a peaceful alternative to Yialos and I am glad we chose to stay at The Anastasia - we felt we were living amongst locals including the odd cockrel and donkey too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 apartment for 2-3 has the largest and most private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed at the Anastasia Apartments in Horio for a week at the end of September. After staying at the Irini on 2 occasions I initially missed the fabulous harbour views from the Irini but soon got used to waking up to the beautiful views of Pedi Bay and Horio. I stayed in Apartment 5 which is on the top floor and has a large balcony/terrace which runs the full length of the apartment and has stunning views of Pedi Bay to the left and Horio to the right. Due to its location it has sun virtually all day long. The bedroom area is fairly small with 2 single beds and a bedside table but the lounge/kitchen area is large and spacious. There is a breakfast bar with high stools, a coffee table and another small table/magazine rack. The wardrobe is in the lounge area and there is a long sofa/settee. The kitchen area is equipped with a fridge, a small oven with 2 rings on top (which I didn’t use) and an electric kettle. There were plenty of plates, breakfast dishes, mugs, glasses etc. The bathroom had a small bath with a hand held shower and no shower curtain which did mean the water went all over if you were washing your hair but that’s often the case in Greece. The main thing lacking IMHO was a decent mirror in the lounge or bedroom area as the only mirror was in the bathroom cabinet.

Anastasia, the friendly apartment owner, lives immediately behind the apartments and is on hand when required. When I arrived the light on my balcony wasn’t working. I told Anastasia about this and it was fixed the following day.

I really enjoyed being close to the centre of Horio with the supermarket and restaurants only a few minutes walk away and the friendly Sunrise Bar within staggering distance. Kev and Claudia made me very welcome and it was nice to meet up with some of their regulars. The harbour with a choice of bars, shops and restaurants is only ten minutes walk away at the bottom of the Kali Strata and there is always the Symi bus if you don’t fancy walking up the 300+ steps on the return.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Anastasia and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gemma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symi
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opera House Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#2 of 11 in Symi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain's Suites
Captain's Suites
#3 of 24 in Symi
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pedi Beach Hotel
Pedi Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Symi
300 reviews
24.2 mi away
Atlantis Houses
Atlantis Houses
#4 of 6 in Halki
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Apartments

Property: Anastasia Apartments
Address: | Chorio, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Symi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing