We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, lovely little hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lefkada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Lefkada
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, lovely little hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just got back from Lefkada. What a lovely surprise it was to find such a beautiful scenic island. I did not realise how green the island is, fauna and flora eveywhere. Nidri was an excellent choice for our resort. Good to see that there are no 'M' big macs, no fish & chips, no KFC's or subways etc. Just lots of restaurants, shops and bars on the main street and along the harbour. Prices similar to England for food and drink. They close off the road to traffic in the evening which gives a nice atmosphere while walking around. The views from the restaurants in the harbour are stunning. The Sands Hotel is just lovely, as all the reviews say, it is very close to the beach and town, but very quiet with fantastic views. The pool is a good size for a small hotel. Staff very friendly and they leave you alone. The room is clean and big enough, but the bathroom is very small. We stayed in a corner room 209 at the back, we had two sets of patio doors on to a very large shared balcony with beautiful views of the mountains on both sides. Once the other guests have had a look around by your room, they tend to stay by their own room, so not a problem. Kitchen has enough equipment for what we needed, but I would take a tea towel, dish cloth and ice cube bags if I went again. Mosies can be a problem so keep doors shut when you have the light on in the evening. Plenty of storage space for your cothes. Don't expect any luxuries and you will enjoy the hotel. All the positives far outweigh the negatives. Transport on Lekfada is very cheap, so easy to get around either by bus or ferry.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views but the back rooms are quieter. We stayed in room 209 lovely views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arekuna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    46
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
111
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were very please with this hotel which was in the perfect position in Nidri for us, very close to the beach and close enough to the centre with a little walk to work up an appetite for the bars and restaurants. The rooms are basic but very clean and the hotel, pool and grounds were in good condition complimented by a friendly owner and staff. The noise from the bar had a tendency to travel to our room on a night as we were directly above the bar, but it didn't bother us too much as we had a great view of the sea and islands however if you are easily disturbed it would be preferable to have a room at the back of the hotel. Overall this hotel was perfect base for what we needed for our holiday.

Room Tip: Go left out of the hotel to some nearby restaurants, Ann-Maries being one, that serve basic but deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mags86ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We returned from Sands on Sunday the 25th of May, after a wonderful 2 weeks, A fantastic owner in Leartis who could not do enough to make sure we had a relaxing holiday. The hotel only had a few people staying and the rooms where cleaned every day, as was all the pool and communal areas. The rooms are a good standard of Greek self catering with a full sized fridge, crockery, pans etc. The bar area is a nice place to have a drink before or after dinner and to pick Leartis' brain about the surrounding area and what to see. The hotel is set just a short walk into the centre of Nidri and it's just across the road to the beach. Overall a great place to stay and a very nice town centre. We look forward to going again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Set across from a pebble beach the Sands Hotel is a great place to relax and unwind the owner Leartis is a friendly guy who makes everyone feel like family, the bar area on the downstairs is a great place to meet people and enjoy a drink, the swimming pool is also good with a Jacuzzi at the far end. A short walk gets you into town where you can experience some good greek food and then a nice walk around the harbour with there expensive yachts all in all a great place.

Room Tip: Top floor at the front where you over look the pool and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank panglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidri, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

we have been coming to sands hotel for the last twelve years, mostly twice a year. we have nothing but praise for the owner and his family; they treat us with extreme kindness and helpfulness every time we visit.
we like to stay on the ground floor now as we get older though we used to stay upstairs our rooms are cleaned six times a week by his friendly and helpful staff, far more than we ever expected.
we like to eat at the hotel at least three times a week even when we were in better health. the food is extremely well prsented and very filling and we very reasonably priced. our favourite night is the barbecue, why? well there are so many dishes for starters before you have the main meal which is freshly cooked and to your choice, after there is greek english dancing, sadly we can only watch now but the atmosphere is very good and clients come to the greek night who are not staying at the hotel.
we like to spend a great deal of our time around the pool and bar area;{ one has to keep cool and watered} there is free wifi around the bar and you can usually have a conversation with the bar staff. the friendly representative of olympic, phil and other customers.
the location for us is ideal as it is away from the hustle and bustle but close to the town for those that enjoy a short walk. laertis the owner take us to the shop to get extra provisions and for his guests, nothing is to much trouble, if they want something and it is not on the menu he will get it.
i realise that for many clients they do like to go to other places on their holidays,
but not for us, this has become a second home and we will continue to come as long as we remain in good health. HAVE A GREAT TIME.

Room Tip: ground floor rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank graham677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I went to Lefkada from October 6th to October 20th and stayed on the top floor of The Sands Hotel, Nidri. The views from the balconies were amazing. The hotel is owned by a very pleasant man called Leatris, and his lovely wife Natasha. My room was cleaned daily, by Panayotis and Vassiliki. They were so friendly and welcoming.They told me about places to go e.g. by bicycle, bus or walking, as I didn't have a car. And when I mentioned chasing after an elusive mosquito one night, they brought me a candle with a scent that puts any mosquito off.
It did not matter that I never went to the barbecue night or that I didn't eat in the hotel or even buy drinks there - I was made to feel so at home there.
I travelled from Manchester to Nidri with a friend. My friend had room 306,and I had room 308. We had so much space - balconies all the way round. It wasn't busy in October. Waking up there was magical - so quiet at the back, and enormous green plants of every hue and tone. Then the misty mountains behind. This will live in my mind for a long long time. The pace of life suited me. No rushing about. The days were big and exciting. The weather was dramatic too. There were thunderstorms and torrential rainfall - at night mostly - and there was glorious sunshine too. I liked Nidri very much. I used to go for a walk by the water after my morning coffee taken on the balcony. So peaceful to walk by the water - then you'd hear a splash and see a fish jump. Just back from the water's edge there were olive trees - it looked like a veritable fairyland.
I would whole heartedly recommend this place and the people. I have nothing but the utmost thanks and respect for them. They certainly made my holiday a wonderful experience to remember.
Efharisto para poli.

Room Tip: Great views from the top floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank irene212212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

There were six of us staying at this hotel and we all had a great time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool was great and quite warm. A small and friendly place where everyone speaks to you, not like the large hotels. I have been to many places in Greece and this was by far one of the best. My friends have just returned for a second visit and enjoyed it, so we will be booking for next year too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pompeySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
5.9 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.3 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 16 in Nidri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 16 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#4 of 16 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: | Nidri, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Lefkada
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Lefkas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing