We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantasic hotel - not for older couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf
Ranked #18 of 403 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 week from 6th MAY 2011. booked through Thomson who have now taken over this hotel as the Louis Family Resort. We booked it as got it at a great price and because we did, were able to upgrade the room to sea view.

Ok lets stat with negatives (not many) the main pool is not very big, not how it appears on the pictures. The beach is not much of a beach, but having read reviews on here before we booked, we were fully aware of this, and more pool people anyway. Saying that, we spent most of out time on sunbeds that were on the garden, in between the childrens pool and the big pool. Gardens were very big, impressive and well kept.

Positives - The food was brill, im a veggie and every night they had a lovely veggie option on, and also a sign on the other foods which told me if it was veggie or not. Also a kids section which was normally fish fingers/chips/sausage/pasta. Breaky was good same as in most hotels, beans scrambled eggs, bacon mushrooms tomatoes fresh omlettes and fried eggs and pancakes made. Cereal and yoghurt. Only problem with it was the fact there was only 1 toaster, and you had to put the bread through twice, hence long ques. Lunch was served at the pool bar and consisted of salad, very nice pizza, pasta, potatoes, meat, spag bol... etc

The kids entertainment team were FANTASTIC i dont think they could have done anymore. Our little girl was a bit too young to join in a lot of things, and we decided not to put her in the creche however many other parents did. The older kid 4+ seemed to love the kids clubs, there was plenty going on for them! There was a quiz by the pool bar everyday, music played, water aerobics and vollyball, but it was never too in your face and you were in no way pressured to join in.

Evening entertainment, the kids reps were great and work really hard, mini disco for the kids for an hour, ok the entertainmeny after the kids club was not fantasic but it was ok!

All inclusive was good, local wine and beer on tap along with the soft drinks so you could just help yourself. Nice list of cocktails and local spirits.

We did notice a few people moaning about the fact there was nothing to do and the hotel was in the middle of nowhere. Well we walked into Corfu town on 2 days, its about a 45min walk. Again having done our research we knew we would not step outside the hotel and in to pubs/bars/shops. There is a supermarket across the road though. Also a bus stop right outside the hotel. Also heard people moaning about how the hotel was over-ran with kids - well its a family oriantated hotel, its basically there for familys with young kids, not older couples. People shoud book adult only if they are going to moan about the children!!

Please contact me if you require any further info on this hotel. I would highly recommend it IF you have children, plenty for them to do, with the added bonus of good food/drinks/friendly Thomson reps. Also fantasic view of the mountains and harbour in the distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TopDogRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel 2nd May to 9th May 2011. We were one of the first guests to use the hotel under the name of THOMSON.
Only a 15 minute coach trip from the airport which is good when you have kids.
First impressions were that the hotel was very clean and nice, which you would expect when the hotel has just been taken on by Thomson.
After a walk round it was clear they had not totally finished all of the refurbishments i.e one of the childrens areas was not completed. swings and slides were still under construction, they were finished towards the end of the holiday so not a mega problem.
As the week went on more and more guests arrived and it was clear that the swimming pool is too small (not like the pictures). Also the area round the pool does not have enough space for enough sunbeds...no where near enough. Usually you would use the beach....please bear in mind there is no beach...well there is but it is the smallest beach I have ever seen. I think it had about ten beds on it and you would not fit any more.
When it comes to the evening entertainment, it was ok but let down by the size of lobby/lounge area. There are not enough seats for the number of guests.people were having to stand around, including familes. If you had a seat you were lucky. When you left the seat there were a queue of people waiting to take it.
The childrens facilities were excellent. The creche and the thomson kids staff were brilliant, couldnt ask for anymore from them.
The food was fresh and tasty but there was not a large variety of food to have. There was a lot of chicken and pork. A little let down by the food for a 4 star hotel. The childrens selection again was poor. For example the childrens food only had 4 to five trays to choose from and that is every night of the week. Again a little disapointing for a 4 star hotel.
A lot of negatives but I just felt it was not a 4 star hotel when comparing it to previous holidays. I would give it a 3 star.

Room Tip: sea view would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TickleGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Hotel is stunning, it is huge and immaculate inside and out. Rooms are of a good size and ours was on the ground floor which meant we had a patio area which looked out onto the harbour of Corfu town.

The main pool was clean although could do with being extended as rather small but the beautiful gardens make up for it and there are always plenty of loungers. The beach was small but it was very clean.

The all inclusive drinks were good, it was self service for soft drinks and beer which was nice also good choice of cocktails at night.

The quality of the food was good but repetitive but we did stay for two weeks and there was always plenty of choice.

We didn't really watch much of the evening entertainment but what we did see was good and there were always members of the animation team doing different activities all day.
There are a lot of Germans at this hotel!!
We actually walked into Corfu Town which took us about 40 minutes but we wouldn't recommend this.

We hired a car for four days whilst there and out of all of the hotels on the island we thought that the Kerkyra Golf looked the best. All in all we had a great time here and if we ever went back to Corfu we would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank loulou4220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

hotel was good sea was freezing and the swimming pool was freezing and the weather was poor the first 2 days raining the rest of them was quite hot and the last day it rain we got kick out the rooms in the hotel at 12 clock and we at to wait around for 10 hours out side in the rain the food was allright they had lots of meat and fish stuff theres not much to do when your there if you want a quite holiday then go here but if you want to do lots of things go on boats jet skis zoo ect the water park was good but really small theres not many bars and things theres a mc donalds and i dont no if theyre got a kfc but it was boring because theres note to do we was doing same stuff everyday because theres note to do i would not go back there again the hotel was great but town was poor its boring :(

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BR4ND0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This year we spent Easter holidays - and a couple of days more - in fascinating Kerkyra, staying at Louis Kerkyra Golf, on all inclusive. Everything was perfect - our room and bathroom spacious, comfortable and clean, food delicious, gardens and pool area beautiful and well kept. But most of all, I would like to express my gratitude to the hotel staff - all of them - for their hospitality and kindness. During the Easter weekend, the hotel was overcrowded with people and the staff obviously worked very hard making their best to fulfill the wishes of the guests - always with a smile and a kind word. Although I expected proffesional treatment, I was really pleasantly surprised by their descrete friendliness and care.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greekface2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

please think twice before staying here... we went 1st oct 2010, family with 2 young boys, 3 and 6. might i add these were the only children in this so called family hotel! nothing for them to do at all no kids club no evening mini disco not kids food or drinks. hotel full of old germen people who like to glare at you and pull faces. room,supposedly newlr refurbed.... with white fluffly mould?? and loose titles?? food horrible gave us all bad stomaches for almost the full 2 week stay! hotel grounds ok towards the pool but the front driveway to the hotell very shabby, with a disused ww2 arsenal (this apparently wasthe golf area!) as my husband described it as! to leave the hell hole of a hotel you had to cross a busy dual carraigeway with no crossing points.... not such a good idea with 2 young children! my poor children couldnt wait to come back home! NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN is all i can say.

might i add that once we got there we were told it is the last 2 weeks of season and from 2011 it was to be a louis hotel! that would explain the state of the place and the lack of urgency to help with anything from the staff.

the day we left i got talking to another woman who told me she had just paid £300 for new flights home with us as she could not stay there any longer... this poor lady was fed up and she only had 2 more days left! she commented on how well behaved the kids had been seeing as there was nothing for them to do! she said she'd watched us for the last 2 weeks and felt every inch of pain we did!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Very good location only 2klm from town. Wonderful view and too much space all over the hotel. The food was good. The staff very very helpful and very polite. Nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: 3rd (320-325) or 4rth (420-425) floor front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank evdomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
2.7 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
9.0 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,435 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf

Address: | Alykes Potamou, 49100, Greece (Formerly Louis Kerkyra Golf)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corfu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Corfu
Price Range: £42 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-kept holiday complex lies directly on the gently-sloping, sandy beach, 3km to Corfu town. Comfortable, elegant, cozy. 95 Hectares of wonderful gardens. Ideal for families and sports lovers. All inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your TUI FAMILY LIFE Kerkyra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Kerkyra Golf Hotel Corfu
Iberostar Kerkyra Hotel
Iberostar Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing