We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms in this hotel vary enormously!!”
Review of Hotel Achilleas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Achilleas
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Parga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I know there will always be someone unhappy with a Hotel. I have never had cause to complain before on holiday but in this hotel there is a high chance you will be disappointed with your room so please read on. This hotel has a lovely location.It is right on the beach and just outside of busy Parga Town. It is clean and staff are nice. Breakfast is good for continental style. However the location of rooms in this hotel vary from amazing to extremely disappointing. This also has nothing to do with price paid! My husband and I love Greece, go every year and are used to basic Greek accomadation. We had a room which was on the 2nd floor. It is described as 'cosy chalet style'. The room was dark with low beams, bathroom nice but the balcony was like a look out post. It was completely boxed in, quite oppressive, dark all day the sun never able to get in. It had a wall in front which meant you had to stand up to see the sea view. It would have served well as a look out post for an invasion! Most people enjoy the balcony on holiday and we spend a lot of time on it, this was not a space that you wanted to stay in. We were deeply disappointed and would not like this to happen to anyone else. We tried to change on next change over but were not able to as 'the owner would have to change his rota for weeks ahead'. This room was number 41 but 42 was even worse. These rooms are sold at sea view prices. If you are booked in the Achilleas check this out. There are some amazing rooms with lovely balconies and I am sure if we had had one of these we would be writing a glowing report. However I dont feel it should be such a lottery, we all save hard and holidays are precious. Customers should know exactly what they are getting. Watch out for any of the rooms that are on the added top floor!! There are also rooms that dont have a balcony only a terrace that looks into the hotel reception!! Parga is lovely and the location is great, but check out the room!! 28/29/30/31/32 are all lovely. Good luck . If we were to revisit Parga we would book into the Alfa just down the road.

Room Tip: only have the rooms with sea view on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GABRIEL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hotel Achilleas is lovely hotel located on the Piso Krioneri beach, and just few minutes away from the center. We had room with see view so we really enjoyed sitting on balcony, listening to the waves, drinking vine... Very romantic, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

+ Location!!!
+ Piso Krioneri Beach (great snorkeling)
+ friendly service
+ nice breakfast
+ The Atrium Bar is a MUST!! (fantastic drinks, great view, lovely music.)

- noisy (at least room nr 14 was) You could hear water running from upper floors and the noise from the breakfast area was a rude awaikening at 7.00. Fighting cats running around at night and making your ears hurt. And we're no light sleepers!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at the Achilleas for 3 nights in July and truly enjoyed our stay! Andrianos welcomed us and was on hand for anything we needed. It is his family's hotel and if you look at the family pictures hanging on the wall, you will see it's been a source of joy and genuine hospitality for years!
The hotel is nothing fancy as far as the rooms go. The beds are basic and the shower got on my nerves, as I couldn't keep the curtain closed, causing the bathroom floor to get pretty wet when I showered. But really, that is my only complaint. The real beauty and charm of the hotel lies in its breakfast terrace, the atrium bar with amazing views and the beach of Piso Krioneri which is at your doorstep. There was also a nice library where previous guests have left books and you can exchange yours for theirs for some nice beach reading material. Each room has a small refrigerator and I was thankful for the bottled water they replenished every day and only charge 70 cents for! The fridge also had wine for sure and I think maybe some beer and Cokes.
We enjoyed a drink and sandwhich at the Atrium Bar, which attracts people from all over Parga, but was never too crowded. The views from the bar were so beautiful! You could look down on the beach and at the rugged coastline of Epirus. There was a nice breakfast buffet and you could eat in the breakfast room, but most people took their trays out to the terrace with its lovely view of the beach in the back of the hotel. The beach itself was very nice, but small. The water was nice and a bunch of local kids entertained us by jumping off the rocks. The beach does get pretty crowded in high season! But, we went in the late afternoon as everyone was packing it in...around 3:00 and it was all good. Even when we went earlier, we were able to get beach chairs and an umbrella...cost, 8 Euros total.
The hotel is hard to find if you're using a map...I found it by luck! Just drive down to the waterfront and turn left...it will be on your right. It used to be yellow, but it now a beautiful red! There is very limited parking...maybe 5 or 6 spots? The first day I had to park down the street, but when everyone went out on excursions the next day, I moved my car to the front of the hotel! :-) There is also a pay parking lot not too far from the hotel.
The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the town, but close enough to easily walk into town each evening or to swim at the beaches. A hike up to the castle in town is not to be missed - the views are amazing! There are several excursions from Parga that are worthwhile and Andrianos or another staff member at the hotel can advise you!
All in all, a wonderful stay! Would definitely recommed this hotel to friends - unless you're looking for a lush, category 5 hotel, you will love it here!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marymary94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Achilleas hotel is a small family owned hotel.It has 23 rooms and is located on a beautiful spot just above psio krioneir beach. We stayed here for 14 days. The rooms are nice and clean. The quality of the beds was the only thing we had some problems with. The breakfast was ok for Greek standards even good. The service is very friendly.
So we had a very pleasant hoiliday. Parga is nice town with a lot of good restaurants and in the surrouding is lot to see especially when you rent a car.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kruijffjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We have just returned from a week in Parga, 1st visit. Firstly let me say a week was not long enough, we did not want to come home.
The Achilleas Hotel was great. It was in an excellent location and the view from our balcony of the beach was stunning. The hotel was clean, towels and sheets changed regularly & the staff were great. The safety deposit box was 10 euros which was good value and the aircon was free which was great. As previously said the rooms could do with a bit of updating but this doesnt affect your enjoyment.
Parga was beautiful. We didnt hire a car so didnt get to see all the things this time that we would like to see eventually, but we went to Corfu town which was great, very venetian ang great shopping. We also went to Ali Pasha Castle on the train. The castle was disappointing but the view was amazing. On the way back it stops in Anthousa which was lovely but it only stops for 20 mins which is rubbish so we intend to go back there for a longer visit.
We didnt have a bad meal but our favourite was Hani Taverna, near Casa Verdi. It is just down an alley but the food and service was amazing and reasonable.
We will definately return to Parga and definately to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KathL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Small, one family-owned hotel on Piso Krioneri-beach. Make sure you book a room with seaview. Waking up with the sound of waves hitting the beach is nice. We rated Piso Krioneri as the best beach in Parga.

Breakfast is a delicious continental breakfast, everything you need to get the day started. We stayed in a top floor room; room was nice and spacious.

There's just 5 minutes walk to the harbour where most of the restaurants are.

We also recommend a hiking path via olive groves to Lichnos beach, which begins just nearby hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parga hotels
1 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#7 of 33 in Parga
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rossa
Villa Rossa
#2 of 33 in Parga
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dracos Apartotel
Dracos Apartotel
#13 of 33 in Parga
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Coralli Hotel
Villa Coralli Hotel
#8 of 33 in Parga
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acrothea Hotel
Acrothea Hotel
#3 of 33 in Parga
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palatino Hotel
Palatino Hotel
#23 of 33 in Parga
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Achilleas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Achilleas

Address: 10 Agiou Athanassiou, Parga 480 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Parga
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Achilleas 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Achilleas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achilleas Hotel Parga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing