We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't consider staying elsewhere on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Symi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The only thing we can say about Taxiarchis apartments is that they have everything that a traveller would need on his/her holidays (aircon, TV, telephone, fridge, kitchen, cutlery, kettle, saucepans and most importantly good wireless connection). The apartments are incredibly clean (cleaned every day and towels are changed very regularly), spacious and comfortable and with excellent views to Pedi bay.
Not to mention Mr Takis' (known as Frank by the non Greeks) who is the friendliest and nicest man ever. He would go out of his way to please his guests (he took us and other guests on a day trip with his boat), he is extremely generous and possibly the best person on the island to ask for advice re where to eat, where to go and what to do. That explains why some of his guests are regulars. We have met quite a few couples that have been coming to Taxiarchis apartments for the past 10 years and wouldn't consider staying elsewhere on the island.
Being Greek and having stayed at many Greek hotels/apartments all around Greece we strongly recommend this place to anybody who prefers to stay in a peaceful location away from the harbour's noise.
Betty (Bangor, UK) and Vicky (Athens, Greece)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Betty_Bangor_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

We only stayed here for 3 nights but felt that we'd experienced a lot more Greece than the previous week on Rhodes. From arriving on the ferry we were bowled over by the beauty of the town and had the most interesting transfer ever in Franks Audi estate - us 2 adults and 3 kids with another couple AND all of our cases - Superb welcome to the island. The property is in the ideal setting and within easy reach of Gailos and Pedi with the SYMI BUS really reliable and cheap if not generally overloaded. We we at the lower end of the gardens so did have a steep walk up to the reception area but we happy with this as it kept our younger kids from making too much noise in a generally quiet complex. Frank was perfectly nice and helpful in giving us information and offered us a much needed drink on arrival while we sorted keys out.

The studios were perfectly formed and had everything that we could need with the added bonus of the view down to Pedi and over to Turkey.

People thought it odd that we spent such a short amount of time on the island but we seemed to fit everything in. A must is a visit to the Old Windmill restaurant run by a young English girl and her friend. It was so good that we ate there twice! The beaches closeby weren't much to shout about but there were 2 that we came across that are definately recommended. Super Symi right around from the harbour was popular with locals and tourists. There is a taverna there serving amazing food (must try the aubergine salad - yummy!!) a bar and lovely beach. The other beach that we spent time on was Agia Marina. This is reached by watertaxi from the bus stop at Pedi. Unbelievably stunning water with a decent sandy beach - totally relaxing but watch for the wind in July and August as it seemed to get really chilly by about 3pm

We used Symi ferry that we booked at the harbour in Rhodes Town. The Dodecanisos Express was reportedly quicker but twice the cost. We were more than happy with the Symi though but wished we'd have stayed on the boat in Panormitis - it wsa lioke a secret that we were not told about.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank daveemmerson1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay. Great location for Yialos and Pedi - great views of Pedi although resort not so good close up.
Made to feel extremely welcome, and our apartment was excellent and very clean.
Thanks to Frank, Eva, Roula and family :)
Thoroughly enjoyed our time in Symi.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StrongTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

You get what you pay for extremely basic and it wouldn't take too much to provide at least once piece of crockery that isn't chipped. The only postiive note was that it was clean. A disappoint from previous reviews - as stated there are far better places to stay in Symi.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Disappointed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Loved the island and the apartments. Not sure why they were "tired" as stated elsewhere - compared to most apartments in Greece these were excellent. Free fans, flowers, kettle etc. Steep road from Pedi??? - steaper path in my back Garden.
You need to make the effort to get the best holiday - walk around and find the best routes etc - you can save a fortune by not using water taxis etc.
Pedi Bay beach is awful - concrete topped with a bit of shale bought from the local B and Q - wander to Nichola beach (most of the people on Pedi "beach" were English - says it all really!!)
Transfer is quite long - ok for 2 weeks - not sure for 1.
Give it a go.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alfie65Huddersfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The apartments enjoy tremendous views over Pedi but this is paid for by the steep walk up the steps from the port and the very steep climb up the hill from Pedi Beach. As others have stated Frank is a very friendly man and has a ready excuse when things are not as expected.
The apartments are looking a little tired and there are now better places to stay in Symi, unless you can be "guaranteed" one of the larger apartments with a full sea view

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

At the risk of repeating everybody else, Frank and his family are extremely welcoming, the arrival drink was especially welcome after a day’s travelling.

Nothing was too much trouble for them and Frank, who would occasionally call around for a chat. The apartments are cleaned daily and kept spotless.

We had a downstairs apartment with sea views over to Turkey - a very peaceful place to stay - except for the donkey.

The property is near to good restaurants, namely the Windmill and Georgio's.

The Yailos-Pedi bus stops nearby at the kiosk on the ‘main’ road.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Locker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Symi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#1 of 11 in Symi
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiona
Hotel Fiona
#8 of 11 in Symi
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokona
Kokona
#1 of 2 in Gialos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera House Apartments
0.6 mi away
Odyssia Apartments
Odyssia Apartments
#2 of 11 in Symi
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments

Address: 856 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Symi
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Hotel Symi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing