We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, very clean,quiet and peaceful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Filoxenia Apartments
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Cephalonia
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value, very clean,quiet and peaceful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here 10th Sept to 17th. No problems whatsoever. Had a ground floor room 103. Shared terrace over looking the garden. lovely mountain views all around, beautiful spot. Sun on the terrace until about 4pm.Met some lovely people.
Jenny who looks after the place couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. What a great lady! The young lady cleaning kept the rooms spotless, changed our sheets at least twice ( didn't just leave them on the bed as per another review), lovely soft clean towels. Both seemed very honest hard working woman. No problems at all. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and recommending this place to others.
Outside the apartments turn left, follow the road to the little t junction, turn right to the beach and some tavernas. There is a travel agents, mini market and small gift shop at the t junction. If you turn left here you will come to the bakery Jerry's tavern, KI moped hire ( excellent way to see the island!!!) and another mini market, this one sells fruit and veg amongst the usual but no cigarettes. If you carry on up the road until you come to Persias, take the little track alongside Persias, this will lead you to the road and back to the apartments, full loop.
We took a small cheap toaster( there isn't one in the apartments) with and adaptor along with a cheap sharp knife. We tend to do this on self catering holidays and just leave them there. I love my toast and honey in the mornings.
There was a comment about the pool being cleaned on another review. I can confirm that when we did get back to the pool at the end of the day the pool filters could be heard coming on. I didn't see one bug in the pool and I did have a dip at some point most days. It was lovely and clean.
Would I go back to the Filoxenia? Yes I would, next time it will be for two weeks.
Thank you Jenny and Cleaning Lady:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was so looking forward to returning home and writing a positive review for these apartments but sadly I am unable to. Whilst I'm sure many people holiday here and enjoy their stay we ran into a problem in our second week which totally spoilt our time there. My apologies for the length of my review, however I felt it was important to let others know about our experience of the Filoxenos Studios & Apartments (as they are now known).
First I would like to point out some of the positives as there were some....

Very clean, basic but well appointed studios (although the mattresses were not the best quality so the beds weren't very comfortable and the bedding was looking a bit tired).

Extremely friendly welcome from Jenny who is the manager and generally does everything from receiving guests, dealing with bookings, running the pool bar and cooking and serving pool snacks. A very busy lady but always took the time to talk to guests.

Lovely location although I do agree with the previous reviewer, the walk back up to the apartments would prove a bit of struggle to the less able bodied (although very pretty at night as the stars are amazing in Katelios).

Very family friendly which is great if you are coming to stay with children although would prove to be a bit noisy and full on if you just wanted to relax peacefully around the pool. (We chose to go to the beach for that reason). We love children but just needed to unwind quietly with a good book.

Good value for money (cheap & cheerful).

Now for the bad bits.....

Whilst Jenny the manager is very friendly and spent a lot of time mixing with the guests she did tell us, during our many conversations with her during our stay, that the owners were not around much to support her in her role. She did at times (in our opinion) appear quite stressed juggling her many duties and was very verbal about this to us.

There was an active wasp's nest in the pool bar area which proved to be a nuisance. Despite us complaining about this, Jenny said she was unable to get the owners of the apartments to remove it (despite being stung twice herself during our stay). She asked us to complain to the owners as she wanted it removed too. It was infact finally removed by the end of our stay.

Maintenance was an after thought. This proved to be a health & safety issue during our stay when we witnessed a young girl slip on the broken area around the pool and hurt her leg. She suffered a grazed and swollen leg, however it could have proved to be much more serious. On later examination of the pool area we were concerned about several broken drainage sections, although we did see the manager replace these during our stay with the assistance of another guest.

It would be fair to say that we enjoyed some of our stay at the Filoxenos studios but all that was about to change in the second week when we had a pair of earrings stolen from our room. The earrings had been purchased the previous week from an exclusive jewellers in Scala as my wedding anniversary gift. They had been left unworn in their box inside the shop's gift bag and were on the dressing table in our locked room. To cut a very long and unpleasant story short, the management and owner's handling of the theft was absolutely disgusting. We were told that no-one on the staff had stolen them and excuses ranged from "the jeweller didn't put them in the box" to "they must have got lost in the laundry" or "we must have left our door unlocked and another guest must have stolen them" were given to us (all totally untrue). When I requested that the police were called the atmosphere became extremely hostile. Although we were told the police would be telephoned, they did not arrive in the 24 hours we remained at the property. We felt we were left with no alternative but to leave the accommodation and check in to another hotel.
Whilst there was a safe in the room it was not fastened down to anything so we thought it would be silly to place all our valuables in one convenient place to be easily picked up and carried off!! (I could quite easily lift the safe and remove it from the room).

We have visited Katelios for several years now and have never experienced any problems. This incident has made us seriously think about ever returning to this beautiful island.
We realise that crime can happen anywhere in the world but it's how the situation was handled that caused us such upset and sadness.

We left the Filoxenos Studios very quietly as we did not want to make a fuss and perhaps worry other guests staying at the property. We felt it may have spoilt their holiday too. We were fortune to spend the last three nights of our holiday in a lovely safe hotel.

I take no pleasure leaving a negative review about the Filoxenos apartments and studios, however, I think people who like to read trip advisor reviews, should be made aware of our experience so they can make a fully informed choice before booking to stay there. As I have already said, many guests will have stayed here year after year without incident, sadly we did not.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The resort of Katelios is fantastic. Very very quiet with a long narrow beach where sunbeds are only 3 deep at the widest. The restaurants were on the beach and we tried all of them. All our meals were great value, very reasonable with an excellent selection everywhere. If you are looking for a really peaceful relaxing holiday, this you cannot fault. We were told there was one bus a day out of the village early morning and one back in the evening. There was only one taxi as well so if you want to explore you would need a car but having seen the mountain roads and the drops, driving isn't for the faint hearted. There were 2 mini markets and I think 2 small gift shops and that was it. As for the accommodation where do I start? The apartment were up a hill which we did know from other reviews. Yes it took 10 minutes to walk down which was quite pleasant but walking back in the heat of the afternoon was awful. You were in full sun with occasional shade from a tree and it took longer walking back. This applied in the evenings as well. The road was very poorly lit so I would advise a torch. Even though the road is quiet there are other accomodations up the hill and the road is very bendy. The rooms were relatively clean but not swept out properly. There were no brushes to do it yourself. When the sheets were changed the clean ones were left on the bed to make it yourself. This applied to the other party we were with as well. Jenny who runs the place single handedly closed the bar in the evening from 5.30-9.30pm so unless you bought drinks in the mini market and trudged up the hill with them there was no other choice. The only food offered in the day were toasties! The grounds were in need of maintenance and for the week we were there did not see the pool cleaned (although it could have been) apart from the cleaner we saw no other employees. The air conditioning was a necessity and very quiet which was a bonus but the utensils in the apartment were really very basic with no toaster, microwave so even if you wanted to eat in you were very limited. We would definitely stay in Katelios again but not here. There seemed to be apartments closer to the beach. I feel the price we paid was way over priced for what we received and during the night there was no one on site so if there was a problem you could be in trouble as you would have to phone the 24 hour help line to the reps. Considering Kefalonia has been on high alert for fires all through the summer I found this a worry because the apartments are in the countryside and you can see how burnt and dried all the land is. I wouldn't recommend it for children as there is absolutely nothing there for them to do apart from the pool but the sea is very shallow and you can walk out a long way. We didn't see many children at all and spent several days of our holiday on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avril T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just returned home after two weeks at the Philoxenia.Lovely location with fantastic views ot the sea.about ten minutes walk to the beach/resort.Jenny greeted us on arrival,a lovely lady and very friendly and very helpful.Room was kept spotless by the cleaner (sorry cant remember name) The pool is a good size but does need slight repair to some of the block paving as it is a trip hazard.We hnow this hotel is quiet but what it is lacking is just a little back ground music round the pool.We would recommend this hotel to everyone.We ate out everynight and found all the restaurnts to be very good especially the katelios taverna and jerrys next to the scooter hire shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyshaz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Philoxenia apartments. On arrival we were impressed with the look of the hotel. We had a very warm welcome and Jenny got to know us well. Very relaxed atmosphere. The pool is lovely, rooms and bar area are clean. There is a 10 minute walk to the beach, bars / restaurants and the walk back is uphill and not recommended for those who may find walking long distances difficult. The walk did become tiresome as the week went on so we did buy items in the local supermarket/ bakery in the town to eat at the apartment.

We had a small child and were thank full we took a pram to walk to the restaurants. There are a lot of wasps around the area, but we expected this. Katelios is quiet and not much to do there so we did venture out to nearby Skala.

To sum up the holiday, the place is very relaxing and if your looking to unwind this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abertawe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked a last minute deal for £280 per person inc flights , 15kg of baggage and transfers for the 2-9 July with Thomson. We thought this was cheap.

Its a 10 minute walk to the sea front where you will find the beach and restaurants ( Captain Jeff's is the best ) the fish dishes are excellent. After half a litre of house white in the evening it took us a little longer to return!

The beach at Katelios is natural. There are some pebbles and some seaweed but we found it great ( as there were only around 20 -50 people on the beach each day ).

There is little to do in Katelios but go to the beach ( or the pool ) , this is the right place for you if you are looking for a quiet beach holiday. You can always hire a car or moped but this looked a bit of hassle to me as the roads looked narrow and busy.

If you want things to do ( party ) then the next island ( Zante ) will serve you better.

You get what you pay for and this is no exception. The room was clean and comfortable. They swept it every day and we had one linen change in a week. The catering equipment is just enough to make breakfast.

So if you can get this deal for under £300 for a week then I think its great value for money.
The more over £300 you pay the less attractive it becomes , but this depends on the time of year aswell ( school holidays normally cost more ).

Aircon is 5 euros a day and is essential. I know it doesn't mention it in the brochure but you will need it. Just pay the lady her 35 euros per week ( ignore her remote control instructions , they are designed to use minimal electricity) and you will be able to sleep in a nice cool room.

You will probably find sleep difficult without the aircon.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterevans1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this because people had said it was the above, and it was! Very simple studio room but perfectly adequate, clean and cleaned regularly. The pool is lovely, and when we were there, very few people around it. There is a pool bar where the lively and welcoming Genni wil make you a simple salad, omelette etc., and serve a nice cold drink on a hot day. The owner, who also runs the Medusa Taverna on the sea front, was incredibly helpful and kind.
The accommodation is about 10 - 15 minutes from the beach up a lovely country lane. Shops about the same time way.
Katelios itself is just lovely. Undeveloped, beautiful long beach with safe swimming. Enough tavernas to choose from. Mimi's bar at the opposite end to the tavernas was our favourite place to stop and stare. If you ask her nicley she may produce some of the good, local artisan cheese which didn't seem to be on offer elsewhere.

Our only criticism of Katelios (and it seems other resorts) would be that the food is all a bit samey. Great big menus which could easily be cut in half and replaced with at least one "dish of the day". We would have liked to experience some really good,local cooking that was a bit different from the others.

Having said that, we ate well and the service was always excellent. All the Greek people we spoke to were interesting and welcoming. KATELIOS WOULD NOT SUIT ANYBODY SEEKING NIGHTLIFE - which is great by us!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms for the most part have a shared balcony so would need to ask for a private one. Air con is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Townley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
0.0 mi away
Erietta Apartments and Studios-Kefalonia
19.1 mi away
Hotel Palatino
Hotel Palatino
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#113 of 142 in Cephalonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
7.4 mi away
Aristomenis Studios
Aristomenis Studios
#6 of 20 in Lourdas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
12.6 mi away
Pythos Studios Hotel
Pythos Studios Hotel
#8 of 12 in Svoronata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Apartments

Property: Filoxenia Apartments
Address: Akrotiriou-Gerakariou | Katelios, 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Apartments Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing