We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'What a little gem this place is'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Parga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel, and. It was lovely. Both my husband and me really liked it. Having booked for bed & breakfast, we were given a room with a little kitchenette, which was an added bonus. Our room was good with quality furniture & fittings. We had a balcony with chairs & a decent sized table, the view was amazing. Food was wonderful and the service excellent. I would definately recommend this very friendly family run hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I went here for 2 weeks in September 2013. Our apartment was at the bottom of the complex. It was a nicely furnished and comfortable apartment which slept 4 - obviously we had to pay under occupancy. There may be a lot of steps to climb to your room depending where it is in the hotel. Meals were really good quality but drinks were expensive , we would have had more meals there if the drinks had been cheaper. Carafes of wine were very cheap in Parga restaurants but none were available at the hotel.
As our room was for up to 4 people we found it strange that only one of the rooms (double bed)had a tv (no English channels) and the other one( with 2 single beds) had the ac. As we needed the ac on in the room we slept in the latter room and we couldn't watch tv in this room.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the staff and family members at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was located just across a small road outside the hotel. This is a stoney/sandy beach and we found our rubber beach shoes very useful when going for a swim in the sea.
The walk to Parga from the hotel is up quite a steep slope so be prepared ! Ladies wear sensible flat sandals that you don't mind getting damaged. However you can go there via a water taxi from the beach or via taxi - share with others to bring down the already reasonable price.
Parga is a lovely place to chill out and relax and watch the world go by. There is plenty of choice of restaurants and bars to suit all tastes .
The hotel runs part of the beach for sunbeds and umbrellas but you wont get a discount for staying in the hotel.( we paid 7 euros for 2 beds and an umbrella per day).
We took plenty of mosquito repellent which we really needed. So stock up before you go and cover legs and arms in the evening.
If you stay at one of the lower apartments be careful not to lock yourself out when on the balcony- we did it twice. Ask for a spare key and take it onto the balcony with you.
Finally the massages on the beach are superb! You can barter for a good price. The only problem is the beach is swarming with masseuses who constantly ask you if you want a massage throughout the day- a bit annoying when you are on holiday for a fortnight.

Room Tip: ask in advance for a lower room if you find walking up steps difficult. Higher rooms are going to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthysimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in 2011 for a weeks holiday and loved it so much we decided to return but this time for two weeks. Always a bit weary of returning to the same hotel/resort but there was no need to worry the hotel was even better as it's since been updated and even Parga town looked like some places had been tarted up!
Could not fault our one bedroom apartment, we requested a pool and sea view and waking up in the morning to find that is just what we got was stunning. The room was spacious and modern did not feel like you were staying in a three star hotel at all. It shows that the family want to make your stay very special in all aspects of what you expect from your holiday. Could not fault the cleanliness of rooms the pool and bar area and best of all the staff was so friendly they made you feel part of the family by the time you went home. Also an added bonus you get free air con and a safe in your room some places I have stayed its 200euros gone before you even start your holiday.
Now we stayed as a family, if you want children's entertainment playgrounds etc then this is not for you. My son (3yearsold) was happy enough playing on the beach everyday we found that if you walked to the right of the beach it got sandy and there was a jetty to run up and down on a look at all the fish. It did not bother us at all walking up the hill every night we done it with the pram it's one good way to get some exercise thrown in! We loved the tavernas in town found them all very traditional that is why we love Parga so much it's typically Greek and you do not feel like its a Brits abroad holiday, football shirts and loud music is not the thing here! Now back to the hotel we do not normally choose to eat at the hotels we stay at in the evenings but once you have food at valtos beach it will be hard for you to venture into town, better than some very expensive restaurants I have eaten in back home!! The Greek night on a Wednesday is a must 15 euros for all you can eat meze and BBQ with Nikos, Christos and the whole family taking to the dancefloor they really do make sure you have fun!
Our son had an accident at the pool and required medical attention, by the time i had gone to get insurance details etc he had been rushed away by Nikos and my husband to the local medical centre where he had to get stitches on his chin. We can not thank Nikos enough if he had not taken my son and communicated with the doctor like he did I think he would have come out with a wonky chin!
Jackie the Thomson rep was superb too throughout our stay, we did not book any trips with Thomson even though they looked amazing but she still took her time to come and have a chat and was fantastic with our son at the hotel and airport. I have found in the past that some reps don't even bother with you if you take no interest in what they are trying to sell.
We will definitely return to this hotel, sadly it is rather expensive staying as a family as you do not get any deals through Thomson as a child still has to pay full price and it does not work out any cheaper booking direct with hotel. So time to start saving for 2015!!!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs to climb to get to your room even if you want the lowest level so check be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank niksta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in the self catering area of the hotel, we asked (in advance) for a quiet room and that is exactly what we got, tucked away in the top corner. Spacious room with a lovely view from the balcony of the sea and the venetian castle. Rooms cleaned daily and staff always cheerful and helpful. Free wi-fi and free use of computers in reception area of hotel. We only ate twice in the restaurant as we felt it was quite a bit more expensive than some of the other restaurants in Parga but having said that the food was delicious! Be warned that it is quite a climb to the top floors and anyone with mobility problems may have difficulties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jessie1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

An absolutely lovely hotel. It is family owned and they are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and have splendid views onto the Beach. It is in a very picturesque spot. The hotel has high standards of cleanliness. The food is very good and plentiful and satisfies all tastes. There is a lovely pool and bar area adjacent to the main restaurant. However, there are a lot of steps up the rooms and it would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems. To get into Parga itself you need to be able to walk up a steep incline. The taxis are cheap though to get back. There are other restaurants near the hotel for dining out but these tend to shut in October for the winter season. Another alternative would be to hire a car.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but there are lots of steps to all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from one week at Valtos Beach Hotel. We booked with Thompson and had a self catering studio (126).

The only thing we can say bad about the place is the amount of steps up to your room...but that reflects more on our fitness level! Plus for the sea view from the balcony it was well worth it.

Our room had everything we needed plus some things we didn't (sandwich toaster, coffee maker and a microwave- a first for us in Greece!)

The shower was very small but we managed, the room was cleaned daily and fresh towels left. Overall the entire complex is very clean and impeccably looked after by Nikos and Christos.

We only had breakfast once and whilst choice was abundant it just isn't our bag...we prefer a bowl of cereals and coffee.

We also ate in the hotel on the first night (we arrived at about 9.30pm and was advised food was still available which was nice). The food was on a par with with the best restaurants in Parga and priced the same.

We also joined the Greek night which was very entertaining, unfortunately we were too tired to enjoy it having done the Meteora excursion (AMAZING!!) so were in bed by 9.30pm.

Other people walked into Parga and said it was a steep walk, we got a taxi which the hotel would call for us, €4 into Parga or you could get a water taxi for €2 per person.

I would definitely recommend the Valtos Beach residence and we are considering booking there for next year. Thank you for a lovely week!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having spent several holidays in Greece, both self-catering and hotels, this was the first time I have said "wow" when being shown our hotel room. A large spacious double room, tastefully furnished, the best bathroom I have ever come across in Greece, a large balcony with sun-lounger, table and chairs and a spectacular view of Valtos Bay. Air-conditioning, a safe and flat screen tv came as standard. The room was kept immaculately clean all week by a busy team of house-keepers with regular changes of towels.

A buffet breakfast was served every morning with a good choice of cold meats, cheeses, a hot selection and various pastries.

We ate one night in the hotel and the standard of food was excellent. All the staff we came across with one exception, were friendly and helpful and justifiably very proud of their hotel.

Yes, there are lots of steps to the rooms and a steep climb into the town of Parga itself, but after the first couple of nights you didn't really find it too bad. Parga itself is a lovely town with twisting side streets and bars and restaurants to suit everyone.

If there was one criticism, it would be that the high cost of drinks at the bar compared with the rest of the town meant that it was a bit of a deterrent to sitting down for a night-cap before retiring to bed and found that this meant it was quite quiet in the evening.

However, all in all it was a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate in staying again in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parga hotels
0.2 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#7 of 33 in Parga
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#1 of 33 in Parga
421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salvator Hotel Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adam's Hotel
Adam's Hotel
#4 of 33 in Parga
221 reviews
1 mi away
Dracos Apartotel
Dracos Apartotel
#13 of 33 in Parga
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byzantio Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence

Address: Parga 48060, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Parga
#4 Family Hotel in Parga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Parga
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valtos Beach & Gogozotos Residence Hotel Parga
Valtos Beach And Gogozotos Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing