We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Athina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athina
Ranked #82 of 417 Hotels in Corfu
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle-upon-tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I had a lovely holiday here in June 2014.

The hotel is in a great location, set back from the main street down a short road, with a beautiful pool and beach at the rear. The bars, restaurants and shops are only 100m away.

The hotel itself is 3* and as others have said, slightly dated, tired carpets etc, however kept immaculately clean. The restaurant, set on a terrace at the rear, overlooking the pool and bay is a fantastic spot to eat, with gorgeous sunsets in the evenings.

Meals are chosen from a menu, rather than buffet service, with reasonable choice on offer, perhaps a little lacking in imagination, but very tasty nonetheless. Vegetarian options are limited to one choice on the evening menu- not always great. My main course one evening was a plate of green beans with one potato, cooked in something tasting suspiciously like beef dripping! Other than that though, the food was nice.

There is a large bar area with seats, tables and a TV, and a pleasant terrace to sit out the front. There is no entertainment provided in this hotel, so it is quiet in the evenings, but not a problem with bars and restaurants 2 minutes walk away.

Bedrooms slightly basic, but kept clean and fresh towels every day. We wouldnt really expect much more in a 3* hotel.

The pool is fantastic, kept immaculately clean, lots of sun beds available so no having to get up early to put towels out.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

It became clear to us that many of the guests come year after year- we were told by the Thomson rep, that 70% of guests are people who are returning. Many therefore seemed to know each other, and didnt make much effort to be friendly, so we felt a little like outsiders at times. There weren't many young people, mostly couples in their 50s and 60s.

Overall, a really nice hotel, a fantastic location and very nice resort. we would go back to this resort, and possibly this hotel in the future.

Tips: 1. If you havent been here before, you may want to buy a guide book before you go, or else there are a few guidebooks for sale in reception. Thomsons don't bother providing the usual folder of resort and area information.

2. Dont bother purchasing any of the trips from Thomsons. They are overpriced. There are a couple of small travel agents in town who arrange many of the same trips out, for almost half the price.

3.We were bitten to death by midgies and mosquitos. Take a good jungle formula insect repellant.

4. The cafe/bar at the front of the hotel provides lovely sandwiches and lunches slightly cheaper than the hotel.

5. Our best day out was hiring a quad bike, driving down to Cape Drastis and a boat trip round the cliffs and then visiting the Canal D'Amour, following which we headed in the opposite direction to Arillas and Aghios Georgios, finishing up at a cafe high on the headland between the 2 resorts for a drink. Fantastic views!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ruthltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    72
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
110
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Korat Thailand and Swindon UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

What did I like:
1. fantastic location
2. Friendly staff... George and Yiannis in restaurant, George and Poppy in reception. You couldn't ask for better people.
3. Great pool and located right on the beach, never a problem getting a sunbed
4. Overall ambience of hotel was relaxed and friendly.
5. Breakfast was nice

What could improve
1. Our room was a bit basic, downstairs and felt like a dungeon, the view was a ingy building and massive satellite dish
2. Evening meals unimaginative and cheap buts of meat (if it was meat), but as we had already decided to eat out in the evenings we only ate there on arrival
3. Breakfast was adequate and you pay extra for fry ups or an extra item.
4. You pay fo wifi (per device) and an extra 5 euros a night per room for air con. Felt a bit miffed but you have to have it.

would I stay there again? Yes if i had a sea view room BUT they are very limited.

would I recommend it. YES with these caveats..

Get a Sea View
Pay for Air Con
Pay for wifi
eat out in the evenings.

Room Tip: Lobby wifi only get a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koratman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Athina is very clean although a the rooms are a bit dated. Staff are helpful and friendly. There's a relaxed atmosphere with a stunning pool and outlook onto the beach. The majority of the guest seem to be regulars. Food is ok, but nothing exciting. Waiter service with about 3 choices and bacon, sausage and extra portion for breakfast are at a charge. However it is only a small charge, 50 cents for bacon or sausage. Athina is central to the resort so everything is nearby but set back from the main road away from any noise. Only gripe would be wifi isn't free but get out and just about all the bars and tavernas have free connection.
Out and about there's a selection of tavernas and bars. There's a bar just in front of the Athina which is owned by Glen from Sheffield, he's friendly and prices are reasonable. Try Zorba's and the Little prince for a good greek meal with greek dancing and some flames for effect. Stepfanos is hassle free without being quite. There's some good walks along the coast to Arillas and further if you're fit enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Athina Hotel was the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in. I came on the 11th-18th July and we had brilliant weather. The staff are so friendly and do everything they can to make sure that you enjoy your stay. Yiannis was lovely and was always there to make you laugh while you ate and George was helpful in learning the greek language. George on reception was so helpful when we had planned a trip.

I am a vegetarian so there was only one choice per night for me with food but it was something most people would like and you can choose from either chips, boiled or roast potatoes or spaghetti to go with any of your meals which is good. Starters are nice and desserts are as well.

The room cleanliness is brilliant as they provide fresh towels every day and clean out the bins every day as well. We had to ask for a mattress topper for the bed as they are quite hard but they are happy to give you one when you ask. You get wifi sometimes in the pool area and always in the reception/ bar area and it is cheap.

It was a perfect place/location for a couple on holiday and for families and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Athina with my family and overall it was a good break with some positives and some negatives.

The staff, cleanliness, levels of service and friendliness cannot be faulted, really good.

The location of the hotel is first class, as it is right on the beach and has its own very large pool. The one criticism of the pool being the 2 objects, whatever they are, that stick out of the water at the shallow end, they could be an accident waiting to happen if someone was to fall on top of them.

The restaurant menu is limited and lacks imagination and creativity when it comes to the food. Chips are served with virtually everything. You basically have 4 choices every night of a starter and main course, accompanied by what was described as a salad. This could be a plate of cucumber, a plate of tomatoes, or a plate of lettuce and cabbage. The one night they did serve a salad, it was a traditional Greek salad and was great.

At breakfast they have the several options 2 of them being either a fried egg or scrambled egg, when one of my daughters asked if she could have a poached egg, the answer was no.

As I said, the cleanliness couldn't be questioned, however the carpets are showing their age and the quality of pillows was poor. Our bed had a plastic undersheet, which rustled every time you moved in bed.

Overall it was a good holiday, would we go back? I would go back as long as they do something with the food, they need to be more creative in putting a menu together to include far more traditional Greek dishes with choice and quality. I had soup on a couple of occasions, and it was certainly not homemade.

You have to pay for the air conditioning, which was 5 Euros per night. With our Daughters in another room we paid for the AC as it was hot during the night and the best way to get a decent sleep, so you are looking at another 70 Euros for 2 rooms for the week.

Wifi was also chargeable at 5 Euros for the week per device. We had 3 devices, so further charges you need to be aware of.

Great location, great staff, but the food and menu aspects certainly need to be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and definitely get Air Conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very good hotel in an excellent position, with just a stroll past the enormous pool to a beach which stretches around the bay. Good-sized room and balcony with a side sea-view, cleaned daily with fresh towels supplied. Beds 'firm' but no problem when I asked for a mattress-topper. Ample choice on the menu, with Greek dishes. All the staff speak English but nevertheless very encouraging at my halting Greek! Thanks to Yiannis and George for the friendly service at lunch and dinner, and to Poppy and George on reception. San Stefanos is a pleasant little village with several supermarkets and a good choice of tavernas and bars, yet not overwhelming like many other resorts. Liked Havana and Waves, both on the beach, to the right and left respectively as you leave the hotel grounds. All in all we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We had Room 207, which stayed cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from the Athina in San Stephanos Corfu & can only say well done to the hotel & staff. George the "bloody" waiter at meal times is a joy, a real charactor. Yiannis is very friendy and it was a pleasure to have him around. Location of hotel is excellent & all the staff very good.

Will amost certianly return. Pity I cant say the same complimentary things about Tomson Holidays, web site a nighmare, staff useless & they could not even manage to send our documentaion until four days before holiday & only after repeated endless phone calls to a telephone line that is either endlessly engaged or took forever to repond, when they did answer they could deal with the simplest problems.

K & B Brown (Kent)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rayfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Moraitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pictures Suites
Pictures Suites
#4 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartments
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartmen...
#4 of 13 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina

Property: Athina
Address: | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Corfu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Athina Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing