We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh! How We Miss The Acropol”
Review of Hotel Acropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Acropol
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Parga
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We Have Just Returned From The The Most Wonderful 2 Weeks In Parga And Staying At The Family Run Hotel The Acropol Was A Delight.It Is A Small 10 Room (I Think) Boutique Like Hotel,It Is Situated In The Old Quarter Of Town.The Rooms Are Tastefully Furnished And Comfortable And From The First Minute We Left Our Room And Entered The Bar To Last Time We Left Was A Complete Joy.It Was Like They Adopted Us Into The Family....We Were Made So Welcome.The Hotel Restaurant Castello Is Without Doubt The Best In Parga With Great Service, Any Kind Of Wine From There Extensive Cellar Also Food To Die For.....All Made Fresh From Their International Chefs..... Then Nightcaps At The Bar.....Thanks For The Poetry Ilia.(You Can Sleep Early Now)...And Not Forgetting Alex,George...(Pavlakis) And Christalia Who Gave Us So Much Fun And Looked After Us So Well. (Nothing Was Too Much Trouble For These People). We Also Highly Recommend Symposium Fish Tavern Restaurant By The Harbour...( Regards To Vasilis & Staff)There Is An Abundance Of Tavernas In And Around The Town Of Varying In Taste And Quality...But I would Shy Away From The Largest And The Busiest (Zorbas/Bacchos For Example) I Don't Think A Kitchen Can Serve So Many People Fresh And Reliable Food....Not To Holidaymakers Anyway...(Here Today Gone Tomorrow Attitude)..Numerous Bars?...Yes.....Very Good Too.Our Favourites Being Our Hotel Bar Of Course, Sugar Cocktail Bar...A Rock Bar Called Antico....A Few Drunken Nights Here..(Regards To Theo & Alex & John).
Parga Has A couple Of Beaches...One Within Easy Walking Distance And Is Very Picturesque. The Other Being Valtos...You Can Walk Through The Town...Up To The Castle....Take A Deep Breadth And Down To A Beach Which Is About A Mile And Half Long...( For Those Who Do Not Fancy This You Can Take A Small Boat From The Harbour) It Has Restaurants/Bars All Along....Our Favourite Being The Tango Bar Which Has A Swimming Pool For Those Who Do Not Like The Sea.It Also Does Quite Nice Food....It's A Good Chill Out Place.Parga Mixes Old With A Little New And The Blend Works Well....Long May It Stay This Way.Greek Music Can Be Heard Everywhere ( Unusual For Some Parts Of Greece Now) And If You Embrace The Warmth And Hospitality Of The People, Like Us You'll Have Vacation Never To Be Forgotten.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlearches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

Just arrived back from a great holiday in Parga. What a lovely place,the scenery from the castle is amazing. With regards to tavernas there is definitely not a shortage and the food was fantastic. Our favourites were Bacchos and Zorbas and the welcome from the staff there was great. With regards to the hotel it was a lovely hotel, kept very clean and in a quiet location. We were overlooking some derelict buildings but we weren't put off by that nor by the fact that there was the Castella Restaurant below. If I have one criticism of the hotel that is I feel that the owners should make more of an effort with the guests at the hotel and not with the running of the restaurant which to us became quite obvious was their main concern. We had one small problem during our stay and when we approached one of the owners not much interest was shown probably because we never ate in the Castella! You are basically left to your own devices at the hotel because apart from our arrival there was never anyone on reception. Apart from that minor hiccup the waitress at breakfast and the cleaners were all very pleasant. I would go back to Parga but probably not to the hotel only because of the attitude of the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Just got back from a week in Parga. Its a lovely little town, but got very busy in the evening and got pushed and shoved as we walked around the small streets which after a hot day can make your blood boil !!!
The area is beautiful with small coves and lovely clear water. We went on the ferry over to Corfu which is a must, the trip on the ferry was great.
We stayed at the Hotel Acropol. The room was lovely and the hotel is very central, just a few minutes from the beach. My only moan was the breakfast. You have no choice on what you get, and as a fussy eater that is a problem for me. Every day we got the standard bread and butter with jam or honey, orange juice and Madiera cake. First day was yogurt, second cornflakes, third pancakes, and then on the fourth a greasy omlette- none of these I like. The waitress was soooooo slow and yet we were often the only people in the restaurant. Other than the breakfast, my holiday was great and I would recommend anyone to go to Parga - just not in the hight of the season as it is rammed

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calypso_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Have just returned from a week long holiday in Parga. We stayed Bed and Breakfast (booked through Thomas Cook) at the Hotel Acropol Parga Town. On arrival we were given a warm welcome from Alex the owner and were shown to the bar for a complimentary welcome drink.
We had booked a junior suite but were upgraded to a penthouse suite which was lovely - large bed, 2 sofas, 2 tv's, 2 balconies plus a bathroom with power shower. The hotel was of a very high standard for Greece and was tastefully decorated throughout. Breakfast was the usual continental style - bread, jam, orange juice, coffee etc but they did try to vary it a bit each day e.g greek yogurt, omlette, bacon, cereal, french toast, this was served in the Castillo restaurant which is owned by the hotel and is very poular and renowned for it's great food, we dined at the restaurant on two occassions and had the most fabulous Moussaka and the nicest Tiramsu ever ! Be sure to try out the Castillo!!
Parga itself is a charming and picturesque town although very busy during the evening (Locals say it's better to visit during June or September),
At the harbour there is a water taxi service to different beaches - Lychnos Beach - 14 euro return for 2 adults, Valtos Beach - 8 euro return for 2 adults, both beaches are very nice but we preferred Lychnos beach as it was quieter and smaller than Valtos Beach, both have restaurants and water sports. Water Taxis leave the harbour every half hour .
Every Thursday a ferry leaves for Corfu Town ( 70 euros for 2 adults) it leaves Parga harbour at 8.30 and arrives at Corfu approx 11 am and leaves again for Parga at 16.30 arriving back at around 7 pm, had consideed holidaying in Corfu Town but after visiting we are glad that we didn't, nice town to visit for the day (plenty of shops and sight seeing) but not for a weeks holiday, in my opinion anyway !
We ate at the Shanghai restaurant at the far end of the pier, at the Romantica restaurant which has lovely views of Valtos Beach (quite a walk up to the top but worth it) also at a Greek restaurant opposite the town beach- nice food and nice atmosphere where Yannis entertains the guests with his greek dancing ! Just around the corner from the Acropol on the way to the harbour there is a lovely little bakery which sells fresh homemade filled rolls and baguettes, cakes and pastries.
Parga Town is lovely and with a traditional greek feel, We had a lovely holiday and had a warm l welcome at the lovely Acropol, we would like to visit Parga again in the future and would definately stay at the Acropol. Thank you Acropol for a fantastic holiday !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We have recently returned from a two week holiday at the Hotel Acropole in Parga.
One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because of the great reviews on here.
The hotel is centrally located – set in the old, quiet part of Parga and a short walk from the seafront and very rocky beach.
We booked to stay in a junior suite, which in fact turned out to be just another room all be it slightly larger than locally average. It was spotlessly clean and had a nice bathroom with power shower, looked to be recently decorated and for the most part well maintained but the screen door was broken, the drinks fridge didn’t work and the curtains were hanging off over the window. The balcony was long and narrow and the view of the derelict buildings in close proximity left a lot to be desired.

Our reception to the hotel was warm and welcoming but after that failed to impress. Simple questions like ‘Is there a pool locally that we can use?’ were met with ‘I sorry I don’t know.’ This seemed to be the stock phrase for all enquiries. ‘Our fridge seems to be broken,' - reply - ‘I sorry, I here on my own, ’ No solution, No ‘I’ll pass the message on’ – Just nothing. We mentioned the fridge again to the owner/manager and were told, ‘It’s a drinks fridge, it’s not meant to be cold.’ Hmmmmmm!!!!!!!!

The breakfast seemed to miss the mark too, locally sourced produce, and all very fresh, but one apricot, yoghurt, bread and cake doesn’t even constitute continental breakfast. The ‘menu’ does however change slightly daily and there is an option to have a cooked breakfast ( for a small charge) – the option for a cooked breakfast was not mentioned until day 10. This is served in the restaurant whilst it is being set up for the night, not exactly a relaxing experience, banging clanging and generally moving décor around, making you feel as if you ‘re in the way.

Security for the hotel is great the front door is locked at night when the staff go home. However failure to correctly programme our room key on our arrival lead to us being locked out of the hotel and sitting on the door step at 1a.m. We then realised that the contact telephone numbers on the door did not have the correct dialling code for Greece.

It was then that I decided to pay a visit to the rep to see if she could do anything, as speaking to reception was met with a smile and the stock phrases. Within 24 hours the screen door was fixed, the fridge replaced, the contact numbers changed on the front door, we were given a new room key, complementary cooked breakfast and a bottle of wine left in our room by way of an apology.

In my opinion if you want somewhere that is basic, clean and tidy and close to most amenities book the Acropole but if you want the standard of service that a hotel with this type of price tag commands, forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrandMrsSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The Hotel Acropole successfully combines the best of a traditional, characterful hotel with contemporary style and standards. There is a genuine warm welcome and a friendly, helpful, efficient and professional service from everyone at the Acropole.

I stayed in the only single room, which solo travellers might be interested to know was compact, but very comfortable and airy , with it's own ensuite bathroom and small private balcony with chair and table. The hotel is extremely well-located, a minute or two from the harbour and shops, but in a quiet little street away from the hustle and bustle. Breakfast varied a little each day and served in the delightful outdoor restaurant.

The hotel's interior is of an excellent standard, very well maintained, spotlessly clean and attractive. Fellow guests during my stay were all as impressed as I was with the Hotel Acropole and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank br0nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Set in the centre of the old town of Parga, the Hotel Acropole is full of charm & sophistication. The owners are really welcoming and friendly- I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benita_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.1 mi away
Palatino Hotel
Palatino Hotel
#25 of 34 in Parga
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Hotel Parga
Paradise Hotel Parga
#20 of 34 in Parga
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#1 of 34 in Parga
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acrothea Hotel
Acrothea Hotel
#2 of 34 in Parga
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#8 of 34 in Parga
380 reviews
1.3 mi away
Salvator Hotel Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropol

Address: 4 Livada Spirou, Parga 480 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Parga
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropol 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury meets efficiency and comfort in Parga's most historical area. With its sophisticated manner The Acropol offers the very best in modern style and comfort. Following an extensive renovation, the Zigouris family lovingly created a welcoming establishment, defined by elegant interiors and top quality services. Tucked away in the narrow winding streets of Parga's old town, this small family-run hotel, when it opened its doors in 1884 it was the first hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Acropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropole Hotel Parga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing