We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just do not book this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermes

Hotel Hermes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #274 of 415 Hotels in Corfu
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just do not book this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Of our whole European vacation this hotel had to be the absolute worst and disappointing place to stay. From the moment walking in to the enclosed reception the not so wonderful were smoking. Since we had already pre-booked the hotel and had no idea where to go we stayed. We were on the first floor. Walking into the room, looked pretty standard beds tv washroom. That being said this was the worst sleep EVER, the beds were HORRIBLE !!!! not only that the people at reception decided to smoke the entire night, and talk the entire nigh. Therefore the smell of smoke entered the room and we had to use the air condition just to rid of the smell a bit. Also the talking all night did not help with trying to get some sleep.
The following day in the am we spoke with the person I am assuming owner at reception about the smoke. Explained to them that because of a slight allergy sensitivity I was not able to smell that the entire night. They not only didn't care but they did not even try to help or change our room etc.

The area sketchy is all I can say.

What we actually did is we found a beautiful hotel in the old part of town and we checked out of the miserable Hermes and went to the Hotel Arcadion. The star rating difference was only from 2 to 3 star. The actual difference I cannot even explain to you as the service, the room, the breakfast absolutely everything was fantastic about the Hotel Arcadion.

Please take this as a warning and do not book this hotel or hostel (realistically) book elsewhere or you will be greatly disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Well located with comfortable & spacious rooms at a bargain for Corfu Town! Will return

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

A good find - very reasonably priced, clean and convenient for shopping, cafes, airport and strolling - will be staying there again en route to Athens in a couple of weeks

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazeyfantasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Corfu Town is extremely expensive and this hotel was the cheapest we found, providing decent location and private toilet. The room was nice and clean, service was generally friendly. The road is quiet in the morning but very noisy in the night, at leats until midnight. So far it seems to be the best option for a budget stay in Corfu Town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

We searched for quite a few hotels to stay in the night before we flew out from Corfu. All were either not particularly central (we were on public transport) or overpriced and corporate. This hotel, on a side street near Theodokis Square, was just the ticket. Quite small rooms, and noisy on the street front, but did the job and managed to barter down the price to include breakfast. Walked to the airport the next day (15 minutes, though huffing and puffing with large backpack...). Good find.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trampercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Have had trouble in the past trying to find a cheap hotel in Corfu Town but this one fitted the bill. The hotel has recently been renovated and it is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are large with great furniture and a large bathroom. There is free internet which was fabulous. It is not close to the beach but right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.3 mi away
Konstantinoupolis Hotel
Konstantinoupolis Hotel
#130 of 415 in Corfu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Hotel Corfu
Cavalieri Hotel Corfu
#158 of 415 in Corfu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalia Hotel
Dalia Hotel
#8 of 10 in Corfu Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#186 of 415 in Corfu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arcadion Hotel
Arcadion Hotel
#40 of 415 in Corfu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#5 of 8 in Messonghi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Property: Hotel Hermes
Address: 12-14 Markora Gerassimou, 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 415 Hotels in Corfu
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing