We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monika Hotel Apartments
Ranked #114 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

really enjoyed monika apts ,changed room for a ground floor apt which was fab.close to amenities and night life,felt very safe here,would deffo go back.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cjpenn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    83
    33
    4
    7
See reviews for
67
100
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the Monika having changed from another hotel at the last minute so we was a little worried, worried we should not have been the staff were marvellous nothing was too much trouble for them. This was our first time self catering so didn't know what to expect, Cheryl was marvellous (I keep trying for those 6 numbers Cheryl ;-). The hotel is a small walk from the main bars, restaurants not too far but far enough for peace and quiet. The hotel itself was basic but clean what more can you ask. We didn't cook in the apartment apart from a piece of toast, cheaper enough to eat out.

We heard the usual people moaning about Corfu itself on our way back to the airport which amazed us as we have to return again at some point as we couldn't fit everything in.

We saved a small fortune by booking our trips in the town and thoroughly enjoyed the same that the rep was selling. The Rep well to sum it up, useless thank the lord for Cheryl. If the travel operator employed people like Cheryl we are sure more people would return.

All in all this was probably one of the cheapest holidays we have had but definitely one of the best. If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly and cheap place to stay look no further..

Thanks all for making our stay most memorable.

Room Tip: Buy mosquito plugins leave them plugged in and use plenty of repellent. We did and didn't get bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked a cheap last minute holiday and didn't expect alot!!! Monika was fantastic didn't realy want to go to Corfu would have prefered Crete but beggars can't be choosers. Cheryl, "mummy meercat", you made our holiday together with Stephan, "Alexandra". we wiil definately return. The apartment was clean and simple, cleaned every day and laundry done once a week. Zena the cook was a great laugh, our room overlooked the kitchen so we could see all the goings on. The pool always looked clean but we didn't use it as we prefer to 'explore' when we go away. I know you read this Cheryl so sorry we will be back and the Mars bar was great!!!! Love you all

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeercatsMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I travelled with my boyfriend (both 21 at the time) and stayed for 7 days. It was actually September 2010 but I couldn't choose that option!

The apartment was basic and on the ground floor. I did worry about how secure it was, the windows were easy to open. Despite this we had no problems (and didn't pay for a safety box which i think was 10euros).

It was one room with two reasonably comfy single beds (easily pushed together although creates a slight gap between, we just rolled up a blanket and tucked it in the gap) plus a wardrobe and kitchenette (2 hobs, grill/oven (we didn't use this) fridge.. no microwave and can't remember if there was a kettle!) small selection of plates/cutlery but no sponge/washing up liquid.
Seperate bathroom, pretty small and you had to hold the shower hose up over yourself.. there was nothing to hold it there! made showering a little awkward!
When the loo roll ran out we were told we had to buy more, but other people said theres were replaced...
Mad service 3 of the 7 days and the towels weren't changed until the day before we left! (though we had a 28 hour delay so really only there for 6 days). I'm sure if we'd have spoken to reception they'd have sorted this though but we weren't too fussed as we had our own towels.
We had a little terrace with table and chairs outside too.

The pool was lovely and clean. It was small but had a proper deap end! (2 metres i think). Always loads of sunbeds free.
Food was fairly cheap and tasted quite nice (breakfasts for 4euros etc including vegetarian). Drinks were standard price.
There was some entertainment though we didn't see any of this as we went out every night.
The staff were very friendly and the location was ideal, it was a 5-10 minute stroll to the strip with a few restaurants/shop along the way.
On the last day we hired a quadbike for about 30euros which meant we saw abit more of the island which was definitely worth it (though I found the quadbikes quite hard to handle!) The beach that's a two minute walk away isn't the prettiest beach, it's shingle but there are others a little further afield.

I'm vegetarian and found lots of places catered for me :) though some assume that vegetarians eat fish so watch out for that one!

The nightlife is average, theres about 3 clubs and quite a few bars.. you're definitely better off going for the drinks deals as the drinks aren't much cheaper than back in the uk otherwise.

I'd advise a mosquito plug in, we were told the area suffers with mosquitoes but we didn't get bitten at all with the help of this, and mosquito repellent when out in the evening.
It was about 28-31 degrees while we were there and we had no need for air con.

I would come back again, it is basic but it's friendly, got everything you need and we got a very good deal!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abi-national
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Have just stayed at these Appts for a week with 5 friends 12th Sept.Appts are lovely,just 10 minutes walk into centre.Staff are brilliant,always ready to help.Pool area is really nice always plenty of sun beds.Would advise to get the air con.Lots of mosquitos.There is a shingle beach 2 minute walk away,but a short walk towards centre beach lovely.Must have, is a meal at the 3 Little Pigs in town.Plenty of pubs and places to eat in town. Would def go back.Only downside was hard beds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazzz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Have just arrived back from a two week break in Corfu. Previously stayed in Arillas, so was dubious about staying in Sidari, as it reminds me of Blackpool with sun - cheap, tacky souvenirs and John Smiths on draught!!! Was chuffed with the hotel which was only a 10 minute walk from 'the strip', and that was walking slowly! It was far enough away, though, so that at night you could not hear the clubs' music. We were self catering and the room was equipped with plates, pans, cutlery etc., and a good working cooker. (Grill and hotplates). No point moaning about the beds - wherever you go, the beds and pillows are hard, but by the end of the fortnight, you get used to them! Pool area was great and yes it was grassy. There are problems with wasps but during the day the mozzies are NOT a problem. In the evening it's a different matter, but if you take good sprays you will not be bothered. Cleaning staff were lovely, but I made the mistake of making our beds every day, (WHAT?????), so they usually only changed the bins, took out rubbish and popped a new loo roll in. Towels were also changed. The bar was great, well run by Stefan the Meerkat, and Kostas. Cheryl on reception, will go out of her way to recommend places to go to eat, visit, hire etc.. (MIss you Chell!). On the whole, we had a great time and will happily go back. Two weeks self catering, flights and transfers £250 each! What is not to like?? Flight out was interesting. Hol was with Olympic, flight chartered with Strategic airlines. Hmmmmmmmm, will be sending them an email!!!! On the whole the Monika was clean and tidy, the staff were welcoming and friendly, entertainment was fun and a cracking little cheap and cheerful hotel. Oh yeah, about the river opposite the front of the hotel. It does look a bit green but cover yourself in mozzie stuff, take your fishing rod and - if you're self catering - go catch your dinner!!! Good sized sea bass just waiting for a bit of sweetcorn!!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank satnav_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just come back from a 2 week stay in the Monica. This is the 5th time in Sidari and 4th different hotel.
I can see why there are different reviews: For the 2 weeks we were in the bunglow type rooms which was great, nice 2 best studio which was more like a 1 bed apt. Grill/ Ovan and hobs with a fridge. no37.
On the last day had to move rooms to keep the room on until 9pm due to late flight. this cost 30 Euro.
We moved to apt 16 in the apartment blocks opposite the horrid river!!!! OMG.. Room was very dated. 37 had large LCD on the wall and newish furnature. No 16 was old dated and furnature horrid. The fridge was rusty the door was mankey and well not great. I would not have spent 2 weeks in that. Cleaners did clean but only just. towels and beds were changed but floors werenot swept or mopped apart from the showerroom.
Pool nice, load of sunbeds. It is grass so lots of Mozzies and Wasps. BIG PROBLEM. Pool was clean, food was good and drinks reasonable. ( they did put the prices up the second week though ) Free WIFI!
Its 2 mins from the beach and free pool on the beach that belongs to the Beach Star Apts, this is great as the sunbeds were better there was a shower and you can swap from pool to beach.
Its a 15 min walk to the start of the main strip. 30 mins to the CdMore the best beaches.
Water sports on the beach and all needed.

I was there with my 8 year old daughter. We met 2 friends in the twentees. Had a fab time but this is not as good apartment as the PARIDISE, ORESTIS or LEGENDS.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu hotels
0.2 mi away
Sidari Beach Hotel
Sidari Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Ioannis
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Palma Studios & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Megali Beach Nikos
Megali Beach Nikos
#51 of 71 in Sidari
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Megali Luxuries
Megali Luxuries
#16 of 71 in Sidari
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dimitris Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Del Sol Corfu
Villa Del Sol Corfu
#19 of 71 in Sidari
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monika Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Hotel Apartments

Property: Monika Hotel Apartments
Address: | Sidari, 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 404 Hotels in Corfu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monika Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monika Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing