We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Liberatos Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberatos Village
Ranked #88 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a very relaxing week at this hotel in the middle of May. We were met by a member of staff who gave us a hand with our suitcases. Our room was on the second floor with stunning views of the bay.
The room was spacious and very clean. The pool area was kept very clean with plenty of sunbeds. George and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The main town of Lassi is ten minute walk down the hill. It takes a bit longer coming back up but its good exercise and it helps you to lose the weight from eating all the lovely food in the tavernas. Look out for the animals on the way up especially the dog, the cats and kittens.
It is our second time in the resort of Lassi and would definitely stay in the Liberatos again.

Room Tip: The best views are from the rooms on the second floor as the ground floor rooms have some obstructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    40
    22
    15
See reviews for
55
94
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our previous visit to Cephalonia was 12yrs ago and we stayed in Svoronata which was beautiful but very quite.
This time we wanted a bit more for us to do so we picked Lassi which was perfect for us.
We stayed at the Liberatos Village for 2 weeks from 27/06/13.
On arrival we were Met by George the manager, who was lovely and very sociable, as was the bar man also called George!!!!
Our room was A3 ground floor with a view of the car park.
Other reviews had mentioned the fab views from the Liberatos.
The views were amazing, however i'm not sure if they would be from the rooms allocated to Thomson, even if you had a first floor room.
The room was a good size, clean and quite airy and suitable for 3 adults or 2 Adults and 2 children up to about 12yrs i would say.
The kitchen area was basic but adaquate for us, however if you needed anything additional ie cooking utensils you just had to ask and they would be provided no problem.

The pool area was lovely with a good size pool, sunbeds and umbrella's.
I loved that no matter what time you turned up at the pool there were beds available and no early bird reserving!!!!

We loved the location of the Liberatos it was 10 mins walk down hill to the main road, which means it was also a 10 min back up the hill!!! What can i say, at the end of 2 weeks i had fabulous calves.
I do not think the location is suitable for anyone with walking difficulties unless you have access to a car for your stay.

Just above the Liberatos are the Panoramic apartments which had a lovely bar pool area and those views. If you walk through the panoramic you will come to the Olive Tree again lovely bar poll and views.

The main road in Lassi had plenty of bars,restaurants and some gift/supermarkets.
We had some lovely meals but because its taken me so long to get round to doing this review i can't remember the name of out favorite!!! i do know it was not far from Zorbas and the young lady that wa the owner was amazing!!! taking orders, serving food and leading the greek dancing. They also had the best complimentary desert and i don't usually have deserts.

We like to go to the beach and the main beach was Makris.
Since our last visit it seems to have got a lot smaller, which would account for it beeing quite compact with beach beds and quite close together. We only went once to Makris beach, but then went to the beach next to it which was just by white rocks. This was quieter and more space and not as crowded. If your going peak times you may need to get to the beach handy to make suer that you get a bed. There is a nice walk off the beach through the White Rocks hotel property to a lovely bar shaded by pine trees and a beautiful view of the sea.

We had a few of great walks into Argosoli twice via the coast road and once over the hill the way the bus goes.

The coastal walk from the Liberatos took about 1hr 15mins. There are some hotels/apts on the way if you need a rest stop, just make sure you have water with you.

We loved Argosoli and our little local bar overlooking the main road and where all the day yachts moored. Best ouzo in town ha ha !!!!

We had a few meals that were just Gyros in little side roads fabulous!!!

There is plenty to see and do it just depends what you like.
Cephalonia is well worth a visit its beautiful and we will go back.

Room Tip: If you like to walk like beautiful views and don't want to be too far from some life the Liberat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julieann18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This review has taken us some time to compile but it's now xmas day and we're sitting here trying to work out when we can re-book for the Liberatos as both my boy's have exams in 2014! When we booked our holiday for Aug 2013 we wer'ent entirely sure what to expect but the Liberatos far exceeded our expectations! Our view was quite simply stunning and my husband and I would have coffee 1st thing in the morning on the balcony before going down the 'dreaded' hill for a swim as the sun was coming up. Then we would buy fresh pastries and go back up the hill to the boys where we would invariably decide what we had planned for the day eating breaksfast again on the balcony. The appt was REALLY clean and the cleaners came every day execpt twice in a 2wk stay! The cooking facilities were more than adequate and during our stay we had cooked english breakfasts, lunches and even 2 evening meals. The 'dreaded' hill that we had read so much about was no where near as bad as we'd feared and as a size 16 lady and quite unfit I was able to manage this hill several times a day and even managed to do it in less than 11 minutes by the time we left to come home! Taxis were expensive from Lassi to the Liberatos and yet we managed to negotiate a taxi from Argastoli for only 5 euros. If you buy your provisions in one hit from the supermarkets in Lassi they will pay for a taxi for you back to the Liberatos so this is also something we'd recomend as bottled water/ soft drinks are a must! Air conditioning is an extra but we found we did'nt need it even though it was really hot as we were on a top appt so just opened all the shutters and windows and a lovely cool breeze blew through the appt keeping it comfortable.Food at the bar was lovely and no more expensive than in lassi. Overall, we found this a really clean,relaxing, laid back place to stay and would defy anyone to find a pool as clean as this one was any where else. We have been to Kefalonia twice now and would definatley recomend the Liberatos. We love Greece but especially here. 2 wks was certainly not long enough and never will be. Will look forward to the days when work/school commitments are no longer an issue and the stays will def be longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor appt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CJCAREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just got back from a short 4 night stay at Liberatos. It's the 3rd time I've stayed there and this time was no different to any other stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. They were basic but that's all you need for a trip to Greece. The views are out of this world, nothing better than sitting having a beer whilst looking out to sea!
The hill is nowhere near as bad as some people make out, I'd much rather be up the hill for the views rather than down in a Lassi.
George was a perfect host! He was friendly and very helpful (especially when I locked myself out of my room and he drove all the way from Sami to let me in).
If you are after a place to stay that's friendly, clean, has great views and is reasonably priced then get yourself to Liberatos. I'm booking for 2014 for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Liberatos for the first two weeks in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stayed there. Admittedly the walk up the hill form Lassi is a challenge but it gets easier the more you do it! and cabs are readily available if you need them. The apartments are clean and tidy and are what you would expect from this standard of accommodation in Greece. As other reviewers have mentioned, the views from the upper apartments are amazing and it was a joy to open the shutters to our patio and take in the view every morning.
Like most travellers, we need a clean comfortable apartment where we can sleep and prepare breakfast and this was more than adequate for our needs. Our apartment was cleaned regularly with fresh sheets and towels readily available.
The main hub of Liberatos is the pool and bar which had a great laid back atmosphere...the pool was clean and very inviting and the bar was friendly and relaxing with George the manager and young George the barman making us feel very welcome at all times
....Highly recommended by us and we would definitely visit again

Room Tip: One of the upper apartments facing the bay give fantastic views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PowerhouseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

the apartment was very clean but small,however on opening the balcony doors it didnt matter it was paradise,also view from pool great,the walk down the hill ok but going up in 30 degrree heat would be a challenge for a lot of people,staff were lovely but food was unavailable from early evening so a trip down the hill was needed thats ok but as a solo traveller it wasnt good walking up in the pitch black.could have been a few more cooking utensils for people using kitchen everyday

Room Tip: 6d lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilyrose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Liberatos Village for a week in mid-September and had a lovely time. Our 'standard-cost' apartment was very clean, spacious, and the kitchen facilities worked well and were all we needed for our stay. The sea views both from our apartment balcony and the bar/pool area were stunning, with beautiful sunsets every night. The pool area was clean and well maintained. The apartments are in a great location, just a short walk down onto the main Lassi strip. The apartments were very well run, with George the manager very welcoming, helpful and a real asset to the resort. We didn't pay for air conditioning as the temperature was warm, but not insufferable, so leaving the windows open at night sufficed and the resort felt very safe so we had no qualms about doing so. We did however, rent the room's safe for a week, which cost 10 euros. All in all, a great stay for couples young and old, and families. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cephalonia hotels
4.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
116 reviews
4.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lassi
371 reviews
18.3 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberatos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberatos Village

Property: Liberatos Village
Address: Lassis, 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 140 Hotels in Cephalonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberatos Village 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Liberatos Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberatos Village Cephalonia
Liberatos Village Hotel Cephalonia
Liberatos Village Ionian Islands, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing