We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful, friendly, tranquil place, just perfect!”
Review of Panas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panas Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Panas family make this a wonderful place to stay. The accomodation is imaculately clean, with everything that you need. The food is homecooked, fresh, tasty and really reasonably priced.

There is a small beach just a few metres away that is just sand and shallow, clear waters, don't go here if you want sun lounger after sun lounger with lots of entertainment and facilities or nightlife but if you want a tranquil beach where you can wander into the sea when it gets a little too warm with plenty of space between you and the next person then this is the place.

I can't give enough praise for the lovely family, welcoming and helpful without ever being intrusive, they gave us lifts to the local village which is only 1.8km away but is uphill so suitable footwear is needed. Helped with cheap car/bike hire and generally make you feel welcome.

Everything is very reasonably priced, especially compared to other places around the island. If you are looking for a place to truly relax, that is inexpensive but has everything you need and is always clean, with good food then I can highly recommend the Panas bungalows.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LindsayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Panas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Was coming in from Zakynthos on a ferry to Pesada and wanted to find a great place to stay... Ended up finding this by doing a google maps search as to which hotels where closest to the port! What an amazing discovery this place was.

First of all, my companion and I are not a fan of greek food and had stuggled to find somewhere to eat during our vacation. The food at Panas is cooked by the Grandmother of the hotel operators and the vegetables were grown in the garden. It was amazing, especially the baked pasta. Food was inexpensive and delicious and we are not people to give such praise easily (we always search Zagat, Micheline guide, etc.).

The rooms were really unique with stone floors and incredible balconies, needless to say also impressive (not even considering the price!). The beach nearest the hotel was also great with clear blue water and an amazing sheer white cliff and views of the mountains on Kefalonia. Some advice: find your way to the beach at night as there is a light from the cliff above that illuminates the water. If you go, you'll thank me!

Over all I would honestly consider going back to Kefalonia just to stay here. All the noise and tackiness of Zakynthos' main resort towns made Panas a welcome treat with great food, the friendliest hosts, and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Panas for the first week in June 2011. The hotel was just what we were hoping for.Right on the beach the hotel offers amazing views from the poolside, from the balcony and particularly lovely was having breakfast in the morning outside under the shady terrace overlooking the sea.
Nana Panas could not have made us more welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are a bit dark and gloomy on first inspection but actually are perfectly well equipped with good hot shower, air conditioning, fridge etc etc .
The hotel had a restaurant and there is also a lovely bar/fish restaurant metres away which overlooks the sea.
The pool area was spotless with a lovely area for sunbathing. The hotel was quiet during our stay which was perfect for us and we often had the pool area to ourselves to relax. If you are looking for a 'getaway from it all week' in the sun then the Panas fits the bill

Room Tip: You definitely need a car to get around
Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
16  Thank RoystonChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We had originally booked a double/twin room with side-sea view. On arrival we were upgraded to a sea facing double. The room itself was fairly small - but we didn't mind at all, as the view from the balcony was lovely.
Although most of the guests hired cars for at least part of their holiday, we decided not to. The home-cooked food at the hotel was so good that we decided to eat there most evenings - no complaints whatsoever - and the local house red (so local it doesn't have a name) was great.
The hotel is somewhat distant from any shops - nearest minimarket in the centre of Spartia is is 2 kms. We walked this a couple of times - and also went to Argostoli twice (20euros each way). The beach close to the hotel is pleasant but doesn't have any shade - so we were more than happy to spend most days by the hotel's pool. We took a taxi to Avithos beach, which was worth a visit, with comfy sun beds and a nice cantina.
This was our 4th time on Kefalonia - the first time was on honeymoon 17 years ago. Although other parts of the island have changed considerably over the years, Spartia still seems to have retained the atmosphere and characteristics of Greece of years gone by. We were looking for a small hotel, with friendly staff, good food, quiet location, nice pool - and we got this at the Panas - in abundance. If you're looking for a big hotel, in an area full of bars and cafes selling English Breakfasts, this is definitely not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mrs_H6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I have just returned from Hotel Panas after a 14 night stay. It was wonderful. I booked it very last minute and based on the Trip Adivisor reviews. If you are looking for somewhere to chill out and I mean REALLY relax then go and stay at Hotel Panas. It is located in what is really a glen by the sea. There is a steep winding lane/road and apart from one other restaurant on the sea front that is all there is. No shops, no bars no traffic. bliss.
I feel as though it was a convalescence and feel twenty years younger. I had B & B and ate in the hotel each lunchtime/evening as little or as much as I wanted. There was no pressure.
As a female solo traveller I felt very safe there and was afforded every courtesy and help from Nana and her family.
My room was very comfortable with a double bed, a tv (never switched on), very good air conditioning, french double glazed doors to the balcony, a sea view and a fridge (very modern). All the rooms were cleaned daily, my bed was always made for me, clean fluffy white towels EACH DAY and sheets changed regularly too. Basically I haven't cooked, washed up, gone shopping or driven anywhere for two weeks and it's been great!!!!
The beach is narrow and sandy and not very long. There is a very small jetty where the local fishermen hang out. Cliffs back the beach on the left hands side. I went to the beach for swimming and snorkelling each day. there is also a decent sized swimming pool at the hotel which is private as it is away from the rooms so however bad you swim there is no audience! Shower by the pool too and a good amount of shade.
Beautiful trees all around the property. If you want trips they can be arranged through the hotel.
Most of the other guest I noticed had hired cars and if you wanted to mooch around the island you would need to do this.
Food very good, service excellent and a happy relaxed atmosphere so I did not feel a total loser on my own. A mix of nationalities mostly Greek, Italian, French and German.
Thankyou Nana and family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roobarbancustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Hotel Panas is a super friendly family run hotel. Its location is great with a short walk to the beach which although small is calm and has some great snorkelling off it. The hotel also has a great pool – large, clean and very relaxing, but could do with some cushions on the sun loungers!

Rooms
We were offered the choice of two rooms. 33 which was larger with two twin beds but didn’t have a sea view and 21 which was smaller with a double bed and a sea view. We chose room 21 which was cleaned beautifully every day with fresh towels. The room also had fridge, TV and A/C. WiFi is available in the reception area.

Breakfast
Breakfast is adequate if a little repetitive after a week but is of good quality. On offer bread, bolied eggs, Greek yogurt, honey, Peaches, cheese & ham washed down with coffee/tea and orange juice. It’s served in the reception area and you can enjoy it sitting outside in the relaxing outdoor restaurant area.

Lunch/Dinner
Served in the same area as breakfast the menu is the same but varied enough and again good quality. Try the Greek Salad. The hotel is located within walking distance of two other taverners – Waterway and the fishing boat –I think. Both are good, but the Water Way has great views of the sea, all are priced roughly the same. The best restaurant and beach we went to was in Avithos and certainly worth a drive there. The Cova beach hut offers loungers ($7), drinks and snacks where you can spend the day on the beach and then at sunset head up to the Preview restaurant (at the top of the hill) We ate there two nights and it was fantastic!

Amenities
While Panas doesn’t have the same amenities as a larger chain hotel it doesn’t need to be as what is has is 100% adequate. It’s a lovely quiet hotel where you can just relax so adding anything more would upset the balance. Add to this the friendly family who run the hotel you can’t help but let all your worries fall away. Definitely worth hiring a car either from the airport or trough the hotel to do some exploring. The hotel is about a 20min car journey to the airport, so bear this in mind when going back as all the coaches picking up from the hotels on the island drop off at the same time so check in is a nightmare! Best to relax by the pool and get to the airport 1hours to 45mins before departure when all the queues have gone and you can breeze through.

All in a great hotel and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jonathan_harris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

My husband and i have stayed at this lovely little hotel twice now , both times in September. If you are looking for a quiet traditional hotel in a superb spot right by the beach then look no further! The panas is run by a lovely Greek family with its own taverna serving traditional greek food. Breakfast is quite basic but adequate and the rooms although small are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location - the beach is unspoilt and the sea is incredibly warm and shallow , perfect for swimming. Car hire is a must here as the nearest village is a good 2 kilometers away up a very steep hill! We somehow feel as though we have stepped back in time when we stay here which is part of its appeal for us! If you want nightlife and all mod cons this is not the right place for you , but if you want to relax in an unspoilt part of Kefalonia i would recommend the Panas.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spartiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
3.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
227 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ionis Hotel
Ionis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Peratata
63 reviews
3.3 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#7 of 8 in Svoronata
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panas Hotel

Address: Klimatsia Beach | Spartia, 280 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Panas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panas Hotel Cephalonia
Panas Hotel Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing