We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review..........perfect Parga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Vista Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 50 Parga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have come on holiday with Olympic for the first time and we paid £215 each for a week self catering at the Bella Vista. From the moment we got to Gatwick it has been smooth, small planet airlines were ok for the short 3 hour hop to Preveza.

When arriving at the airport, we were quickly whisked onto our bus and on our way to the Bella Vista.

The Bella Vista is situated on a hill about 2 miles (ish) outside of Parga, overlooking the beautiful blue sea. There are only about 20 apartments, so it is quiet. We were made very welcome by the owner and his staff and shown to our room, 107. We are on the ground floor (Olympic customers are) and we had an obscured view of the sea, due to a lemon tree outside our balcony, however all rooms overlook the pool. The room was comfortable with a kitchen area, safe, ceiling fan, double bed and bathroom with shower. The kitchen is stocked with utensils and has a good fridge, with freezer compartment. The room also has a TV, however we used our iPad most of the time, curtesy of the free WIFI.
Our room is cleaned everyday, which is unexpected for self catering, but very welcome.

The bar area is nice, with a large TV, if you have to watch the football. They serve drinks and snack, all of which are good.

The hotel runs a taxi (1 euro each way) into Parga throughout the day, which is brilliant.

The local beach is Lichnos which is situated at the bottom of the hill, there are a few restaurants and also a supermarket. On your way down, there are some cats with kittens, soooo cute. We gave them a bit of water and food each day to keep them going as they are wild.

On the beach you can get two loungers and a sun brolley for 6 euros for the day and they also hire out kayaks and pedolos. It is a quiet beach, although as the day goes on people arrive from Parga (as the water is cold there) to come to this idyllic spot. The water is warm and clear.

In Parga itself, there are loads of restaurants and bars and it is full of little lanes with lots of shops. There is quite a buzz in he evening and the last bus back to the hotel is at 23:00 so perfect for a night out. For a meal out expect to spend in the region of 30-40 euro for starters, mains and a drink for two. There are lots of places to eat so you can shop around a bit.

Lager is between 3.50-4.00 euro for a large and it is 7 euro for a cocktail.

You will need your mosquito spray here and it is also good to get a bug spray to kill he little blighters.

We did the trip to Paxos and Anti-Paxos, it was a little windy and choppy out in the Ionian Sea and quite a few people started to be sick. Apart from that for 20 euros each it was a good day. You can book onto these at Parga harbour or just turn up on the day, they leave between 9.30-10am.

In summary, we have loved it. The Bella Visita, is fabulous and Parga is paradise.

We will be back!!!!! ( check out my pictures)

Room Tip: Ideally you want to be as close to the sea view as possible - rooms 105,104,103,102 etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Welly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Intro

Parga is a perfect, unspoilt hidden treasure so was tempted not to write this review and keep it to ourselves. Clearly this is not in the Tripadvisor spirit, so repented and wrote this review. Parga, a harbour town on the north west coast of mainland Greece, slightly south of Corfu, is a destination predominantly used by the Greeks themselves, so that speaks volumes. Within the bars, shops and restaurants are generally mainly inhabited by Greeks which corroborates that statement that this is a favoured resort; we even met people from Athens, some 350Km away, who came to Parga for an extended break!

Bella Vista Hotel

The hotel is awesome; staff, especially Viciilos and the cleaning lady, made the holiday. Always had a smile on their faces and were genuinely happy to help.

We arrived at 2030 hrs after a 3 ½ hr flight from Gatwick. On arrival we were offered an Ouzo and then shown to the room. Initial impressions on the view from the balcony was breath taking: a clear view of Lichnos Beach and cove. The room was cleaned to a very high standard every day, with regular change of towels and sheets. The room was reasonably sized, although when you only dress , sleep and shower how big does the room have to be. The kitchen area had all of the utensils expected to cook and a utilitarian hob and an oven, although I would not expect to cook three course meals in there. It also had a much needed fridge. The room had an air con, ceiling fan and a safe

We had room 102 with great views; room 101 had a slightly better view so if you can try to get 101 , 102, 201 or 202. There are only 16 rooms and the occupation was mixed UK, Dutch and Austrian, although the maximum number of UK couples was 5. The hotel is marketed by Thompson and Olympia, although when we were there the majority of UK holiday makers were with Olympia.

The pool was large for the size of hotel and always clean. Most days there were only one or two couples, the rest opting to travel down to the beach were the breeze is cooling. Thus there is no rush to get a sun bed and most places around the pool are drenched in the sun all day. The bar is just next to the pool and a beer is about €3.5, equitable to most other places.

The only downfall is the hotel food; due to the hill if the lunch time menu was better and the food nicer, it would be a gold mine for the hotel. We ate their once, a Greek Salad, and it was not as good as the places around, so we went to the other places instead.

To get to the beach means walking down, and then up on the return, a steep hill. It took about 15 to 20 mins at midday to walk up, but it is doable. I cover the local and in town restaurants later on.

There is a regular hotel bus service, operated by the hotel between the Bella Vista Hotel, Hotel Salvator and Parga. There is a timetable in the bar, in the room and at the bus drop off point. We usually got the 1925 hrs into town and the 2300 last bus back. Both of the two buses used have air con; during the day there is a transit type mini bus, whereas at night the use a Mercedes Benz executive bus; very nice. If the bus is full, they generally come back for you. The cost is €1 each per person per trip and the hotel tend to keep a record on how many trips. Taxis are €6 from Parga to the hotel and at the taxi rank are the fares to the major sites around Parga and surrounding areas.

Local bars and restaurants in ascending order of ranking are:

· Porto Lichnos. About 400 metres up the hill to the main road is Porto Lichnos. This is the best local (to the hotel) restaurant for food, value, service and view. The food is of good quality and the best Greek Salad and Tuna Salad I had all holiday. We generally ate here at lunch times and it always had locals eating in their; always a good sign. The service is very good, beer delightfully and refreshingly very cold and the view overlooking Lichnos bay was stunning. Being ranked 56 out of 103 in Tripadvisor does not reflect the true quality of the restaurant.

· Coral Restaurant was the better of the two beach restaurants we used. Lunchtime service was ok and the Greek Salads alright; night time the food was ok. The service suffered when the place started to fill. They do charge €6 for each sunbed, irrespective if you eat or drink in there. I challenged this and was given a lame excuse so we stopped using them. 64 out of 103 would appear to be right as it was ok.

· Restaurant "Gialos", or O Gialos as is known in Tripadvisor was right on the beach and if you either drink or eat in the restaurant the sunbeds on the beach were free. Again the Lunch time food was ok, but service did suffer as the place filled. The food at night was not as good, in terms of quality and service as those restaurants in downtown Parga and only marginally cheaper. The food is marginally better in the Coral. Not too sure this warrants 33 out of 103 as it was adequate, not great. Porto Lichnos scored higher in all of my criteria when compared to Gialos.

There are two other restaurants on the beach. One being in the campsite and the other on the far left of the beach which did not open at night. I heard good stories of the restaurant in the campsite, but we never used them.

The Lichnos Beach "Feeling" Restaurant is great for setting and a drink. This is to the right of Gialos and was always full of Greeks, which is a good sign. Their name labelled white wine was the best we had in Greece.

Beaches

There are a number of local beaches. Lichnos beach is local and downhill from the hotel. It is mainly small pebbles and gets very busy, very quickly after 0900 hrs in the morning. There are a number of sunbed providers, but we used Gialos as they were free if you used their services. To be fair we were never challenged when we used their sunbeds. This beach is very popular with the locals, those using the campsite and those in the Lichnos Beach Hotel. The sea is easily accessible, but egress getting out of the sea can be difficult in stronger tides. The water taxis to the various other beaches and Parga depart from this beach, with two floating jetties and I could not work out which jetty served which destination. Either end of the beach are good for snorkelling.

Parga beach is more Stoney but great for snorkelling. This gets busy very fast too, but the setting is better. The first hotel shuttle bus gets you into Parga around 0910, so enough time to get to the beach and pick your spot.

Boat Trips

Boats are Marco Polo, Captain Hook and Vicki F2. All sail the same but Vicki at €30 [it was only 20 because we got a discount for 6 of us] each was the best value and went deeper into the caves. A boat trip is well worth the money to see Paxos and Antipaxos.

Car hire to Meteoria, the site of James Bond “For Your Eyes Only” film. This is a 3 hr drive through very twisting and winding roads that are not well signposted, but well worth the €72 cost of hire car. Some of the monasteries close on certain days so make sure that the one you wish to go to is open before travelling. We went in three of the six and if you want to see all, I would suggest an overnight stay in the many hotels and B&B’s in Meteora. The village of Meteora is quite large and a looked like a good shopping experience.

There are other trips to Corfu and so on, but they were long days so didn't bother.

Bars in Parga town
· Captain’s Table had great service and first class nibbles. The view was good, very reasonably priced (€2 glass of wine) and always busy. This was my favourite in town bar.
· Antico sits on the harbour with good views of the Ionian sea. Reasonably good value and service ok too
· Spice Cafe, next to the Sugar Cocktail Bar both offer happy hours on cocktails (€5) and both have good service and value.
· Meeting Place suffers only due to lack of a breeze as it is up an alley. However the nibbles provided with drinks are more like Tapas and very filling. The owner was quite dejected when I told him we could not eat them as we were vegetarians. He came back with a veg option, bless him.
· Johnnys bar was ok; it was cheap but it was on a road so it lacked a view and ambience
· Kastro is at the top of the hill, next to the castle. It was overpriced, service not great but had a great view overlooking the harbour. Good watering hole after the trek up the hill.


Restaurants in Parga town

· Stephanos is the best restaurant we went to; we ate here twice. Food, service and value all superb. It is up the hill past the castle, but well worth the effort. Views are spectacular over Voltaras Beach and you each what the owner has caught that days sea fishing. You can see the owner leave the harbour in the morning and return later that day with his catch.
· To Souli, again another great place to eat, commanding views over the harbour and offering good service and value
· Castelo’s is another great venue to eat, drink and watch the world go by. Good service, food and value
· Dom Camillo is a great Italian restaurant offering good service, great food and value for money. This was recommended by two girls who stayed in our hotel and I was glad we tried it. Good pizzas.
· Zorbas, next to Bacchus, also is very good in terms of food quality, service and value
· Perivole boasts large portions, but I was not convinced. The views are non-existent, but the food quality, service and value are good and well worth the walk.
· Gemini has a balcony with good views overlooking the harbour. Service and value was good. The only fault was we found meat on a vegetarian pizza, but mistakes do happen.

Note that Preveza airport is small and has little, effective air conditioning. So on Sunday with at least four flights it gets very hot and very busy. In the departure lounge there is a little, and I mean little, shop at either end of the hall. Go prepared to be hot, sticky and sweaty.

I am happy to answer any questions that potential travellers have, but Parga is the best place I have been to in Europe for a sun holiday.

Stayed: July 2014
13  Thank TimKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Returned again after 5 years and it was even better than first time round. The area is so peaceful and you can't do anything but relax. There is everything you need in the rooms, which are kept clean by a very hard working lady. Nothing was too much bother for anyone, Christos, the owner, always checked to make sure everything was okay. Vasili would also go out of his way to help you.The sea is so calm and clear you can't help but go in for a swim. All the people who were there at the same time as us were very friendly. We met Kev & Diane, a lovely couple. We enjoyed it so much we will book again in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We initially thought that we'd made the wrong choice because there weren't many tavernas around but found a couple of good restaurants within walking distance, Porto Lichnos on the main road, limited choice but the quality was excellent (always plenty of locals in, so you knew it was good) and the Coral on Lichnos beach (you could either walk back or Visili would always come and pick you up).

We also got the mini bus into Parga and Visili took us twice.

The room was excellent and it came with aircon which made for a very comfortable night's sleep.

We walked down to the beach each morning and walked back each evening but left it until the sun had dipped behind the mountain to make it a bit more bearable. After spending 8 hours on the beautiful beach we felt we had to make an effort and walk back. This was one of the only beach holidays that I've felt fitter when I've left.

A number of people who were staying at the hotel had been before which is a testament to hotel and the staff. Visili was very friendly and never hesitated to offer a lift if you needed it. The lady who cleaned the rooms did an excellent job every day and was very friendly.

You can buy 6 packs of water at the bar for the same price as the supermarket sells them for.

I couldn't really pick fault with the hotel and would definately return.

One thing that did annoy me was the litter on the beach at Lichnos (nothing to do with the hotel). After a couple of days of walking up and down the beach I decided to pick up all the litter over a 100 yard stretch leading up to the cliffs at the far end of the beach. I filled 2 carier bags full mainly of discarded plastic. Some of this had been washed up but unless it was directly outside a taverna or hotel, nobody was bothered about clearing it up.

After one particularly bad storm the beach at the top end had a line of discarded polystyrene and plastic bottles. Myself and my wife filled several plastic bags with rubbish from around he area where we used to sit. There was a 20 yard stretch we left, which still has rubbish on a week later.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

3rd year to Bella Vista, this place is perfect for a relaxation break. Christos, the owner is a great character, his barman/gardener/pool attendant 'billy' is a very helpful man and nothing is too much trouble. Parga is 30 minute walk either through olive groves or round the roadway. There is a minibus into town which was used alot. The rooms were spotless, cleaned everyday by a very busy maid, towels changed everyday. Lovely pool area with a bar. Lichnos beach is close by,is a great beach with 3 tavernas serving food & drinks all day. Warm sea, small pebbles on beach. It is a 15 to 20 min walk, but very steep. Always ready for a beer on my return. Met lots of friendly people on our 3 week stay, English, Scottish, Swedish, Finns, Italians & Albanians and of course the locals. But please remember if you are a non smoker, Greece allows smoking everywhere including restaurants, don' t go wafting your arms everywhere you go, you are wasting your time. If you are against smoking go elsewhere. It's supposed to be illegal, but its totally ignored.Thank you Bella Vista Team, great holiday again. Kev & Diane

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OverlandYorkshireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here in the middle of August (2 couples). Even though it was my 5th visit to Parga I had never been to Lichnos. From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome. The minibus dropped us off and Vassili (the barman who does a bit of everything) told everyone to come to the bar and sit down and have a free ouzo while he checked us in. Some days it was like having our own private villa; only the four of us around the pool and if we decided to walk to the beach, Vassilli would pick us up so we didn't have to struggle up the hill in the 40 deg heat. The bar served nice snacks/drinks all reasonably priced. The bar was quiet in the evening because most people headed into town but if you were back before midnight; no problem Vassilli would stay open for as long as you wanted. Our apartments were on the second floor and had a fabulous view of the sea and pool. Vassilli removed the partition from our balconies so we had a lovely big balcony to enjoy breakfast/drinks and a chat. Have to mention the lovely lady who cleaned the apartments every day to a very high standard. It's quite a walk to and from Parga (not that we ever did it lol) but the hotel lays on a mini bus (times displayed at the bar) for 1 euro per person and it's 6 euros for a taxi back from town. Would not hesitate to recommend these apartments; the best I've stayed when I've holidayed in Parga.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pargaluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The rooms are actually overpriced in terms of what they offer. Standards of cleanliness are low; they didn't change the sheets and there was no soap in the room. The service was practically nonexistent and the owner was rude to us when we complained.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parga hotels
2.3 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#6 of 34 in Parga
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salvator Hotel Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lichnos Beach Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Parga Princess
Hotel Parga Princess
#1 of 34 in Parga
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dracos Apartotel
Dracos Apartotel
#11 of 34 in Parga
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enjoy Lichnos Bay Village, Camping, Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Apartments

Address: Parga 48060, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Parga
Hotel Class:2 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a peaceful hillside, these well maintained low-rise studios & Apartments overlook Lichnos Bay. Recently renovated to high standards the Bella Vista Hotel Apart is an ideal choice for those seeking a quiet and secluded haven on the outskirts of town. Ideal for couples or families. There are 15 studios with either a double bed or twin beds and one apartment with a separate living room with two beds. The accommodation is comfortable & finished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing