We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Palladion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palladion Hotel
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Ioannina
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Front desk service staff were excellent and professional, room was outdated but average clean. My reason for this review has to do with anything that falls under the Food and beverage department, this includes F&B manager, service staff, cook not a chef, quality of food, standards etc. Evening service staff were rude and clueless, i have never been to a restaurant that asks u to sign or pay for every item as it is served. Wait ted for 47 min for a greek salad (tomato, cucumber, olive, green pepper), I was the only customer in the restaurant at that time.
the F&B manager is in denial he thinks he is running a successful high standard operation, obviously he has never eaten in his own restaurant.
Only think i can recommend is to check in, sleep over but DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY IN THE RESTAURANT.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you just want to save some money and don't need to much, then, it is a good choice.
Simple hotel, close to University hospital of Ioannina.
Not bad breakfast but rooms could be much better.
You can negotiate the price they will first tell you and i suggest you do it.
The military camp of VELISSARIO is close to the hotel as well

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, if you want to be in the centre of Ioannina and want to see the city on foot. There is also a spacious parking and an excellent wi-fi connection. Other than that, the truth is that it really seems to be a very old hotel that needs renovation (at least the third and the fourth floor, where we stayed). The rooms had a "funny" smell, probable due to the old carpets and the walls were thin, we could hear people talking in the corridors and in the next room. The bathroom was a bit small, but new. Our room was cleaned every day. I suppose, based mostly on the quality of the rooms, it should be a bit cheaper, but overall it was an ok experience (it depends on your budget and the kind of place you want to stay).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwinaM0nS00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I visited this hotel twice, and in my last visit the summer of 2010
I was pleasantly surprised to see the hotel renovated.

I picked this hotel because of its central position, being steps from the main shopping area, and at the same time very near the beautiful Castle of Ioannina, - an area that is very popular with both tourists, but the locals as well. This area here is full of Restaurants and Cafes, so it is very convenient especially for people who don't want to walk too far to eat or to have a look at the shops.

The rooms are quite spacious and clean, and we had our towels changed daily.
Staff friendly and helpful, however there was no internet access in the rooms.
Breakfast was continental but satisfactory.
Our room was at the back side overlooking the parking area, but this was not a bother because most of the time we were out. This second time I was here with a group of other 50 people on a tour. After its renovation I believe I can now recommend this hotel because some years back I could not speak highly of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Coincidentally, I stayed at the same room as a previous reviewer (414). The only thing that has changed is that the (full of sellotape) remote control now has the room number hand written instead of typed :-)

The hotel is half-renovated. The lobby is new, the bathrooms are new, the furniture seems new, everything else is old, outdated and in poor state.

The walls are thin, you can hear people in the next room talking, laughing etc, you can hear the phone ringing, hear all the footsteps from the corridor etc.

The TV is an old 14'' CRT, there is no Internet connection (totally unacceptable) and the only good thing is the free parking (absolutely useful in a town where parking is a nightmare).

Great downside: No disabled access at all. That means no ramp in the entrance and small elevators. Parents with strollers will have problem in their movement too.

For 60€ (80 USD) per night (breakfast excl) there is no value for money.

I would not stay again in this hotel. Not before they renovate it again, add Wi-Fi and make it easier for someone to sleep. Also, not before they make it disabled and parent friendly. When they renovate the lobby with marbles and new materials, it shows great disrespect not to add disabled access at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kostasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Where could I start from? From the rude receptionists? From the 50 year old furniture? From the tiny "bathroom"? I don't want to say a lot. Just a list:
*old furniture
*awful view
*rude receptionists (especially the old one which was talking with a friend of his on the phone, about the scorpions concert in town, and was ignoring me for almost 5 minutes and then his reply was "go to the bar to ask")
*crappy and dirty blanket! (see picture)
*NO WIFI ALTHOUGH MENTIONED AS "PROVIDED"
*old, small and narrow toilet without bath
*crappy curtains
*noise from corridors and from the road
*tiny, 14", CRT TV
*no balcony
*narrow elevator
*no safe in the room

Should I mention some positives? Ok, it was located in the market center of the city (but the view was awfule -see pictures), there was a small fridge in the room, an air condition (although I couldn't turn it on because there was no remote!!!), there were novasports 1 and novacinema 1 (premium tv channels) provided and also, there was electricity and hot water provided, all included in the price!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yannis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brighton
19
Reviewed 17 December 2005

It was snowing outside, but at 11pm they switced the heating off (standard practice apparently -it saves fuel) and we froze in our room. It had been nice and warm when we arrived so we did not find out how bad it was until it was the middle of the night. Nice. They refused to answer the phone in the night to sort it out, and were very rude the next morning. Also, the walls are very thin, we could hear everyones mobile alarms going off all morning, and there was a fire alarm or something that kept going off all morning, but the staff couldn't speak english so it was impossible to ask what it was. Needless to say there are much nicer hotels in Ioannina and we decamped to one of them the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ioannina hotels
0.2 mi away
Alexios Hotel
Alexios Hotel
#18 of 30 in Ioannina
68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dovitel Boutique Hotel
Dovitel Boutique Hotel
#13 of 30 in Ioannina
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Frontzou Politia
Frontzou Politia
#10 of 30 in Ioannina
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#7 of 30 in Ioannina
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saz City Life Hotel
Saz City Life Hotel
#5 of 30 in Ioannina
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel King Pyrros
Hotel King Pyrros
#24 of 30 in Ioannina
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladion Hotel

Address: 1 Botsari Noti, Ioannina 454 44, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Ioannina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Ioannina
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palladion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palladion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing