We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elios Grill House, Mavrata, kefalonia”
Review of Elios

Elios
Ranked #243 of 605 Restaurants in Kefalonia
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

A traditional restaurant specialising in authentic dishes cooked over a charcoal grill. The menu provides a good range of dishes, and a good choice of drinks and local wines. It is a popular destination for the local Greek community.

The owner, Demetres, is clearly passionate about his food. He takes care to provide the best with the ingredients available to him; he is conscious of seasonal availability of quality produce.

If you are staying at the southern end if the island, the restaurant is just a few kilometres from Katelios, Mavrata and Valerianos; on the main Scala road.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

If you are looking to experience a traditionall Greek taverna grill then you must visit Elios. It's owned and run by a local family, open all year so not just for visitors. Most of the vegetables and salads are grown on the land in the summer. Really good food, really good prices and very friendly service.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DHGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We always visit this gem of a place - you are made to feel like family, by the family who run it - Kostas, Nia, Dimitri and Stella - you wont find a welcome warmer than this anywhere in Kefalonia! Kostas does a brilliant job in the kitchen ably assisted by Stella and they work so hard to get everything just right. Nia is just wonderful,always has a big smile as she scurries around looking after everyone.Dimitri is great - he speaks English which is always a bonus and is so friendly and helpful. The place is frequented by lots of Greek people so like they say - eat where the locals eat - they know best and they certainly get this right. As said by previous reviewer, not a huge menu but more than adequate (and absolutely delicious)and everything is fresh - most veggies etc come from Kosta's own garden at the back of the taverna. Its so atmospheric when all the Greeks are in and very authentic too. Cant you tell we just love the place!! Love to all at O EIlios - cant wait to see you all again next year

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed in Katelios in June & having read some reviews of this restaurant thought we would give it a try.
Its on the main road from Katelios to Argostoli, about 5 mins out of Katelios.
What an absolutely great little place, all the food we tried was gorgeous & so very well flavoured, Not a huge menu but enough to make us visit very often.
The owner Dimitri is so genuinely friendly & is also very helpful with his knowledge of kefalonia also he has a great sense of humour! Lovely place to spend an evening with the Greeks that also dine there, would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys an authentic Greek taverna.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

I have to write a few words about this gem of a place. A fantastic discovery. The food is absolutely delicious. Simple Greek food at its best and freshest. I don't know what they do to their souvlaki, perhaps the marinade but it is always succulent, moist and melt in the mouth, free from gristle and chewiness unlike at a few places I could mention! Also the best baby kalamari I've EVER eaten...anywhere! Wonderful atmosphere, great family run feel with kind welcoming hosts. Usually full of Greeks too which is always a good sign! Extremely reasonably priced also. If you're staying nearby or passing do not miss it, I'm sure you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank TurquoiseSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Elios also viewed

Lixouri, Kefalonia
Sami, Kefalonia
 
Katelios, Kefalonia
 

Been to Elios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.