We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Athina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athina
Ranked #63 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our first holiday in six years and without the children so as you can imagine, we were looking forward to it. We were impressed with the staff and the hotel as they could not do enough for you. The rooms were very clean but beds a bit to hard. I spoke to the Thomson rep about this and Bethan who was looking after us made sure we had a mattress topper and an extra pillow put on the beds. All the staff were very helpful and poor Spiros behind the bar stayed until we all went to bed as there were a few of us who were night owls. I have to say that some people who have wrote reviews about the waiter staff were a little unfair as poor George has had a lot of criticism concerning his abruptness. This is not a personal attack on any individual but just his Greek mannerism as he is a pussycat once you get to know how to take his humour. Try speaking a little Greek to him. He will love it. On the whole a good hotel very clean, fab location but no evening entertainment so we had to go to the Thomas Bay for that. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Movetopembs2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hi,

My boyfriend booked a week here for my birthday, half board. He cycles a lot during the day and I go running. The food is not buffet - it is waiter service, and the portions are very small. You have to pay extra for cooked breakfast in the morning, and for things like ice cream for pudding! If you have a big appetite like us you will end up spending a lot more on snacks and drinks during the day! Also, I'm a vegetarian and there wasn't a lot of choice. In fact you would struggle to get your 5 a day fruit / veg on half board menus. The waiters were friendly except George who was abrupt and rude. Maybe he doesn't like vegetarians.

The hotel is clean but needs a bit of modernising.

The pool was clean and nice.

The beach was very nice especially the nudist bit at the end. Lol.



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanaLowri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My friend and I enjoyed a very relaxing week at the hotel. I had read the other comments about food, but was prepared to be open minded. The food was ok if you liked most things with chips! Not many local dishes on the menu. At least twice we were unable to have the meal we wanted as there was none of our choice left. The room was quite spacious, in need of some tlc, and definitely in need of a new carpet. The room was cleaned and there were clean towels every day. The food from the snack bar by the pool was good. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
Would we go again? Possibly, but only if we could go bed and breakfast.

Transfers didn't take as long as we expected, and the journey was interesting to say the least!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Aghios Stefanos is tucked away on the scenic North West coast of Corfu. The roads are narrow and potholed so it is off the beaten track. It is advisable to book a taxi through Olga at the Athina Hotel as the transfer by coach is up to 3 hours and Corfu airport is small, busy and overcrowded. Be prepared to be waiting in a queue outside the airport in heat during the Summer months!. We found that the Hotel was absolutely brilliant for us as the meals were good, the swimming pool was excellent, the facilities were fine for the price and the staff were absolutely delightful and could not be more helpful. Don't forget to tip as they all deserve it. We have previously stayed elsewhere in Aghios Stefanos but will definitely use Hotel Athina again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. We have stayed elsewhere in San Stefanos but this is our favourite place to stay. All the staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The pool area is great and there is no rush for sun loungers in the morning. We had a sea view room and the view was fantastic. Breakfast is continental but they do offer you fried or scrambled egg for free. Obviously if you wish bacon or full English breakfast you pay. The Athina is very clean and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day. You feel very relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. The beds and pillows are hard and some things need updating but this does not detract from the overall ambience of the Athina. We have already booked for next year and see ourselves continually going there for many more years.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are my favourite. It only costs a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liza959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

An excellently run family hotel with all staff very professional and helpful at all times. Extremely welcoming and all the staff can speak very good English. We had diend at the hotel for lunch for most of our visit last year and it was anobvious choice for the two of us when booking for this year. It did not disappoint in anyway at all.

The location is fantastic, right on the beach edge for those who wish to be by the sea or there are sun-beds and parasols around the pool for residents free of charge. San Stefanos is a small resort, exceptionally good for just relaxing, enjoying and recharging your batteries. Having been to this resort last year there were several other people returning again for many years and we will be one of them. The sea slopes gently for a long way and is safe for many standards of swimmers.

Each evening the sunsets over the islands just off the coast and they are amazing, not one evening the same, do not forget your camera/camcorder or gadget. If feeling energetic, walk up the hill towards Arillas in the morning and you can view the sunrise as well and see the contrasts.

The food is what it says on the brochure, with a variety of Greek cuisine for the evenings. The breakfast is similar to other hotels in the resort, but you can have additional items for a small fee. Lunch was excellent too with a large variety of snack or main meal choices. If on B&B, there are numerous dining experiences to be had, Waves on the beach front is exceptionally good for seafood in the evening and has been in situ since 1970. The hotel also provides sandwiches etc for walks, journey home are available also.

The hotel does not overbear you with entertainment each night, like some of the other establishments; they allow you to go out and see what is on offer or just relax in the hotel itself. There is one club which does some louder music to the early hours, but it doesn't really disturb the hotel. Just outside the hotel is a bar run by Glen, a Sheffield lad and he and his wife will ensure a warm welcome.

The rooms are very good indeed, plenty of room, balcony, and good views, even if not a seaview. Air conditioning was extra, but you are aware of this if having been before (as is the case in most hotels) but it has 3 settings, so even if a light sleeper, it does help you immensely. Rooms are cleaned daily to high standards.

A real must for either the hotel or resort for those just wishing to relax and enjoy the sun, absolutely fantastic. If we cannot complete our cruise next year dueto dates/work commitments, then Hotel Athina is a must, for more enjoyment, relaxing and thoroughly recharging of the batteries.

Room Tip: All rooms have some good views. Seaviews would be the quieter ones, but remember it is only 44 bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonyb274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned today from a great holiday staying at the Hotel Athena. Firstly, this is a 2 star hotel officially (Thomson 3T) but don't let you put you off if you prefer the more luxurious hotels. I believe this is a Thomson only hotel so most if not all the guests are British and all the staff speak excellent English.

First impressions were not perfect, we arrived very early morning, the beds were rock hard and the bathroom light was not the brightest. I did complain to reception the next day, and they got the maid to give us some mattress toppers, which made the bed 100% better. I'm told hard beds are the norm in Greece, so guess its normal. Fresh towels daily, very clean rooms, but shower door didn't close properly so floor got very wet.
The hotel is about 11 years old and its starting to look a bit dated, but it still has a nice feel to it, and our room had a new small LED TV which I know not all rooms had. Just think old wooden wardrobes and dressers, but well used and homely. No bells and whistles.
The hotel is family run, with several staff working there - George junior on reception, and the younger daughter and brother working in the restaurant.

Regarding the restaurant, we had half board from Thomson, so breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was ok, but not the usual buffet style. Toast, orange squash and tea or coffee come as standard, with one extra choice free, such as yogurt, pancakes or cornflakes. Avoid cereal as milk is lukewarm. Can purchase eggs, bacon or extras for a small fee. For dinner there was a choice of 4 starters, mains, and desserts, with the menu changing every day (probably rotating every week?). We had things like mousakka, souvlaki, pork, chicken, salads, chocolate gateaux and banana, chocolate ice cream. I did not think the food was great, and bit basic and bland, but some other guests thought it was great, including my partner, who thought the food was hearty, filling and lots of it! Bare in mind its a 2star hotel.
We only ate in the hotel for a few nights, and the other evenings we tried a selection of the local tavernas. There is a good selection of about 20 places to eat within 5 minutes walk, with a few offering the traditional Greek dancing including Little Prince and Zorba's, which I would both recommend for entertainment and very tasty Greek cuisine!

The hotel restaurant offered fantastic sunset views and views over the pool and sea. Note that if you head right along the beach, there is an un sign posted nudist beach, which we saw many holiday makers double back from!

The pool is great, possibly the largest for a hotel on the island, and it was kept clean and tidy.
There is a snack bar at the pool which is handy, selling things like slush puppies, beers, hot toasted rolls and ice cream. The pool sunbeds and umbrellas are free for residents but chargeable for other people who visit the pool, which is normal for Greece. There were plenty of sunbeds available (early September).

The location of the hotel is perfect, situated right on the beach, but away from the main 'strip'. This means you don't have all the immediate noise from the restaurants and bars, but are only 100-200metres away from it all.

The hotel has a nice bar, which is open until about 1am, with the barman Spiros providing great conversation and a great selection of drinks and cocktails. Never really over 10 people around the bar or lounge, but all guests were very welcoming and we socialised with holidayers on many evenings there. Most guests we talked with had visited the Athena hotel many times before- and we could see why. Extremely friendly, welcoming atmosphere is something we miss already!

We visited the first week after the school holidays and the guests comprised of 3 young couples (including us), and the rest mostly being couples of between the ages of 45-70. This means its not the liveliest place, but this was perfect for us, and everyone was very friendly and up for a good chat.

We stayed in room 321, which was at the front of the hotel, but to the side slightly. We didn't get the extra aircon for 30euros for the week, as the room was too hot, due to the sun only facing it in the morning. The corridors also had a very lovely smelling pina colada air freshener!

The hotel provides WiFi in the reception and restaurant areas, as well as the pool, for 1euro per day, or 5euro for six days which is ok value. If you want free WiFi, all the restaurants in the village provide this if you ask for the password when you dine there. There is also a communal book shelf, where guests take and leave a selection of magazines and books for all to use. There is a gym, which you could use for about 10-15 euros, but why do that when you could hit the amazing pool or run around the lovely town?

The village of San (Agios) Stefanos is great, with all the tavernas, several supermarkets, and bars within very short walking distance of the hotel. There are also two ATM's nearby and car hire and travel places locally. Nice jewellery and pottery shops too, along with a local brewery, which is one of the trips you can take through Thompson.

All the staff genuinely enjoy getting to know their guests- even an older guy called George, who is a waiter there, can soften up if you catch him off duty! He is a very nice man-not grumpy we found as some reviews say-just very abrupt, with a deep voice and want that you learn and talk in Greek as much as you can! He repeats what you say in English, into Greek a lot! You'll warm to him.

Would we go back? Yes we certainly would. And I would of given this 4 and half stars if there was an option.

Room Tip: Higher rooms provide better view. Front rooms are cooler in the day if you don't have air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DanGB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
17.6 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 11 in Corfu Town
707 reviews
22.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
14 mi away
Aqualand Resort
Aqualand Resort
#1 of 4 in Agios Ioannis
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina

Address: | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Hotel Class:3 star — Athina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Athina Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing