We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Astron now called CITY MARINA HOTEL CORFU”
Review of Hotel Astron

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Astron
Ranked #280 of 402 Hotels in Corfu
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great location in the old town. Close to shops, churches, restaurants and bars. Also close to the port. Rooms are average and vary significantly. We initially stayed in a poky room with a tiny bathroom on our first night but were relocated to a lovely bigger room on our second night.

My full review will be added to the City Marina listing on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelloSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with a group. The hotel is renovated under a new name (city marina), the reception room is excellent, but....My room was an old one, with the minimum equipment and the view was aplace with all the scrapp of the works! Breakfast very poor for such a hotel, only cold snacks, But the hotel is very well situated just in the old town.

Room Tip: Take only rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsterixThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Corfu is one of my favorite Greek islands and by the luck of the draw we ended up this time (mid October) in this substandard "thing". I never realised that the nation with the most warmest and friendly people also had these damn rude creatures amongst them. If at all you can avoid this place do so! Check carefully on which room you booked into, you may end up in the back yard with the view of a collapsing building a few metres away. Rather buy a fetta cheese pie for breakfast than paying 5 euro for a breakfast of egg, polony-sausage which is already off and white bread that came along for a couple of days. Search Trip Advisor, many tourists before me cautioned everybody about this hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a sea view over looking Mouse Island but take good advice. Do not even consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 97Ben97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Booked a room at Astron as part of our honeymoon “tour” via a local friend. We had clearly stated that this was a wedding trip and specifically asked for a nice room – even got a contact name of one of the hotel staff that we talked with several times to verify details, arrival etc. Upon arrival we were greeted by the afternoon receptionist who took her time to praise the room’s benefits like “old town view, A/C, TV, free WiFi etc”. Upon opening the door of our assigned room (no. 208) the dream fell apart: A maze-like corridor led to a small, dark and depressive room with two creaky old single beds wide apart, separated by a night stand (far from ideal for honeymooners!), the “view” consisted of a wall about 6 feet opposite the window and several A/C external units, bathroom had only a small corner shower with no curtain and no floor drainage (leading to a royal mess after even the quickest shower), TV was an old 14” set... My wife went down to complain to the receptionist, only to return with a statement that “nothing was noted about a honeymoon” and that “there were no available rooms at the moment”. When my turn came to pay her a visit and ask for her manager or at least our contact person, it was revealed that our “contact person” who knew but had “failed to note” about our honeymoon request and the receptionist were in fact the same person! After being uncovered of lying straight in our faces, she assured us that a better room with a double bed would be available on the next day and that it was already arranged for us to move there. As it was already evening on a high season with limited availability of hotel rooms in the town of Corfu, we decided to bear with this for a night.

Next morning, my wife was having her coffee in the lobby (as the breakfast area was packed) and overheard the morning-shift receptionist talking on the phone, most likely with a friend or regular customer, stating that “I’ve kept you the nice room, 310, but you have to hurry and check in as we have a lot of guests”. Then my wife told her that she overheard her and asked about the room we were scheduled to move in to, only to get a reply that there is no such move scheduled!! Furious at that point, she practically demanded the key to room 310 which was available (and possibly was even available the day before, as it was already made up at 10 in the morning), checked it and decided to move there. Wise choice, as it was indeed a whole different world: Way better beds (still two single ones but at least next to each other), more spacious and with much more light coming in through the window. Bathroom was big (and with a curtained bathtub), view was still “old town” but way more open and even the TV was a 32” LCD. The only thing that reminded us we were still at the same hotel was the annoying smoke detector they have on all room’s ceilings which had red lights blinking day and night, and the pricing catalog which showed that both these rooms, though vastly different in terms of amenities, were actually priced exactly the same!

No problems at all from then on for us, but during our five-nights’ stay we witnessed at least 4-5 other guests complaining about their rooms, so it was kind of a pattern there, plus one of them told us that they decided to upgrade to a better room by paying more. Apart from all these, at least it gets credit for the location as it is one of the most central hotels in Corfu. Breakfast was average, cleaning staff was OK though.

Bottom line: If you decide to stay in Astron, make sure you secure the room quality by any means possible as they greatly vary between them and be prepared to request a change of rooms, as the staff (and management, perhaps?) look like they don’t care much for the requests and quality service of guests. If I visit again, next time will certainly be on my own terms.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms looked generally better. Higher floors seem to have better views even to the old town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StefPapGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed here for four nights in June, the hotel room was nice as was the actual hotel. The problem with this place is the noise!!!!!! I have never stayed in a hotel with so much internal noise. Anytime some closed a door somewhere in the hotel a loud bang could be heard. Most nights you could hear constant bangs from doors till about three in the morning. Then there was the room above us, everytime someone moved about is was like someone banging the floor with a hammer. Had to resort to sleeping tablets in the end as it was that bad.
Also the breakfast was the worst one I have ever had in Greece. I think someone mentioned it in another review. There were two cereals to choose from, both must have been the cheapest ones they could buy because the taste was very average, the cake was no better.
The location was great but the stay was terrible, would not go back again even if it was free!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Massmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Hotels in Corfu town are expensive for what you get compared to the rest of the island and other parts of Greece. This is especially true if you are travelling independently and using public transport. Corfu is possible for both, but there are probably better islands if you are using buses / ferries / foot to get around, and looking at finding somewhere to stay on arrival.

In my rough guide from a couple of years ago, Hotel Astron is described as 'recently renovated'. Maybe the renovation was never finished, or it is being renovated again, but corridors are still waiting for their final painting, while in the bathroom there are holes still waiting fixtures.

That said, the room is comfortable; the shower has very good pressure; wifi works ok; and there is a nice view from the balcony. Negative things include some noise at night from the street if you leave your window open, and beds that could be more comfortable.

Our rate went down by 10 euros within minutes of asking room prices - 60 euro for a second floor sea facing room. I would guess this rate goes up in July and August. Note that this hotel does not appear to be on any booking websites, and no credit cards are accepted. The rate does not include breakfast - 5 euro extra per person if needed.

On the second floor, you have a 'shared balcony', although the balcony is partitioned for each room.On higher floors, there are individual balconies.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Great location, just near the main old streets. Clean and spacious room. Nothing to say on this. "But" points are : some staff members are not friendly, if you drink tea don't expect to find lemon (??) in the whole hotel. Room are curiosly designed. We had a double bed, but only one of us had light and bedside table. I had to put my glasses and watch on the floor. Modern Bathroom, but no places to hangs towels. breakfast is only bread, ham, cheese, an industrial cake and some jams. All these points can be easily improved and I hope they will do.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PijoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Konstantinoupolis Hotel
Konstantinoupolis Hotel
#125 of 402 in Corfu
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#169 of 402 in Corfu
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadion Hotel
Arcadion Hotel
#34 of 402 in Corfu
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavalieri Hotel Corfu
Cavalieri Hotel Corfu
#164 of 402 in Corfu
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Loula
Loula
#326 of 402 in Corfu
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Corfu Town
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astron

Address: 15 Donzelot, 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 402 Hotels in Corfu
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 299

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing