We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Maria Anna Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maria Anna Hotel
Ranked #44 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I spent a week at the Maria Anna Hotel in July this year. Its a very quiet place with only about 20 rooms I think. A lovely little bar The rooms were adequate, ours had a very small shower that you could just about stand in with a hand held shower. This is not a problem for us, but could be to others. But some people that we met there had better bathroom facilities, so maybe ask when you book. It is very hilly in Lourdas and the public transport is pretty much non existent, so best hire a car before you go as there is nothing to do otherwise. No roads are not congested so driving isnt an issue. Breakfast is eggs or cereal, if you dont like either, then best go to the supermarket! The best trip was the Saturday BBQ boat trip, it was excellent value for money and great fun. As for the island boat trip, terrible packed boat which you spend most of the day on with no sunbathing! It was horrible. The staff at the Maria Anna are very accomodating (especially Jenny) and really friendly. They have a greek night/BBQ once a week where you end up in the pool! good fun. Beaches are nice, and there is a bus that takes you back and forth if you cant walk up hill! All in all a great stay, met a great bunch of people and the hotel is first class for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycey145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    29
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
98
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just arrived back from a week at this Hotel. Every body seems to have said it all about the Maria Anna so we will keep it simple. Everything was fantastic location brilliant Jenny & all the staff so friendly always smiling & nothing was too much trouble already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis7962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are looking for a somewhere to get away from it all then this is the place. Yes, as other reviewers said it is basic but that is what you expect from a 2.5 star hotel. The extras are the wonderful service from all the staff, Jenny's cheery personality, the lovely pool with tremendous views and a great location for super restaurants within walking distance. You will need to pack a hair dryer but there is a kettle and fridge in the room. We bought milk from the supermarket and kept it in the fridge, we also took the milk to breakfast as we don't like UHT milk. Bring your own coffee and tea bags for use in the room. The beach bus is only 1 euro each way, just check times. Our favourite beach was Trapezeki and try Denis beach taverna wonderful food! There is no ATM in Lourdas so take more Euros. There are three supermarkets but the most friendly service is at Maria's supermarket so try to use that one. The restaurant we liked best was the Olive Lounge, it's worth booking a table but lots of other good restaurants too.

Room Tip: The basement room 03 is a bigger room which has a small terrace and you can see the sea but not such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lally201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've just arrived back from a week at this fantastic hotel. I have to say we travel a lot and stay in a lot of 4/5 star hotels, Maria Anna was a recommendation from friends that stay there all the time, and we were extremely impressed. A very clean hotel with nothing lacking. Superb rooms and a lovely pool with great views.

The owner Tzenh (pronounced Jenny or Zeny) was a superb host. A real bundle of fun. I would recommend this hotel to anyone over 18. I can't fault it. Superb restaurants nearby. Hire a car and get around the island, its stunning, All the staff are so helpful you will not be disappointed.

Beautiful beaches walking distance. Would be nice to see some more young people visit this great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel very basic, also rooms basic, but who stays in their rooms!!! Very nice pool and the views are wonderful, there is a pool bar and sometimes lots of noise in the evening.
Nice staff who are helpful. Any accomadation with a pool bar can sometimes be loud at night.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from pool bar, you cannot choose make request with tour operator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First time to Kefalonia, stayed for one week at Maria Anna Hotel, Lourdas, what a pleasant surprise awaited us. Fantastic views, wonderful staff, spotlessly clean bathroom and room. Booked on an Olympic Holiday late deal. One of the best holidays we've had. Would return without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from staying here. All the reviews are correct as we can not fault this place. The view, the rooms and the staff were all brilliant. The location is great if you want to relax and do nothing, however if you want to get around the island there are car hire places very near by. Every day the room was cleaned to a very good standard and the snacks on offer were delicious. This was our first time here but I am sure it won't be our last.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fimason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
1.1 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.9 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#52 of 140 in Cephalonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ionis Hotel
Ionis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Peratata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
9.1 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Anna Hotel

Property: Maria Anna Hotel
Address: Lourdata, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cephalonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maria Anna Cephalonia
Maria Anna Hotel Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing