We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good friendly service but poor food ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikolas Traditional Taverna

Nikolas Traditional Taverna
Ranked #72 of 1,184 Restaurants in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good friendly service but poor food ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Of the three taverna in Agni Bay this is the poorest. It's also the cheapest and the one you can often get a table at when the other two are full. Service is friendly but the food is very poor indeed.

Helpful?
2 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    67
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed next door at Olga's Cottage and dined four times here during our 7 day stay. The food is authentic Greek cuisine and the Greek night on Thursday was great fun, not as touristy as I expected. Superb bazouki player and generally very entertaining. We kept going back as we wanted to try so many things on the menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We prebooked the Greek evening by email before arriving in Corfu. This was a fantastic decision as we felt we were VIP,s as we were escorted through a very busy restaurant to the front table overlooking the sea. The food was excellent..an appetiser plate plus tsatsiki,fresh bread then Greek salad followed by a large plate of roast chicken and lamb..with chips but they do have to cater for a lot of guests..the wine is drinkable and free flowing along with bottled water , then to finish the evening you are served cake...all this including a boat to collect you for 25 EU. It,s amazing value!
The singer and dancers are excellent but the star of the evening is the owner Perikles and his son Nikolas. The passion they have for their family and restaurant is truely touching and very genuine. This is not a tacky night out but more like an invite to a family party.
We returned for our last night on a Sunday and from being picked up from Kalami to arriving on the jetty were treat like old friends. The food was excellent as was the service again. This may not be the most upmarket of restaurants in Agni but it is the personal touch given by Perikles and staff that will make you want to keep on returning...and of course the wonderful home cooked food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AliDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from a holiday staying at Olga cottage which is next to Nikolas Taverna. We visited the taverna on a number of occasions and absolutely loved it. The staff were so friendly and served good traditional Greek food. We visited their weekly Greek night and had a fantastic time, it was great value and the atmopshere was fabulous. A must place to visit when you are at Agni bay and we will definitely return next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaSimon4025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greek night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went to nikolas restaurant twice food on first night very good, thought we'd try the Greek night on a Thursday entertainment very good food very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrywalker186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nikolas Traditional Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Nikolas Traditional Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing