We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but great location”
Review of Yellow House

Yellow House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellow House
Ranked #87 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Parga
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked this as a very last minute holiday so hadnt had a look at any reviews or even seen any pictures so we had absolutely no idea what to expect.
We were on the late flight from Manchester and were shown to our room by the TC rep as the road up the hill is pretty dark and there arent many light outside the yellow house, as mentioned on another review the keys were just in the inside of the door.
Room consisted of a small but functional kitchen, 2 ring hob, some cupbaords with plenty of plates and cuttlery, fridge with ice compartment, kettle and toaster. To be fair we didnt come on holiday to cook so we didnt use anything other than the fridge and that worked a treat at keeping the beer and water cold.
Bathroom is on the small side and the shower head didnt have a holder at head height but this wasnt a major issue.
Main living room was 2 single beds with cupabord and bed side tables and a tv on the wall then a balcony that looked over the path down into town up up over the hill to valtos beach.
Safe was 7euros a week, 40euros for the air con which we didnt get which meant the room was roasting even when leaving all the windows open so i would recommend that.
Had no complaints with the room really, it was a great base for walking down in to town and over to valtos beach which was the best of the beaches in the area by far.
Plenty of restaurants down on the main front and on the way down the hill but highly recommend maistros which was just over the hill from the apartments.

All in all a great location and a great base for enjoying the many tavernas in parga.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Yellow House is in a good location, on the night of arrival we stood waiting for someone to come and show us to our room but no one appeared, so along with another couple we started to look around and found a note which had our surnames on and the room number allocated to us, but no signs of a key after a while the Thomas Cook Rep turned up and told us the keys were actually in the door (all this area was in darkness) the room was very basic which was no problem we wern't expecting high standards , our room had 2 small single beds. a small kitchen with a 2 ring electric cooker, fridge, kettle and a toaster (which did not work). the bathroom was tiny but functional, as it was late we unpacked the basic things needed to go to bed, the 1 pillow allocated to each bed was approx 1" thick and throughout the night I tried to gain some comfort by putting clothing , towels anything to try to get some comfort, the small single beds creaked and groaned I never got a minutes sleep, but my husband did (mind you he can sleep on a clothes line) next morning I got a shower and heard my husband saying something about the mattress, when I went into the room he pointed to the dirty blood stained mattress he had slept on it was disgusting (been queamish I asked him to check mine, this was o.k.) he then went out looking for someone to speak to and found a stand in cleaner (mondays are the Yellow House cleaning ladys day off) he fetched her into the room and pointed out the mattress to which she shrugged her shoulders and turned the mattress over the other side was also disgusting so we argued and then she picked up the mattress and went into another room and changed it witha cleaner one. We went to the welcome meeting and told the rep about the pillows so she arranged a further pillow each, there is a charge of 40 Euros for air conditioning to which you are instructed not to use unless you are in the room and 7 Euros for the safe. I must say Parga is a very beautiful, unspolit with very friendly people and we will be back next year but not to the Yellow House.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a double bed they seemed bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnenottla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The Yellow House is one of the better budget self catering establishments so typically found in Greece. A kettle and toaster are supplied (unusual !) and the kitchenette is separated from the bedroom. The bathroom is small but has a shower tray & curtain (again unusual !). The service is unobtrusive but the apartments are clean and linen changed weekly. Self-catering equipment is basic but would you want to prepare a gourmet meal when there are so many excellent and reasonably priced restaurants and tavernas within easy walking distance ? Perhaps the main attraction of the Yellow House is its central location with easy access to beaches and the centre but sufficiently away from main roads to allow a good nights sleep. If you aim to hire a car the lack of parking is a drawback (it is a problem in the whole of Parga, don't park in the harbour area, we got a parking ticket !)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somersetsteve2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

On arrival at the yelow house (7.15pm) we were told to wait outside in the rain as they had not even started to to prepare the rooms,after a while a young girl would appear and shout out a room number when it was ready,there was no attempt to apologise or explain why we were waiting in the dark and rain ,no explanation of facilities or welcome of any sort,in fact they never spoke to any one.

we were not expecting any sort of luxury accomodation,we have been around enough to know you get whjat you pay for but even allowing for this the standard of the "facilities " was appalling,a couple of odd mugs,two obviously very old dinner plates,two odd forks,two spoons and a frying pan,the cooker hood (not working ) was connected to a cable that hung over the hob,the join being made with just a bit of plastic tape as was a suspicous cable that hung over the shower ( which required climbing over the toilet to get into,you had to literally step over the toilet bowl,which was very dodgy when getting out of the shower with wet feet ) and was again joined by a piece of tape,was it a live cable ???,i dont know as i didnt care to get to up close and personal with it ,whatever it was it should not have been hanging in the shower cubicle

towels and bedding were not changed when they were due,again no explanation given

the real fun started when we had a monsoon downpour one night,it rained so hard that the balconies filled with water as the owner had blocked the drain because " we dont get much rain ",this was ok until it reached the door threshold and started to fill the rooms,this not being bad enough we then had a cabaret of the owner knocking the brick out of the drain hole with a large hammer during the early hours

this the only time i have ever complained about holiday accomodation,we understand that different cultures and lifestyles are to be explored and enjoyed but our holiday to beautiful Parga was only let down by the terrible accomodation

the owner told us that he is not in next years Thomas Cook brochure as they think he is too expensive for the standard of the rooms,dont know how true this is but if it is it gives a clue to the standard you can expect there

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parga hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed in the Yellow house for two weeks in august. The apartments consist of 3 floors. The owner lives on the top floor and the lower two are for guests. We were on the 2nd floor, we didn't have much of a view but we over looked the path up to the beach and track down into the village so we could do plenty of people watching
The room had two single beds it had a seperate kitchen which is unsual, there was a kettle and a toaster included.
The bathroom was small but we had a proper shower cubicle it was very small but at least we didn't get water all over the floor!
The aircon was 35e a week and worth every penny and the safe was 7e.
The apartment is about 10min walk to the beach and the same to the centre.
There is a bakery 1min away and plenty of mini markets near by.
We Prefered to eat at the restrurants up at the top on the way down to the beach there were much nicer meals than on the front.
Parga is a beautiful place but it is very hilly so it's not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stelandstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.0 mi away
Epavli Veneti
Epavli Veneti
#46 of 113 in Parga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountas Studios
Fountas Studios
#90 of 113 in Parga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilian Studios
Ilian Studios
#29 of 50 in Parga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Dreams Studios Parga
#59 of 113 in Parga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Leonidas House
#38 of 50 in Parga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#70 of 113 in Parga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House

Property: Yellow House
Address: Parga, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Parga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yellow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow House Hotel Parga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing