We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time but definately not the last”
Review of Athina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athina
Ranked #62 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had been recommended the Hotel Athina by my sister who has been there 4 times and was getting married on the beach there this year. They had raved about this hotel and we were not disappointed. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hotel was clean at all times. Rooms were spacious as there were 3 adults in the room. As for the wedding this was the first one the hotel had done and they went all out to make this a special day for my sister and her husband.
The pool is large and this is clean and and tidy around the area. The beach is at the end of the pool area with sunbeds that you can hire on a daily basis. All beds are in good condition.
There is a fantastic view from the top of the hill if you don't mind climbing but definately worth doing and you can get a drink at the top from the pub that is there. There are lots of bars doing tribute nights and worth a visit to one or two, there are so many places to eat if you did not want to eat in the hotel restaurant and all these have fantastic offers for a 3 course meal.
If you want to be adventurous and tour the island then there are places you can hire a car/quad bikes, dune buggies or if you are feeling energetic then there are also bicycles. You can hire these locally and all are quite reasonable.
We cannot wait to go back next year. Already booked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 65Tracy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel were amazing they put on our wedding this year, which was absolutely awesome, they went above and beyond making sure our whole day was special. Anything we asked for we had and more. The whole stay was fantastic. Everyone was talking about it for days.
This is our fourth visit to the Athina and we will go back, the staff are so friendly and always polite, and will do anything to make your stay the best. It is situated on the beach where the sun beds are well looked after, cleaned every day, the seaweed if any is removed so the beach is clean. The food in the hotel is good, there is a different choice offered each evening. But if you want to eat out there are some nice places to eat, I would recommend Zorbas and the beachcomber bistro. Everyone in San Stefanos are friendly. I would def say come and try it. There are some awesome views to be seen if you don't mind walking, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ashmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Firstly this is a hotel I would go back to but there are a few things which need addressing. pillows are too hard, beds have plastic covers which are sweaty, food in dining room is not good in terms of combinations. Food at the terrace bar conversely was excellent. I also don't always have a cooked breakfast but do object to having to pay for it although it was a proper british breakfast.
The maid was meticulous and the linen spotless. Hotel is dated but this is often the case. We had a seaview over the kitchen and the room was hot and again the air con is off at times and you do pay extra for it which wen have never had to do so before.
Waiters, reception, bar staff and maids all work well and are so hospitable, many top notch hotels could learn something from them.
we never paid for our sunbeds as we were not asked to when we said we were staying at the hotel. pool is excellent. Quiet was lovely no endless disco. A haven for oldies but there were a number of well behaved children. What is that beige building, is it as someone said a c hicken coop, it spoils the view

Room Tip: Sea views are hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A jolly hotel, neither too big nor small. Sunsets for the romantically inclined and generally a quiet and relaxing environment. Food pretty basic but good and offers Greek dishes to try most nights. A few extras to pay for which shouldn't catch out the thorough researcher. Beds are hard but after a good meal and a few cocktails who's caring?

Staff right through are attentive and caring, all things are attended to speedily and courteously, some of our UK establishments could learn a lesson or two.

A good place to go for adults or grown kids, not really one for youngsters though they would no doubt be welcomed. Excellent beach and shallow welcoming sea.

Would we recommend? Already have!

Room Tip: try a higher floor doesn't really matter whether facing beach or inland. 302 we believe is a fav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeremyGaltress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Myself and my partner had the most amazing week in this hotel from the 5th Aug to the 12th Aug 2013, out only regret is that we didnt book for two weeks! What a splendid hotel, the staff were so friendly (George = brilliant) and made us feel like old friends and the hotel was immaculate in every way, the food was good and the views from the room we had at the back of the hotel was stunning as you can see from the pics. The sunset did not disappoint and has a very significant meaning for us as my partner proposed to me as it was going down, the most romantic place I could ever imagine, we will most definately be coming back for our honeymoon in 2014. San Stefanos itself is just magical but this hotels location is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have amazing views across the pool, sea and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineR6405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

we were in san stefanos last year in the thomas bay hotel which we found ok but knew we were coming back to get married this year because we loved san stefanos so much.we decided to have a reception at the athina hotel with olga and george arranging it for us, they were fantastic they set out tables for us ribbons flowing and flowers tied to champagne glasses they couldn't have done a better set for us we were very impressed. this is the way the staff at the athina are they are very helpful and very competent at what they do . you feel at home in this hotel as if you are a part of their family for two weeks and dont believe what they write about george the head waiter he is really a big softie and loves the children as do all the waiters and cooking staff.we will be booking the athina again for 2014 which is not normally the case with us we tend to go elsewhere but feel we want to go back ,this hotel is not super plush nor is it platinum standard but it is a lovely standard being very clean ,food ok but i am fussy ,staff superb, room overlooking the sea and pool lovely in the evening when the sun goes down. there was no entertainment at the hotel but plenty going on 50 metres away going into the village.all in all a very lovely and memorable holiday cant wait to go back , peter and bev june /july 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have just returned from this great hotel, 19th July- 2nd August. It has been or second visit and we were not disappointed. Olga had organised taxis to and from the airport which I would advise even if you have transfers included in your holiday package as it can take up to 3 hours by coach!!!
The staff were first class and could not do enough to help make our holiday the best. We celebrated our sons 18th Bday and what memories he will have thanks to the staff.
George, the head waitor is fantastic greets you every day in greek and enusures EVERYONE speaks a little Greek before the end of the holiday. His singing is good as well and ssures us he will dance for us next year!! Well done George.
The food is good and varied and the yoghurt with honey for breakfast is the best.
Rooms are very clean as is the hotel. The maids clean the rooms every day with a change of towels. There were five plug sockets in our room plus a fridge, tv and hairdryer. Air con is 35 euros per week payable direct to the hotel as is the safety deposit box ata 5 euros per week.
Make sure you do take a really good mosquito repellant and apply it before you go out in the evenings and take it with you.
The swimming pool is big and has enough sun beds for everyone. As in most pools in Greece people who do not stay in the hotel are able to use the pool.
Te Aquarias Taverna by the hotel is very nice and is run owned by an Englishman called Glen and his Greek wife. He is really freindly and can give you lots of advice about the area.
Pay a visit to the local bakery, the doughnuts are the best a are the spinach and fettea cheese pies
San Stef village is great. George and the the staff at El Greco bar are super, wonderful cocktails and if you want to eat out and be entertained with greek dancers, try the Little Prince Taverna you will not be disappointed.
Duty free gifts,go to Peli and Maria. Maria speaks perfect English and has the best selection of gifts and tobacco, cigars I have never heard of!
Our holiday was great and we have booked again for two weeks next August to stay at the Athina of course.

Room Tip: Room 305 first floor wonderful views worth paying the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LUKAS186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
363 reviews
17.6 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 11 in Corfu Town
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
268 reviews
8.3 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#1 of 16 in Roda
657 reviews
22.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina

Address: | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Athina Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing