We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday”
Review of Demetra Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lefkada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Demetra Studios
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Lefkada
Certificate of Excellence
ripley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

stayed here in june this year for 2 weeks. the accomadation is brilliant the old couple who own the apartments are on site all the time and Phil the rep is really good he organised different
restruants for us to eat out at a discount and accompanied us in his own time.Toms beach bar
at the end of the strip is the best we used his sun beds on the beach (no charge) and he saved them for us every day. the food was excellent the milk shakes and iced coffees yummy.
try the apollon on the front the food is great ask for the bill and you get free strawberries & cream coffee and baileys or brandy and ouzo and peach snaps.the cruise on the christina was
brilliant and we took the ferry to megganissi 4 eiros return which was well worth it. would definately return the island is so friendly.
chis and steve

Room Tip: rooms 19 20 overlook the sea and marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lannieripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I've ticked couple as I've just got back from here with my Dad (so although we are not a couple we didn't have any children with us) and we had the most brilliant holiday here in Nidri.

The rooms are very basic but clean but with pretty flower beds looked after by the lovely old couple who own the apartments. There have been some bad reviews about the bar here being noisy but we did not find it a problem at all and neither did anyone else we spoke to. Tricky who runs it is lovely and so are all her staff, there is pleasant relaxing background music but no way is it noisy!

They also have a new Olympus Rep for this year called Phil, he is a lovely friendly man who will help you with anything you need to know and he was around every day, sometimes twice. We did have no hot water on the first day and within 3 minutes Phil got it sorted out and we had no problem for the rest of the week. They are also emptying the bins in the rooms every day now after Phil asked them to.

The location is excellent, right on the edge of the sea, although it feels more like a huge lake as there are islands all around in the sea. The ferry is only 2 minutes walk along the harbour (which is at the other end of the Demetra pool) and is only 1.80 each way to Megannissi, a beautiful island where you can get off at Spartahori and go up a lot of steps to have a drink or lunch with the most amazing, prettiest view ever.

There was also boat trips for 9 hours around 7 islands with stops at different pretty places including Porto Katsiki beach and Kefalonia and you also see Skorpios, the Onassis island. The boat we went on was the "Makedonia Palace", it is usually 15 Euros each but we booked late in the evening for the next day and they said 10 each. Snacks, lunch, drinks, toasties and ice creams are for sale in the bar on this boat and were really reasonably priced.

Saying that, we found everywhere we ate or drank to be really fair prices. Although they are struggling for money in Greece they have not raised their prices at all as far as we can see. They are still as friendly as ever there and always want to give you something "on the house". There must be a choice of about 50 restaurants all along the harbour and also more running parallel at the back of the studios. Every meal we had was lovely and so was every person that served us. There is also a bus in the back road that takes you one way to Lefkada town and the other way to Vasilliki beach so it is still really easy to get to other places without hiring a car or bike.

The Demetra studios are clean, very basic but also very quaint which to us all added to the charm of the holiday. The whole of the island is still very Greek, unlike some that are getting very commercialized.

The only thing that could have made our holiday any better was if we could have stayed longer, we can't wait to go back. Lots of people we met said they have been back numerous times as they can't find a nicer island. If anyone is thinking of booking here, just do it! Also weather was in the 30s all week. Hope you love it us much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Demetra Studios. Much of what has already been written by previous Reviews still stands so any reader of this report may find my comments useful if only as an update to what has already been written.
Demetra Studios
These studios are placed in an excellent location just minutes walk away from the shops, restaurants, bars and supermarkets and yet far enough away from the ‘main drag’ to be slightly away from the street which can become busy, especially during the evening period. As you come out of the apartments (to your left) you will find a reasonable sized supermarket which will cater for most of your needs. Just a few paces on you will find the bakers where fresh bread products can be purchased from early morning.
The apartments themselves are separated into three blocks although they are joined by a pretty outside main corridor, which in effect brings the whole complex together. They number off from numbers one & two which are ground level and a few yards away from the road. There are bushes outside of the lower apartments which provide you with some privacy. The studios then number upwards until you reach the back block which overlooks the harbour. Each studio has sufficient space outside for two chairs and a table. The rooms are reasonable in size and sufficient for a holiday stay. There is a fridge and cooking hob although cooking utensils are somewhat limited. In our opinion the best studio to get is to the rear of the premises where there is an excellent harbour view. Unfortunately we got studio 1 which we feel was maybe one of the ones not to get if you get a choice. There are six studios to the rear including the famous Number 12, although only 5 of these are available as one is occupied by the aged owners of the complex, who are both very Greek and very nice. There did not seem to be any complaints regarding room 12 and noise whilst we were there as I think this may now have been sorted out by the Rep (Phil). We went to the bar most evening for a late and sometimes very late drink and only on one occasion did I think the music being played was a little on the loud side. There is a nice atmosphere in the studio complex and because of the way it is laid out you are continually passing each other and therefore making general conversation with everyone is easy and relaxed.
Olympic Representative
The Rep for the complex is Phil. Phil provides and excellent service and will provide you with all sorts of information about restaurants, places to go etc. If you have any complaints he is the man to see when he turns up on one of his regular visits and will do his very best for you.
Car Hire
Car hire can be a little expensive, although by shopping around you can reduce the cost. We saved nearly 50% compared with some of the bigger firms although it must be said the vehicle you hire may not be as pretty as those from the more well known companies however when you give it back after 3 days does it really matter.
Trips
We did not book any trips whilst we were there although we did have a day out on the ferry which takes you to two locations and is fantastic value. Word of warning, when you arrive at the point you want to alight get off quick. One couple we were talking to were a bit slow and ended up not getting off and waving to us from the upper deck as the ferry pulled away.
Restaurants
There are lots and lots of restaurants many have already been recommended in previous reports. Some are very busy and service at times can be slow so make an evening of it and enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitehall121279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at the studios as part of a last minute deal, this was our first trip to Lefkas and to be honest when we booked we had not done any research it was very much a spur of the moment thing.

Sadly we had requested a double room, please note all rooms here are twin only. Also we had requested a room on a high floor due to my fear of cats. We were allocated room number 1 which is at the very front of the property from the road although on the ground floor. In saying that although we saw many birds, butterflies and lizards from the balcony I did not see any cats.

The room was basic, with twin beds a bedside table, wardrobe and small kitchen area consisting of 2 ceramic hobs and a kettle also a small sink. Worse thing for me was the shower unit, I say unit - the tray on the floor was not connected to the curtain and as the holder for the shower head was in a strange place every time you had a shower water went all over the whole floor so please be mindful of this.

The owners were a quite elderly couple who spoke little English but were friendly always waving hello and goodbye to us. The room was also cleaned twice in the week we were there.

In honesty although the view was limited it was nice not to be by the pool and pool bar as this did get noisy at night and although we were next to the main road it was very quiet at night.

Room Tip: The sun sets on the balconies for rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Good value for money apartments, basic but clean.

We were allocated the infamous Room 12 which lived up to its reputation for being extremely noisy due to the pool bar, even with all windows and shutters closed!

From the outset, we realised it would be impossible to spend 2 weeks, in this room! The music started at 1pm and went on non-stop until 3am every night. It appeared that after midnight, the bar staff were joined by various 'friends' and their behaviour and noise, was bizarre to say the least. It made us wonder what they were on!

Fortunately, after complaining, we were moved, to Room 18, which was slightly better.

The behaviour of the bar staff continued, even after several representations from Vic, the Olympic rep, to the bar owner, and the noise level resumed as soon as he left the premises.

We enjoyed Nidri, with all that it had to offer, but would not stay at Demetra again.

We would highly recommend Mama Mia Greek restaurant, a couple of doors up, Greek food and hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Any room with sea view, gets bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My partner and I booked a last minute package via teletext online. Think we paid £445 each for a flight to Preveza, transfer, 20k of luggage and a week's stay at Demetra.
We accepted that it was a last minute cheap and cheerful getaway holiday to an area we already know (we usually charter a boat for a week with a group and sail around the islands) and so were happy that the accommodation may be basic. We've stayed in a varied range of places from a hut to 5* so were happy to just suck it and see.
I had done my research post holiday on Tripadvisor and knew about the famed room 12!!!! I thought it would be fine because we wouldn't be unlucky enough to be given it.. you should have seen the look on my face when I was told by our tour rep we had room 12! I honestly have to say for us it was absolutely fine. We are no stranger to a fun night out ourselves but we also needed to chill out on this holiday and that's exactly what happened. Yes, the room is on the ground floor near the bar but once you close the shutters and the doors you can barely hear anything, they are quite respectful of the residents also, on top of that thery are quite a friendly bunch. The upside of staying in room 12 is that when you open your patio doors / shutters you feel like you have an extended terrace and with views of the sea and yachts just metres away that can be very nice indeed, especially if you're sitting out early evening before going out, or in the morning for breakfast.
The room was quite large, the bathroom is quite dated and needs updating. The kitchen area is ample for making tea and light bites and the fridge is a good size for keeping all that water melon and Mythos cold! The rooms should have been cleaned more than once or twice in our opinion and the bins emptied daily at least.
Hire a motorboat for the day. Get the ferry to Meganissi. Also the ferry to Kefalonia - go to Nicks Taverna on the right side of the hill as you pull in to the bay - truly is the best Moussaka I've had in my life, every time I holiday in the Ionian I make a special trip just for that dish.
Hire a quad bike to zip around Lefkas too. We went to Sivota and Vasseliki, we wanted to take it on the ferry to other islands but it seems they won't insure you to do that which is a shame! Visit Ithaka too if you can. We went on the Christina boat day trip which was very good, it's a lovely boat, the lunch is nice and plentiful and you fit quite a lot into a day. We thought it was worth the money. Also make sure you walk up to the waterfall, it really is worth the trip. You might be lucky enough to see the taverna spit roasting a pig on your way and on your way back down a few hours later it may well be cooked so you can have your dinner there too!
The Ionian restaurant (my partner calls it 'The One Onion' as that's what the sign looks like!) is very good value, quite a bit cheaper than most others and food still very nice. Mama Mia is also very nice but a bit more expensive. Make sure you walk down the beach to the beachside restaurant (can't remember the name) the tables are almost in the sea, it's great and the Tsatsiki is the best we had whilst we were there.
We would go back to Demetra if we needed a cheap and cheerful stay in Nidri.
Have a great time!

Room Tip: Don't be worried about room 12, it's fine and there are some real positives to it also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DooDa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at these apartments from 26th June-10th July 2011 and had an amazing time. The apartments are lovely and clean and are owned by a lovely old couple.
Although the pool area is quite small there was no shortage of beds and nobody reserved beds so you could enjoy a lie in if you wanted to.
The bar is run separately by Ali who is very friendly and will go out of her way to make sure you have a great time. we have seen other complaints about the noise but we had a front apartment and didn't find it a problem. (maybe it was us at the bar lol!). The music was never too loud and closing the balcony doors killed any noise anyway.
Ali lit the bar area every night with candles in and around the pool which was a nice touch. She has a great selection of music and if you ask will play to your tastes.
The Olympic rep Vic was brilliant. He answered all our questions and was on site usually twice a day if we needed to ask anything.
Nidri is a beautiful place with plenty of tavernas and restaurants but for us the highlights of the holiday were the days. We hired a moped costing 85 Euros for 2 weeks (shop around and barter) and used it to get to other beaches along the coast. Most of these have beach restaurants which are very reasonably priced.
We hired a boat for three of the days and found lots of small islands and coves to explore. It is definitely worth taking a picnic with you though.
Our favourite restaurant was Mama Mia's two minutes from the apartments, the beef stifado and lamb kleftiko are to die for!
It was a little cool at night in the first week but by the end of the second week it was starting to get a lot warmer.
We had a brilliant holiday and have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dashpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Captain Stavros
Hotel Captain Stavros
#7 of 14 in Nidri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nydri Beach
Nydri Beach
#6 of 19 in Nidri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
AKTI Studios
AKTI Studios
#8 of 34 in Nidri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Studios

Property: Demetra Studios
Address: Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Lefkada
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Demetra Studios Hotel Lefkada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing