We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Average Accomodation”
Review of Vekios Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vekios Studios
Ranked #61 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Parga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Accomodation”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

First impression - lovely, great location - just across the road from the beach, large pool, two snackbars and a restaurant looked lovely and relaxing.
Room 107 - Very spacious, very clean, lovely covered balcony with seaview. Plenty of storage space, kettle and hob. All cutlery and plates were very very clean which made me happy! The room was basic but perfect... with very needed aircon.
Some of the walls were very thin. I say some as I didn't hear anything from one side, but heard everything from the other which was annoying. We could hear - a family with very noisy children slamming doors and arguing. I could even hear the vibration on our neighbours phone alarm clock, and the aircon being switched on, thats how thin the walls were,
Staff - very warm and friendly. The main waiter staff at the snack bar do not understand vegetarian so make sure you are clear on what you want to eat and they will accomodate your needs. Cheese sandwich will include ham otherwise ;)

They do not have an iron! they don't have one to even hire!! Very disappointing
The key is welded onto the keyfob (for the electricity) to prevent you from leaving on the aircon when you leave the room. This means that if theres two of you, you always have to listen out for the door if one of you goes out. I didnt like the rules 'no visitors are allowed in the rooms, only residents' it made me wonder what type of place was I staying in for them to make this a rule!

Valtos beach directly infront of the studios is slightly shingly but not at all bad. There's plenty of watersports and sun loungers with space. The water is lovely and clear... and as the forums mention, there are little fish that want to have a nibble at you, but not in a scary way.

Two supermarkets just to the right. One next to Tango Club Hotel, one a bit further round... I would advise getting a water Taxi or walking to eat out rather than eating at the Tango Club as we did, plenty of cleaner, lovely places further out.

It is very safe and manageable to walk upto the castle, day or night. The water taxis do run all day until midnight (with a break around 2-3pm) and are 2euros per person, bargain!

Just past the castle you will find winding streets down to the harbour full of bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelVsDevilArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was my first visit to Parga and from the second I arrived at Vekios studios, I was given a very warm welcome by the kind and friendly staff. We had a drink in the restaurant/bar area, the views from which are utterly stunning. A huge sandy bay with turquoise waters as far as the eye can see, a staggering cliff face at the side of the bay (complete with castle!) which is lit up at night. There was a great selection of authentic Greek cuisine available at the restaurant including fresh meat cooked on a spit every evening. Our room was bright and clean with plenty of wardrobe space, a small kitchenette, small bathroom and good air conditioning. I spent my days lounging on the beach and swimming in the sea, a stone throw from our appartment.
Parga town is a short facinating walk, passing many traditional tavernas, and shops etc on the way in. Alternatively the water taxi runs frequently from vekios into the centre of parga. Once in town there are many good restaurants available some with superb views across the open sea. Parga is a truly unspoilt traditional Greek getaway that I would delighted to return to, and when I do I will certainly be staying at Vekios studios again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carverbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The best beach hotel we have stay in.Breathtaking views from everywhere , wonderfull people,lovely food.You just feel like paradise,you really don't want to go nowhere than your balcony.We cant wait to go back soon!!!

Room Tip: family appartments are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have been coming to Parga for 16 years and it has retained its charm year after year. Markos and Kiki who run Vekios are wonderful people and the apartments are ideal for a beach holiday. The complex is right on the beach, with a restaurant and a bar/cafe. The views of Valtos beach and the castle are breathtaking. The apartments are simple and very Greek, the perfect base for a holiday in Parga.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are lovely. Some are traditional Greek, some more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The room was quite basic, but spotlessly clean, spacious and well kept. Good shower and functional kitchen. Nice views from the balcony. The hotel area is very nice and well maintained. The staff was welcoming and helpful. As the hotel is situated almost directly onto a very popular beach the area is very busy in the daytime, but in the morning and evening when the crowds are gone it is truly wonderful. Very quiet and relaxing. You can even sleep when the balcony door open.

The taxi boat from Valtos beach to Parga town takes about 10 min and leaves every 30 min in the daytime during high season. Alternatively there is a 10 min walk into town. As Parga town is a very busy place during the high season, it was nice to retreat from the hustle and bustle in the evening.

Two mini markets and a handful of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OsloMalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Vekios studios on Valtos beach in Parga combine all of the the peace and isolation of an island holiday with the buzz and verve of a sophisticated main land town. The studios are large and well furnished and all offer an uninterupted view of the sea. Those on the ground floor a very modern and extremely well kitted out. however they are dark and you have to put up with the lack of privacy as people constantly walk to and fro in front of your room. We therefore moved to one of the upper rooms which are decorated more traditionally but are still much better than most self catering rooms that we have stayed in during our many visits to Greece. The studios have both a restaurant and snack bar offering a wide choice of food and the staff are both friendly and helpful as you would expect in Greece. The studios have a fabulous swimming pool which is virtually unused due to the fact that there are no beds around the pool? I think that this is due to the owner who is the one draw back to the studios. He is surly , miserable and discourages his staff from talking to people. He is most un-greek. He does not want people sleeping around the pool but wants them spending money on food and in the bar. He doesn't realize that both things go hand in hand Despite him the hotel is wonderful. The large beach is just across the quiet road. As with most beaches these days it is covered with sun beds but it is still large enough to find quiet and more peaceful areas. There are many bars and restaurants along the beach and I would recommend that you try them all. When you get bored you can take the delightful water taxi into Parga town with its many restaurants, shops and bars. The town has a great energy making it difficult to end your time there. If you are felling energetic you can walk up the hill by the castle, into town and you will be rewarded with dozens of restaurants offering spectacular views across a number of bays. Parga combines modern and old Greece effortlessly and I would warmly recommend any traveller to go there. You are a bit isolated but if you willing to travel there are many outstanding aspects of ancient Greece that are within driving distance. I look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor modern and chic. Upstairs for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank philipneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The rooms are OK, You`re lucky if you get hot water in the showers, and a ant-free bathroom.
Do not travel here with toddlers or minor kids. there are more stairs on the ground then straight ground, and the toddlers seat are not safe in the restaurant.

The food in the restaurant is horrible, a pale try to be authentic. My husband got a minor rock in his steak, and he complaint, and the response he got was a shoulder-shrug and nothin else.

In my opinion this is the worst hotel in Parga, mainly because of the staff, they have no clue how to run a hotel, the infrastructure of the employees is beyond logic!

They didn't want to help me with my sleeping child in the trolley, bc it was too early, I had to wait over 1 hour of I wanted help to get seamlessly down the high stairs.

And the ac is either too warm or too cold, so good sleep is overrated, especially in those immensely rock-hard beds.

And according to our price in the high season, it is highly overprized,

But either way, make sure you visit the fab fish restaurant Stefanos :)

The best with hotel is the view and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SiljeNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.1 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#4 of 33 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence
1.1 mi away
Rezi Hotel
Rezi Hotel
#12 of 33 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Acrothea Hotel
Acrothea Hotel
#1 of 33 in Parga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#2 of 33 in Parga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valtos Ionion
Valtos Ionion
#20 of 113 in Parga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vekios Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vekios Studios

Property: Vekios Studios
Address: Valtos, Parga 480 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Parga
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing