We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stamatis... A New One For Us... Why Did We Worry?”
Review of Stamatis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stamatis
Ranked #220 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Reviewed 4 September 2008

STAMATIS Apartments.
« on: September 01, 2008, 07:36:49 PM »

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Our first visit to these apartments and it won't be our last. We had one of the 2 groundfloor apartments with a smallish patio facing the pool. The apartment was one of the studio ones and must be the smallest studio we have ever stayed in.

There was a small entance/kitchen equipped with a small table and 2 chairs. Surprisingly this room had more than adequate cupboard space and for space utilisation was exceptional. We had use of a toaster, kettle and mini oven with 2 electric rings and a good sized fridge.
The WC had a sink with light, mirror and cupboard space. Again good use of available space to include storage. There was obviously a toilet and the standard Greek shower tray. We were shocked to see the shower curtain stopped a good 2ft from the tray. We found it hard to believe but we genuinely had less of a flooding problem than with a full length curtain.

The sleeping area comprised of 2 singles, a single bedside cabinet between the beds, a dressing table and chair. In the corner was a built in wardrobe with generous hanging space and a good sized shelf area.

The downside was that if the dressing table was in use any rights of passage were blocked off. If the wardrobe was open the patio doors had to be shut and vice versa.

On the upside, the beds were the most comfortable we have ever had on holiday. We both like 2 pillows. Ask about this and they were provided almost before we had finished asking. The room was cleaned to a very high standard, Congratulations to the young lady who shone at this task.

The position of the apartments was excellent. Our patio door was about 20 metres from the pool which must have been near 30 metres in length. Then there was the inside bar area and a fair sized seating are before you reach the road. Within 30 metres of there you could visit the resorts largest supermarke, see the Doctor, visit the Sidari Travel office (free safety deposit boxes), buy gyros, visit a bar and hire motorbikes. The path to the Athina and thus the beach was right across the road. All this so close and the apartments set so well back they were amazingly quiet.

The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner Tom or his ever willing barperson, Mike.

The apartments are available through Thomson. There are however some recently opened apartments that Tom lets privately. We had a look at these and they are massive. They had the normal kitchen features but with the added bonus of elbow room. The WC had the advantage of a bath with overhead shower thus eliminating the usual bathroom flooding. In the living area were 2 beds and generous wardrobe/storage space. There were also a chair and sofa that unfolded to make beds for a further 3 guests. The front was a large balcony with table and chairs. The beauty of the balcony was the views. A glance to the left showed the hills leading to Arilas and dead ahead was a good vista of sea and neighbouring islands. I believe the going rate for these rooms was €50 per night. Not the cheapest but in all honesty exceptional rooms.

Report to moderator 86.7.93.91

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCFCTunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2008

This was our second time to the in San Stefanos and the Stamatis apartments. The second time because the primary objective of our June holiday is rest and relaxation and these apartments provide it. This is wholly due to the size of the pool and the lack of people around it. San Stefanos is very quiet in June which means you have the run of the pool in most hotels and guaranteed tables in restaurants. The pool is impressive and worth a return trip (although the pool is owned by the Silver Moon bar which is at the opposite end of the apartments. Therefore, you will get the occasional Greek kid coming to try out his best dives.

If the pool wasn't so big and empty of people, i may not return to the Stamatis apartments. Our air conditioning bill came to almost a quarter of our total holiday bill (for two for a week) and this was a rather poor unit which at time blew out hot air.

Also the maid service, so good on our first trip, had descended to a thrice weekly visit to make the bed a replace towels. In addition we were expected to purchase our own toilet paper.

The owner/bartender is not the friendly Greek you will find all around San Stefanos but a rather grumpy and stern man. Our itme with him was limited but it would have been nice to have been welcomed a little more openly.

San Stefanos is a great place to relax and the Stamatis apartments are a good, reasonably cheap, option with the beefits already mentioned. However don't expect any extras or even some may basics that you might expect elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank u87em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

oh. san stefanos. the place itself was lovely. as was our accomadation. the stamatis was very clean. maid service everyday,towels changed evry 3.sometimes more.very clean apps.would love to go back again.was more to do on the island than we thought.hired quads,went horse riding,hired a jeep. explored paleocastritsea.was great full stop..thomas at stamatis was lovely, would do anything 2 make your stay perfect, it already was.i hope this review will make you want 2 visit san stefanos and stay at the stamatis as it was a truly wonderful holiday that i hope 2 experience again. SOON........................................

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mel045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Myself and my Boyfriend are both 20 and we found San Stefanos the perfect location, a place to relax and with a couple of bars available we could also have a bit of night life. After a year of working and a fresh start at University we had a fantastic time relaxing and doing nothing!

As for the apartments being inadequate, i beg to differ. yes they are dated but Greece is Greece! Aslong as everything worked, which it did, thats all that matters. If you have any problems Stammatis is only to happy to oblige - we locked ourselves out at 1 in the morning, but Stammatis is still up and came running over to help!

Mike and Stammatis are wonderful, friendly people and the maid loved to flirt with my boyfriend! At midday they all sat in the shade with a pint and we were always encouraged to join them, not that we could understand what they were saying!

I would recommend this resort to those families who like to relax, those with older children can still find something for everyone, the condor bar has a bit of everything, again including friendly greeks! If you are young and like large night life, this resort is not for you, yet if your young and like to relax then it will be perfect. The amount of friends we made was amazing and after the first day Mike knew what our tipples were, what more could you ask!

At the end of our holiday we were so sad to leave, we were all up til about 3 in the morning with Stammatis in the bar, saying goodbye. Mike even pulled up early the next morning in front of our coach to say goodbye!

If you are looking for a lovely, relaxing and eventful break then this is the one, we highly recommend Theo's Boat BBQ, a day of sun, sea, food, greek dancing and plenty of alcohol!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Catty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

A truly relaxing place. Plenty of room around the swimming pool. No need to get up early to reserve your sunbed!!!! People were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were basic but clean and each had two balconys one at the front and one at the back which was great as you had a choice where to sit and enjoy the views. We found it a peaceful place to relax and really unwind.
Oh yes do go on Theos boat trip!!! He is fantastic and such a character. He organizes games on the boat which you can join in if you want but are not pressured!!! He will take you to a wondeful beach for a fantastic barbeque!!!! We have been on his trip twice now and each time was fantastic. Well worth going. Corfu town is great too for some good shopping. Hoping to go back real soon.

  • Stayed: June 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jennily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

In June 2006 myself and my boyfriend enjoyed 1 week at the stamatis Appartments in San Stefanos- Corfu. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others who are intending on visiting the resort. We booked a last minute deal with Thompson’s and paid £150 each for the week including transfers, ticket collection, etc. For the price that we paid we really were expecting basic accommodation, however were very impressed with what we received. We were allocated a top floor room which was more than adequate, had two bedrooms, kitchen area and also a dining area with a sofa bed- plenty of space to spread out! The pool was huge and warm (don't understand the previous review at all), also had a childrens slide and small childrens pool- perfect for cooling off in and reading your book if you don’t have children. The rooms all have net curtains to keep out mossies and I would recommend also taking a room plug in- we didn’t get bit once the whole time that we were there, however we did see other people that had very bad bites. No food at hotel unless you want burger and chips/ toasted sandwiches etc. but the hotel is literally two mins away from all of the restaurants etc. so not a problem. Can recommend jungle formula DEET spray as it seemed to do the trick for us- although it does stink!

San Stefanos itself is quite a quiet resort, although not quite the sleepy fishing village we were led to believe. There are approx 12 / 13 restaurants all of a very similar standard and offering various versions of traditional corfiot dishes. We tried Zorba’s- very good, the olivepress, also very good, little prince, ok, and the sunset restaurant- fab view, food not so good. Prices are also very reasonable, approx 6/7 euro’s for a main meal, beer 1.50. There are also a number of bars, no nightclubs, if you are wanting that you will need to head into Sidari, approx 15 minutes away and a hell hole full of British tourists wanting full English breakfasts and Sunday lunch!

We hired a car to get around the island whilst we were there. Cost 80 euro’s for three days hire and was well worth it. Would recommend driving to Krini castle- the views from the top are amazing and also driving through the little villages on the island- lots completely untouched.

All in all had a lovely 6 night stay- had a 15 hour delay from Thompsons on the way out so missed a full day of our holiday. Corfu is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dawn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2005

Having booked this holiday for my boyfriend and his 2 children and me on the internet, i was very very disappointed to find that the picture of the hotel shown on the website was nothing like what we ended up in. I went expecting a medium sized complex with it's own pool but ended in a block of four apartments with no pool. When questioning the local rep regarding this he was totally unconcerned with our problem and ignored fact we wanted to lodge a complaint. The rooms themselves were clean enough but the misrepresentation of the hotel by the holiday company ensured that the holiday was enjoyed much less than I'd hoped for.
If you are the type of person who wants a very basic accomodation with no pool the this is for you but otherwise, STAY AWAY from it!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.1 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#88 of 763 in Corfu
117 reviews
9.5 mi away
Harris Apartments
Harris Apartments
#13 of 39 in Acharavi
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
10.7 mi away
Hotel Corfu Secret
Hotel Corfu Secret
#1 of 2 in Agios Markos
81 reviews
35.2 mi away
Elenas Garden
Elenas Garden
#9 of 63 in Kavos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamatis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamatis

Address: Main Road | Agios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamatis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamatis Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing