We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irini..”
Review of Irini Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irini Studios
Ranked #19 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Symi
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Yes, they are up lots of steps, and if you stay in no. 4, like we did this time, it's actually 126, but if you pace yourself its not too bad...
The room was clean and spacious, 2 beds pushed together, fridge, cooking facilities, air con at an extra 7 euros per night. Good clean little bathroom. Everything works. It's not posh, but when you consider that island hoppers were paying up to 165 euros per room you kind of go, well, ok then,
Xena is a lovely lady who is not an english speaker but she can understand you with lots of pointing, gesticulating etc!
We definitely needed the air con as it got up to 38 degrees on a few days and was very still and hot at night. When there was a breeze it was very welcome, but it wasn't often! There didn't seem to be man mozzies about either this time, which was a relief for me, but tere was a plug in bug zapper in the room if you needed it, just get the tablets from the supermarket.
The view from no 4 is spectacular - to the left you have a full view of the harbour and straight ahead you have the hillside up to Horio, complete with goats and donkey,The sun is on the balcony all day and as there is no accomodation opposite there's lots of privacy.
There were a few ants, but just don't leave food lying around and you'll be alright.
Justine, the Olympic rep. was really helpful and approachable, and you apparently get use of a pool where the welcome meeting is, but we didn't go in it because we prefer the sea. It didn't mention that when we booked though, so it was a nice surprise.
We loved Symi - its a bit expensive to eat out etc but the food is really good, the cheese and ham pies and spinach and cheese pies from the supermarket at Pedi beach are the best in Greece and really cheap and if you go left after you get of the bus, the sunbeds, while a bit batteres, are free. The beaches are mainly pebbly and I'd recommend some of those rubber shoes if you have soft english feet like me. Taxi boats are expensive but good fun - the bus to Horio and Pedi are every hour and only 1.50e each way so a bargain, and brill aircon into the bargain!
Symi is beautiful. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Apparently No1 is the best room. Pace yourself up all those steps and take a small bag!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Irini Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Back in Symi after 12 years, main difference is astronimical price hike of everything, but hey, this is about Irini Studios. No 4 - superb location with fantastic views. Yes its over 100 steps, but thats 100 steps away from mopeds and scooters when you are trying to sleep, in a quiet part of town about 5 - 10 mins from supermarket, harbour restaurants etc. Basic accomodation, clean, comfortable beds, space, cleaned every couple of days, bedding, towels provided, and probably (my view) rates amongst the best views of Symi both day and night from balcony (which Olympic refer to as 'Inland View' on booking confirmation - see photo). Olympic were brilliant (or was it just our rep?), particularly given current political situation and consequent variable ferry service, were kept up to date with departure information, and looked after extremely well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SiSW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed in No. 2 apartment which had a side balcony that overlooked half of the port and right up the hillside to Chorio. The views were spectacular and more than compensated the hike up to the apartments. The apartment was very simple but clean. The was a small bathroom with shower cubicle and a small kitchen area, the usual 2 rings and a drainer, the utensils were very basic but adequate. the bedroom part of the apartment has a small wardrobe and dresser, & 2 single beds, the only downside was the mattress and pillows which were rock hard! Oh and we had an electric kettle but I think we only had that because the electric rings took forever to heat up. Ps. If you are a light sleeper take some ear plugs because it's like Old Macdonald's Farm in the early morning! The balcony was small but enough for a small table and 2 chairs and could be dragged in and out of the doors depending on where you wanted to eat.
Try to travel light because when you have to haul your case up to the apartment it is a killer! You think that the steps would get easier the further you get on into your holiday but they don't.
It only takes 5 - 10 minutes to get to the port area where there are loads of tavernas and bars to choose from. One of our favourites was a small pizzeria called the Dolphin which did stone baked pizzas which were delicious and pasta dishes which were also very good. The house white wine was great also.
As this is a very small island and has lots of day trippers from Rhodes and lots of expensive boat and yachts harboured here the prices in the tavernas, bars and shops reflect this. It has been one of the most expensive Greek islands we have visited.
The small town beach is ok but the best beaches are reached by the taxi boats which operate from the harbour front.
Our absolute favourite beach was called St Nicholas which was a small secluded beach with a church, bar and taverna as is just beyond Pedi. There are several options on how to get there, 1. walk, 2. get the taxi boat from Yialos 3.get the bus to Pedi and then get the small water taxi from the harbour at Pedi (near the bus stop).
Ps. The weather turned rainy in our 2nd week but apparently it was unheard of so I guess we just got unlucky.

Room Tip: Apartment No. 1-panoramic views
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank CatherineM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The only down side of these apartments are the 109 steps. If you don't mind this, then for the price, you can't get a better location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Just returned (on 9th June) from a 2 week holiday at the Irini Studios with Olympic.

The trip across from Rhodes was very easy (about an hour). It was our first time in Symi and it's absolutely stunning.

I won't bang on about the steps too much but there are quite a few of them to the studios and around the island and this accomodation isn't worth considering if you find deep steps difficult.

The room (number 6) was spacious, compared to some rooms I've stayed in Greece, the room was huge! There's a large balcony, a small kitchenette and a perfectly adequate bathroom. You can open the front door and the balcony door and you've got a wonderful breeze through the room. We didn't use the air conditioning but to be honest only one night was like a sauna.

We saw most of the beaches (by taxi boat or by walking) and the sea was amazing, we popped back over to Rhodes town for the day (well worth it - also stunning but it's quite a shock when you've been staying on Symi for a while).

For us, the village (roughly 500 steps) above the harbour was fantastic. Atmospheric and quiet. You can get the bus up for 1 euro (the same bus takes you to Pedi Beach for the same price). There's some lovely places to eat and have a drink up there. Our favorites were Ο Μύλος for meze and Το Μαντείο for drinks (they also serve meze). Walking down to the harbour at night from the village is incredible, you pass by the mansion houses (in differing states of repair).

If you're thinking of going to Panormitis you can catch the bus there for 3 euros one way. As far as I know, this is the cheapest way to get there.The monastery and the bakery are well worth the trip and the views over Symi town are breathtaking.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank nostimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We booked our holiday through a Travel Advisor for just under £500 for the two of us, including transfers and insurance. An absolute bargain for an august holiday!

We arrived at the Rhodes Island late in the evening. Unfortunately ferries do not run that late so we had to stay over the first night in a hotel in Faliraki. We've never been to Rhodes before, and what a disappointment it was! Does not compare to Symi at all.

The hotel we were staying at had an okay view of the beach in the far distance, but that night was atrocious! The room obviously wasn't entered for the last few days and all the doors/ windows were closed when we arrived. It literally was like a sauna and air conditioning wasn't even an option. Could not see any vents anywhere.

In the morning, a taxi arrived at 8.00 to take us to the ferry. Which departed around 9am. The ride was quiet long as it stopped at the Panormitis for an hour. It was a bit of nuisance as we had all the luggage with us and the previous restless night did not place us into a great mood to go exploring. However, Panormitis is a beautiful little village with unique views.

We arrived to Symi Town around 1-2 pm. Where we were met by the Olympic Holidays rep. He arranged for our bags to be delivered to the infamous stairs leading up to Irini Studios which we felt was unnecessary as it wasn't really a long walk to the Irini anyway. It is roughly a 10 minute walk to the Irini from the harbor.

The stairs felt like they lasted forever on the first go but we soon got used to them. Even after returning from the beach around 6.30pm, the heat was a killer.. so you just kinda learn to accept that its over 100F and you just crack on one step at the time.

We stayed in studio 6, which is located right at the back on the ground floor. The room was very spacious and appeared very clean.

Furniture included; 2 single beds placed together, 1 small guest bed, wardrobe with hangers, cooker/ sink, cupboards with all needed kitchen amenities, dresser/ mirror, table /two chairs.

All equipment worked fine and we had no difficulties. There was no kettle, but a little a pan worked just fine to heat up some water for tea. We experienced no problems with the bathroom, the shower worked perfect and the room was clean. Our studio didn't have a balcony but more of a large terrace. The view wasn't the best as there are quite a few half demolished houses and random rubbish lying around. But we could see half of the harbor and the houses/ churches on the hill looked beautiful.

We found that we did not need air conditioning. There was only one night which was rather uncomfortable but other than that we coped just fine. The room is located in a perfect space as we didn't have the midday/ morning sun streaming into the room.

The cleaning lady, who does not speak any English, arrives every 3 days. She changed the sheets, replaced the towels and cleaned the floors every time. To get the remote for the air conditioning it is her that arranges that for you we were told. The air con costs 7 euros per night.

Every morning around 7am the churches start ringing the bells one after the other.. which takes times to get used to. And then there were the roosters. No idea what's going on with them but they scream in a constant cycle.. throughout the day and night. Luckily there isn't one in any of the neighboring houses, so it wasnt really an issue.

The local cats and kittens may be a problem for some but being animal lovers ourselves we did not see them as issue. Whenever we opened a door to the terrace or the front, the cats would shortly arrive.

The harbor consists of many shops and restaurants. We arrived in the middle of the Symi festival so there were constant activities going on in the square. There were theatre productions, local bands playing, as well as church services at the nearby church.

Most of the nights we chose to eat at the apartments as the daily taxi boats to the beaches were pricey. There are a few grocery shops around which sold quite a variety of foods.

Most beaches in Symi have sun loungers, a tavern and toilet facilities. There is a local beach 30 minutes away, but it is nothing special. To get the real feel of Symi, there is an option of getting the taxi boat which takes you to all the beautiful bays which is an absolute must. The bays are just breathtaking. St Nikolas Bay is very popular with young families as the beach is sandy with shallow water. But our favourite was the Nanou Bay. It is absolutely stunning. It is further away and takes about 30 minutes to get to on a fast boat. The cost was around 10 euros per person, return, but the sun loungers there are free. The taxi boat leaves the harbor at 10/ 11 am/ 12 pm and returns 4/5/6 pm. It is incredibly peaceful there, you can barely hear other people talk if you lay further away from the cafe. But the beach is pebbly, so swimming shoes is a definite necessity as the pebbles take no time to heat up. On the mountains around, there are mountain goats running around which come down to the beach to have a drink.

On the day of the return we had the luggage taken to the ferry which departed around 9 am. This time it was a fast ferry which took under an hour to get to Rhodes.

Overall it was a beautiful holiday. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissMariaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Pack small because the 100 steps are a killer! Well worth the journey though because the view from our room (top floor) was amazing! The rooms were basic but comfortable. I did have to invest in some bleach to attack the toilet when we arrived! However, the maid kept the rest of the room clean. If you are not a cat lover then the resident moggies may get on your nerves. We are cat lovers so we enjoyed their company. The stairs are a pain (in more ways then one) and after two weeks became an annoying obstacle when carrying shopping back in the heat. However you will certainly be fitter upon your arrival back home! We had a great holiday and WILL return!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Symi hotels
0.4 mi away
Opera House Apartments
0.1 mi away
Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#7 of 11 in Symi
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#1 of 11 in Symi
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iapetos Village
Iapetos Village
#1 of 3 in Gialos
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pedi Beach Hotel
Pedi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Symi
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irini Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irini Studios

Address: Yialos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Symi
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Irini Studios Hotel Symi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing