We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restful Holiday”
Review of Athina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athina
Ranked #85 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Restful Holiday”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Aghios Stefanos is tucked away on the scenic North West coast of Corfu. The roads are narrow and potholed so it is off the beaten track. It is advisable to book a taxi through Olga at the Athina Hotel as the transfer by coach is up to 3 hours and Corfu airport is small, busy and overcrowded. Be prepared to be waiting in a queue outside the airport in heat during the Summer months!. We found that the Hotel was absolutely brilliant for us as the meals were good, the swimming pool was excellent, the facilities were fine for the price and the staff were absolutely delightful and could not be more helpful. Don't forget to tip as they all deserve it. We have previously stayed elsewhere in Aghios Stefanos but will definitely use Hotel Athina again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. We have stayed elsewhere in San Stefanos but this is our favourite place to stay. All the staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The pool area is great and there is no rush for sun loungers in the morning. We had a sea view room and the view was fantastic. Breakfast is continental but they do offer you fried or scrambled egg for free. Obviously if you wish bacon or full English breakfast you pay. The Athina is very clean and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day. You feel very relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. The beds and pillows are hard and some things need updating but this does not detract from the overall ambience of the Athina. We have already booked for next year and see ourselves continually going there for many more years.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are my favourite. It only costs a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

An excellently run family hotel with all staff very professional and helpful at all times. Extremely welcoming and all the staff can speak very good English. We had diend at the hotel for lunch for most of our visit last year and it was anobvious choice for the two of us when booking for this year. It did not disappoint in anyway at all.

The location is fantastic, right on the beach edge for those who wish to be by the sea or there are sun-beds and parasols around the pool for residents free of charge. San Stefanos is a small resort, exceptionally good for just relaxing, enjoying and recharging your batteries. Having been to this resort last year there were several other people returning again for many years and we will be one of them. The sea slopes gently for a long way and is safe for many standards of swimmers.

Each evening the sunsets over the islands just off the coast and they are amazing, not one evening the same, do not forget your camera/camcorder or gadget. If feeling energetic, walk up the hill towards Arillas in the morning and you can view the sunrise as well and see the contrasts.

The food is what it says on the brochure, with a variety of Greek cuisine for the evenings. The breakfast is similar to other hotels in the resort, but you can have additional items for a small fee. Lunch was excellent too with a large variety of snack or main meal choices. If on B&B, there are numerous dining experiences to be had, Waves on the beach front is exceptionally good for seafood in the evening and has been in situ since 1970. The hotel also provides sandwiches etc for walks, journey home are available also.

The hotel does not overbear you with entertainment each night, like some of the other establishments; they allow you to go out and see what is on offer or just relax in the hotel itself. There is one club which does some louder music to the early hours, but it doesn't really disturb the hotel. Just outside the hotel is a bar run by Glen, a Sheffield lad and he and his wife will ensure a warm welcome.

The rooms are very good indeed, plenty of room, balcony, and good views, even if not a seaview. Air conditioning was extra, but you are aware of this if having been before (as is the case in most hotels) but it has 3 settings, so even if a light sleeper, it does help you immensely. Rooms are cleaned daily to high standards.

A real must for either the hotel or resort for those just wishing to relax and enjoy the sun, absolutely fantastic. If we cannot complete our cruise next year dueto dates/work commitments, then Hotel Athina is a must, for more enjoyment, relaxing and thoroughly recharging of the batteries.

Room Tip: All rooms have some good views. Seaviews would be the quieter ones, but remember it is only 44 bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyb274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned today from a great holiday staying at the Hotel Athena. Firstly, this is a 2 star hotel officially (Thomson 3T) but don't let you put you off if you prefer the more luxurious hotels. I believe this is a Thomson only hotel so most if not all the guests are British and all the staff speak excellent English.

First impressions were not perfect, we arrived very early morning, the beds were rock hard and the bathroom light was not the brightest. I did complain to reception the next day, and they got the maid to give us some mattress toppers, which made the bed 100% better. I'm told hard beds are the norm in Greece, so guess its normal. Fresh towels daily, very clean rooms, but shower door didn't close properly so floor got very wet.
The hotel is about 11 years old and its starting to look a bit dated, but it still has a nice feel to it, and our room had a new small LED TV which I know not all rooms had. Just think old wooden wardrobes and dressers, but well used and homely. No bells and whistles.
The hotel is family run, with several staff working there - George junior on reception, and the younger daughter and brother working in the restaurant.

Regarding the restaurant, we had half board from Thomson, so breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was ok, but not the usual buffet style. Toast, orange squash and tea or coffee come as standard, with one extra choice free, such as yogurt, pancakes or cornflakes. Avoid cereal as milk is lukewarm. Can purchase eggs, bacon or extras for a small fee. For dinner there was a choice of 4 starters, mains, and desserts, with the menu changing every day (probably rotating every week?). We had things like mousakka, souvlaki, pork, chicken, salads, chocolate gateaux and banana, chocolate ice cream. I did not think the food was great, and bit basic and bland, but some other guests thought it was great, including my partner, who thought the food was hearty, filling and lots of it! Bare in mind its a 2star hotel.
We only ate in the hotel for a few nights, and the other evenings we tried a selection of the local tavernas. There is a good selection of about 20 places to eat within 5 minutes walk, with a few offering the traditional Greek dancing including Little Prince and Zorba's, which I would both recommend for entertainment and very tasty Greek cuisine!

The hotel restaurant offered fantastic sunset views and views over the pool and sea. Note that if you head right along the beach, there is an un sign posted nudist beach, which we saw many holiday makers double back from!

The pool is great, possibly the largest for a hotel on the island, and it was kept clean and tidy.
There is a snack bar at the pool which is handy, selling things like slush puppies, beers, hot toasted rolls and ice cream. The pool sunbeds and umbrellas are free for residents but chargeable for other people who visit the pool, which is normal for Greece. There were plenty of sunbeds available (early September).

The location of the hotel is perfect, situated right on the beach, but away from the main 'strip'. This means you don't have all the immediate noise from the restaurants and bars, but are only 100-200metres away from it all.

The hotel has a nice bar, which is open until about 1am, with the barman Spiros providing great conversation and a great selection of drinks and cocktails. Never really over 10 people around the bar or lounge, but all guests were very welcoming and we socialised with holidayers on many evenings there. Most guests we talked with had visited the Athena hotel many times before- and we could see why. Extremely friendly, welcoming atmosphere is something we miss already!

We visited the first week after the school holidays and the guests comprised of 3 young couples (including us), and the rest mostly being couples of between the ages of 45-70. This means its not the liveliest place, but this was perfect for us, and everyone was very friendly and up for a good chat.

We stayed in room 321, which was at the front of the hotel, but to the side slightly. We didn't get the extra aircon for 30euros for the week, as the room was too hot, due to the sun only facing it in the morning. The corridors also had a very lovely smelling pina colada air freshener!

The hotel provides WiFi in the reception and restaurant areas, as well as the pool, for 1euro per day, or 5euro for six days which is ok value. If you want free WiFi, all the restaurants in the village provide this if you ask for the password when you dine there. There is also a communal book shelf, where guests take and leave a selection of magazines and books for all to use. There is a gym, which you could use for about 10-15 euros, but why do that when you could hit the amazing pool or run around the lovely town?

The village of San (Agios) Stefanos is great, with all the tavernas, several supermarkets, and bars within very short walking distance of the hotel. There are also two ATM's nearby and car hire and travel places locally. Nice jewellery and pottery shops too, along with a local brewery, which is one of the trips you can take through Thompson.

All the staff genuinely enjoy getting to know their guests- even an older guy called George, who is a waiter there, can soften up if you catch him off duty! He is a very nice man-not grumpy we found as some reviews say-just very abrupt, with a deep voice and want that you learn and talk in Greek as much as you can! He repeats what you say in English, into Greek a lot! You'll warm to him.

Would we go back? Yes we certainly would. And I would of given this 4 and half stars if there was an option.

Room Tip: Higher rooms provide better view. Front rooms are cooler in the day if you don't have air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DanGB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had been recommended the Hotel Athina by my sister who has been there 4 times and was getting married on the beach there this year. They had raved about this hotel and we were not disappointed. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hotel was clean at all times. Rooms were spacious as there were 3 adults in the room. As for the wedding this was the first one the hotel had done and they went all out to make this a special day for my sister and her husband.
The pool is large and this is clean and and tidy around the area. The beach is at the end of the pool area with sunbeds that you can hire on a daily basis. All beds are in good condition.
There is a fantastic view from the top of the hill if you don't mind climbing but definately worth doing and you can get a drink at the top from the pub that is there. There are lots of bars doing tribute nights and worth a visit to one or two, there are so many places to eat if you did not want to eat in the hotel restaurant and all these have fantastic offers for a 3 course meal.
If you want to be adventurous and tour the island then there are places you can hire a car/quad bikes, dune buggies or if you are feeling energetic then there are also bicycles. You can hire these locally and all are quite reasonable.
We cannot wait to go back next year. Already booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 65Tracy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel were amazing they put on our wedding this year, which was absolutely awesome, they went above and beyond making sure our whole day was special. Anything we asked for we had and more. The whole stay was fantastic. Everyone was talking about it for days.
This is our fourth visit to the Athina and we will go back, the staff are so friendly and always polite, and will do anything to make your stay the best. It is situated on the beach where the sun beds are well looked after, cleaned every day, the seaweed if any is removed so the beach is clean. The food in the hotel is good, there is a different choice offered each evening. But if you want to eat out there are some nice places to eat, I would recommend Zorbas and the beachcomber bistro. Everyone in San Stefanos are friendly. I would def say come and try it. There are some awesome views to be seen if you don't mind walking, but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Firstly this is a hotel I would go back to but there are a few things which need addressing. pillows are too hard, beds have plastic covers which are sweaty, food in dining room is not good in terms of combinations. Food at the terrace bar conversely was excellent. I also don't always have a cooked breakfast but do object to having to pay for it although it was a proper british breakfast.
The maid was meticulous and the linen spotless. Hotel is dated but this is often the case. We had a seaview over the kitchen and the room was hot and again the air con is off at times and you do pay extra for it which wen have never had to do so before.
Waiters, reception, bar staff and maids all work well and are so hospitable, many top notch hotels could learn something from them.
we never paid for our sunbeds as we were not asked to when we said we were staying at the hotel. pool is excellent. Quiet was lovely no endless disco. A haven for oldies but there were a number of well behaved children. What is that beige building, is it as someone said a c hicken coop, it spoils the view

Room Tip: Sea views are hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pictures Suites
Pictures Suites
#4 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Perros Hotel
Perros Hotel
#3 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terezas Hotel
Terezas Hotel
#1 of 13 in Agios Stefanos
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina

Property: Athina
Address: | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Corfu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Athina Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing