We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Liberatos Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liberatos Village
Ranked #101 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just got back from a short 4 night stay at Liberatos. It's the 3rd time I've stayed there and this time was no different to any other stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. They were basic but that's all you need for a trip to Greece. The views are out of this world, nothing better than sitting having a beer whilst looking out to sea!
The hill is nowhere near as bad as some people make out, I'd much rather be up the hill for the views rather than down in a Lassi.
George was a perfect host! He was friendly and very helpful (especially when I locked myself out of my room and he drove all the way from Sami to let me in).
If you are after a place to stay that's friendly, clean, has great views and is reasonably priced then get yourself to Liberatos. I'm booking for 2014 for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Liberatos for the first two weeks in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stayed there. Admittedly the walk up the hill form Lassi is a challenge but it gets easier the more you do it! and cabs are readily available if you need them. The apartments are clean and tidy and are what you would expect from this standard of accommodation in Greece. As other reviewers have mentioned, the views from the upper apartments are amazing and it was a joy to open the shutters to our patio and take in the view every morning.
Like most travellers, we need a clean comfortable apartment where we can sleep and prepare breakfast and this was more than adequate for our needs. Our apartment was cleaned regularly with fresh sheets and towels readily available.
The main hub of Liberatos is the pool and bar which had a great laid back atmosphere...the pool was clean and very inviting and the bar was friendly and relaxing with George the manager and young George the barman making us feel very welcome at all times
....Highly recommended by us and we would definitely visit again

Room Tip: One of the upper apartments facing the bay give fantastic views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PowerhouseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

the apartment was very clean but small,however on opening the balcony doors it didnt matter it was paradise,also view from pool great,the walk down the hill ok but going up in 30 degrree heat would be a challenge for a lot of people,staff were lovely but food was unavailable from early evening so a trip down the hill was needed thats ok but as a solo traveller it wasnt good walking up in the pitch black.could have been a few more cooking utensils for people using kitchen everyday

Room Tip: 6d lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilyrose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Liberatos Village for a week in mid-September and had a lovely time. Our 'standard-cost' apartment was very clean, spacious, and the kitchen facilities worked well and were all we needed for our stay. The sea views both from our apartment balcony and the bar/pool area were stunning, with beautiful sunsets every night. The pool area was clean and well maintained. The apartments are in a great location, just a short walk down onto the main Lassi strip. The apartments were very well run, with George the manager very welcoming, helpful and a real asset to the resort. We didn't pay for air conditioning as the temperature was warm, but not insufferable, so leaving the windows open at night sufficed and the resort felt very safe so we had no qualms about doing so. We did however, rent the room's safe for a week, which cost 10 euros. All in all, a great stay for couples young and old, and families. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at The Liberatos Village for two weeks during August and loved it.The views from the apartments and the pool and bar areas are beautiful.The apartment that we stayed in was typically Greek,very spacious,bright and clean.A ten minute walk down the hill and you are amongst a great choice of good quality tavernas and bars in Lassi town.A hire car is a real bonus to explore this stunning island and The Liberatos has loads of parking.George the manager couldn't do enough for us and was both polite and conscientious along with George 2 the barman.All in all our holiday was so relaxing and we will definitely be returning providing George changes his football team.Only joking George and thankyou very much.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the pool area have the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked a two week break to Liberatos Village (8th Aug to 22nd Aug).
On arriving at the accommodation on the 8th October we experienced the following:
1. Rotten door frames in both bathroom and bedroom.
2. Mould on the walls in the living area and covering the ceiling in the bathroom
3. Coving part missing and covered in black rot and mould in the bathroom.
4. Mould on the shower curtain.
5.Thick dust on the pictures and light fittings in the apartment and under the bed.
6.Stained mattress and bedding.
7.Mattress protector littered with hairs, dirt and what appeared to be small eggs of some sort.
8.Remnants of food in the oven
9.Two out of four pillowcases missing (we had to use t shirts on the first two nights to cover the pillows)
10.Fridge did not shut without jamming something into the door.
11.Wardrobe drawers would not open.
12. Bare wires protruding from the wall
13. An insecure safe secured by 2 small bolts to the back of a wooden wardrobe
14. A pool containing cloudy water which became increasingly green/brown as the days passed, eventually closing for a day and re-opening with the assurance from George that 'it was fine'
15. The Air Con clicked on an off so loudly it kept us awake for a fortnight.

We asked the manager, George, to change room but were told there was no more availability.
We complained bout the state of the bathroom ceiling to the manager.

Some days later he told us had cleaned the apartment and painted the bathroom ceiling.
We entered the room to find a thin layer of white paint on the bathroom ceiling and no other change. A few days later the mould re-appeared.

The pool was a dark green colour throughout the holiday (nothing like the description in the brochure and was indeed shut for two days at the end due to chemical problems).
Many of the sunbeds around the pool were broken.
We appreciate that we booked an apartment with mediocre star rating but with this, we still have the right to a decent level of cleanliness.

Young George the barman was a gentleman.

Room Tip: Avoid room A2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel261266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What could possibly top a stay for two weeks at the Liberatos village except for maybe three weeks there! We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon fairly weary after our travels and were met by the manager George who helped us to our room which we were immediately impressed with, those who have stayed In Greek apartments will already know they can be fairly "snug" for two adults and a large 13 year old, but here we found a spacious well equipped room, George then apologised profusely about the view before opening the shutters on what could only be described as a breath taking view out as far as the Lixouri peninsular, laughed at our reaction and told us reassuringly any problem don't hesitate to ask me.
From that evening on we were treated to a perfect sunset from our balcony, though in the short time I have had the pleasure of knowing George I do believe this would be one of the few things he could possibly not be able to take care of.
The hill up and down is an unavoidable price to pay for the views though having eaten too much for two weeks it did help us retain a degree of the fitness we turned up with, so we only saw this a nice end to each evening, take a torch with you and keep an eye out for the bats that flit about as well as owls which we saw on more than one occasion, if you find the hill too daunting a cab up is pretty cheap, we only used them from Argostoli and were charged 6-7 euros, as another plus a walk into Argostoli from by continuing up the hill and over the ridge makes an interesting walk and earns you an extra moussaka token too!
The pool area is immaculate and well enjoyed at the end of another day exploring the island, we hired a car from CBR, we had one lazy day around the pool and each day we used the pool it was clean and tidy.
Lots of nice evenings around the bar with George the barman a fairly low key but very pleasant place to be well priced and comfortable with a big TV for those who like football we even managed to have the cycling on one evening as a plus.
We would like to thank George for making our stay very memorable from greeting us on our arrival to arranging our cab to the airport, would now only try to book here on our next visit as I would be disappointed with anywhere else and would miss the company of the staff who I would now regard as among my friends and was the perfect host.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
0.5 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#12 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
8.7 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mouikis Hotel
Mouikis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Argostolion
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
399 reviews
4.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberatos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberatos Village

Address: Lassis, 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 141 Hotels in Cephalonia
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberatos Village 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Liberatos Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberatos Village Cephalonia
Liberatos Village Hotel Cephalonia
Liberatos Village Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing