We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feral cats” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Taverna Roula

Fish Taverna Roula
Ranked #698 of 1,184 Restaurants in Corfu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feral cats”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

While this restaurant looked promising when we walked past it during the day we were horrified to find it over run with mangy cats when we went for dinner ,which the staff did not bother to even chase away. We were given a very limited menu and not told that there was fresh fish available in the chill cabinet. Not a single member of staff even came to the table to ask if we were ok and nobody seemed to care that we all left most of our food. Glad it was the only bad experience all the time were in Corfu. Shame on them

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrosshavenCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    49
    22
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

If we hadn't followed another couple from our hotel we would have missed this treasure. Fabulous food at very cheap prices. We had the prawns and mussels. Which were amazing.
Bit odd that our main came before we finished our starter but that's a small price to pay and actually all went together very well.
It was also lovely to sit at the next table to the couple we followed and ended up chatting to for ages. A great evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location, acceptable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Visited this restaurant while staying at the Kontokali Bay hotel as it is quite close by and was recommended.

I should say that we are not big seafood lovers, we are of the opinion that it is ok as a change from meat and veggies, so the appeal of a dedicated fish restaurant is somewhat lost on us.

The restaurant is tucked away down some lanes, not too easy to find. Head towards the Kontokali Bay hotel and keep left. It looks great when you approach it at evening, very inviting.

The menu looks extensive, but see above. The staff were very friendly, although the service was rather haphazard, drinks took a while to arrive and our starter turned up after our main course. We were given a melon selection on the house for dessert which was a nice touch.

The setting is beautiful with a view over the marina. The ceiling to floor windows can be opened giving a good open air feeling, this is particularly good as the smoking ban in restaurants does not seem to apply.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fish taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a diner at Roula, and it was quite good, The fish was fresh, but the choice wasn't outstanding: common fish you can find on the island. Octopus on grill was ok, squids were fresh, nicely fried and deserve a try. Fries and side salad no charm at all. House wine not the best I tried, while bottled was quite expensive.
The prices are middle-range: fish 12 euros, squids and octopus 13 euros each, house wine 10 euros per litre.
The waiter was polite and understanding, offered to go to the kitchen to choose the fish. Views very nice. Cards are accepted.
I suggest to arrive early because then you don't have to wait and there is still no smell of fried fish near the kitchen doors.
Overall, if you're looking for a place to try fresh fish, go out of the main roads to check Roula out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Severe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Freshly Prepared Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very good service! excellent freshly prepared meals! Looking forward to going back. We had dinner every evening at this restaurant. We are mega fish and vegetable lovers so this was the obvious choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Taverna Roula also viewed

Corfu, Ionian Islands
 
Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Fish Taverna Roula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing