We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fish taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Taverna Roula

Fish Taverna Roula
Ranked #736 of 1,190 Restaurants in Corfu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fish taverna”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a diner at Roula, and it was quite good, The fish was fresh, but the choice wasn't outstanding: common fish you can find on the island. Octopus on grill was ok, squids were fresh, nicely fried and deserve a try. Fries and side salad no charm at all. House wine not the best I tried, while bottled was quite expensive.
The prices are middle-range: fish 12 euros, squids and octopus 13 euros each, house wine 10 euros per litre.
The waiter was polite and understanding, offered to go to the kitchen to choose the fish. Views very nice. Cards are accepted.
I suggest to arrive early because then you don't have to wait and there is still no smell of fried fish near the kitchen doors.
Overall, if you're looking for a place to try fresh fish, go out of the main roads to check Roula out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Severe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    22
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Freshly Prepared Meals”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very good service! excellent freshly prepared meals! Looking forward to going back. We had dinner every evening at this restaurant. We are mega fish and vegetable lovers so this was the obvious choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice fish taverna”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This place is renowned among locals (and greeks in general) for serving premium quality fresh fish and sea food. It's good reputation goes several years back in time. However, for some reason it doesn't seem to be very popular in the tripadvisor community.

I paid it a visit a few days ago and I was pleasantly surprised, although I was negatively preoccupied, due to the reviews.

I reserved specific fish over the phone (type and weight). And guess what ... they had indeed reserved a nice table with excellent sea view and the fish I asked for, exactly as described.
I was also offered a sufficient variety of alternative types and sizes to choose from. The fish we picked was weighted in our presence.

The location of the restaurant is excellent (at least it looks very nice in the evening). Beware: the restaurant is very hard to find. You should ask for detailed instructions in advance.

The staff was polite and helpful. However, the overall service was indeed lacking professional coordination. As a result, we were served french fries before the salad, and we experienced an unpleasant delay between the starters and the fish. This didn't really spoil our mood, since we were on holidays. Nevertheless, the kids were annoyed and became a bit restless.

The seabream and the gilthead were fresh and nicely cooked.
The fish soup was delicious and rather cheap.
We were offered a free plate of fresh fruit at the end of the dinner.

The price of 60E per kgr for fresh fish is a fair "market" price for a sea-side restaurant, on a premium location during high season. Provided of course, that the fish is indeed fresh and properly weighted, which (shame) is unfortunately NOT common practice in all restaurants.

Overall, a very nice experience.
Recommended for fresh fish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greekgantua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is the place for fresh fish...”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a lovely evening at Roula's...very nice wait staff with smiling faces. We had delicious sea bass (lavraki) prepared simply with lemon and olive oil. It was delicious.... You must enjoy picking out your own fish and having it served whole/filleted at the table to appreciate the experience.
Greek salad and the fruit plate were both fresh and tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBK552001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“For good fresh fish”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Have visited the restaurant several times. Service is ok and the food is good although a little expensive. Now as for the fresh fish, if you are fish lover and enjoy fresh grilled fish (like i do) then i highly recommend it. I recommend doing like we do, ordering only a salad, some boiled wild grass and fresh fish. We usually have some ouzo or white house with our meal. If you do what we do and you like fish, then it will be one of the best dinners you've had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Chri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Taverna Roula also viewed

Corfu, Ionian Islands
 
Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Fish Taverna Roula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing