We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Nefeli(Vasiliki)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vergina Star(Nikiana)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexaria Holiday Homes(Lefkada)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
G. George(Nidri)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aliki Hotel(Nikiana)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rouda Bay Hotel(Lefkada)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Porto Ligia(Lygia)(Great Value!)
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tower(Nikiana)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pansion Filoxenia Apartments & Studios(Tsoukaladhes)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
167
50
20
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
50
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq nightgreek nightthe ownerhis wifeshort walkgreek dancersother guestssail innshingle beachviews of the mountainssmall hotelworking manfantastic holidayjacket potatonothing is too much troublelovely little hotelearly hours
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I agree with many of the positive reviews about this hotel. For us the location was perfect (a walk across the main road to the beach) and just on the edge of the town. My wife loved taking an early morning walk along the beach before it became populated with sun worshippers. A good pool with bar that never seemed to shut that also provided basic meals (though not a problem as there are many good eating places in the town). Our room wasn't that big, but as all we need is a bathroom and somewhere to sleep so it suited us perfectly. We found it a great place to relax whilst having plenty to occupy the more adventurous (try Scuba diving at the centre 5 mins walk away). We're now planning our next holiday and a return here is a distinct possibility.

Room Tip: All room have balconies - 201, 202, 301 and 302 are at the front with a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We come to Nydri every year and have stayed at most places and I would say that whilst the Sands isn't the best it offers good value.
It is in a great location for the beach although a 15 min walk from the main harbour, although, we welcomed this after our evening meal as we always over indulged.
The rooms are typical Greek. They were clean, had good air conditioning and large enough for 2 to walk around and not bump into each other.
The pool is large enough to cool down in, but the pool area could do with little work to bring it up to date and a little more shade.
The BBQ night was cancelled the week we were there, so I can't comment on this.
For the price I think the sands is a good budget option in Nydri, where others are charging too much for similar rooms.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have recently returned from Nidri and the Sands through Olympic. In previous years we stayed elsewhere and used the pool and got lunch and drinks here but this year we stayed.

The hotel is spotless and the beds very comfortable. Our room had fantastic views of the green mountains and Nidri is great also with so many places to eat, drink, enjoy watersports etc..

The pool area here is very good. Clean and refreshing and when the sun becomes too much just sit in the shade and sip an ice cold beer with the owner and other guests.

If you did have a heavy night of it which we didn't a full english is available but I prefered the omlette or toast, coffee options.

We had the BBQ night when we stayed and the food is incredible and what a good night this is. One of the best of our stay.

What is worth mentioning and ofr a bit of info for people coming for the first time to this islad is that it is a lovely place to enjoy a holiday, like it used to be in other islands.

The beach is across the road and you can do waterports just here. Also just across the road is the most beautiful restaurant called the pinewood. Stunning place to eat with great food. Please go for the local recipes here. On the same side and just a bit further towards town is a small and less used bar in the Aspasia studios where Emelios and Kostas run the show and do great coffee's and frappes. They are also nice folk to talk to.

further down still is everything you could think of. and for a cheap lunch I do not think you can beat a Gyros and cold beer.

Shops selling the cheap, ridiculous and fake abound aswell as some more upmarket places catering for the vast sailing fraternity that visit.

On the port and Marina area's are many taverna's all of which do a good job and serve some good food at not expensive prices.

Generally a large premium lager will be around 3 euros and an ouzo with ice and water about 2.5 euros

Hotel Sands is a fine place to stay, friendly, great BBQ night with dancing and such a refreshing and not too busy pool. Rooms are comfy, spotless every day and I think it is in the best of locations... 20m from the beach and the best restaurant in Nidri... The Pinewood.

Congrats to Laertis the owner who works tirelesly.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Studious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the lovely sands hotel. This hotel is excellent and has a lot of charm.
The rooms are simple, comfortable and very clean. All rooms have a balcony with super views to the front and the back. Air conditioning is great and needed in the summer. The shuttered doors are great for blocking out noise and we had a fabulous sleep whilst there.
Best part of hotel is the pool area which is really really nice. Great size, v v clean and well maintained. Always enough sun beds and chairs. Our children had to be prised away from the pool! But we didnt mind as it was so nice go relax around.
Laertis is a wonderful host who works tirelessly to make sure his guests have everything they need. The food he serves is great, especially the english breakfast.
Tuesdsy night is greek bbq night which is always fun and defiantly worth going to. The food is superb.
The hotel is well placed,just opposite the beach and is only a short walk into nidri which is nicely busy with lots of shops and restaurants. The "pefko"(pinewood ) restaurant just on the opposite side of the road and a little further down from Sands is defiantly worth a visit.
Overall i wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this hotel and we will defiantly be returning again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex_emma_clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Nidri and stayed at Sands hotel for the third time over the last 4 years with our two children 7 and 11 years old.
Once again we had a great relaxing experience.
Most of the people at the hotel we spoke to seemed to be returning customers which says a lot about the place.
Its a small hotel but there is always lots of spare space by the pool and generally a relaxed friendly atmosphere.
I noticed the last reviewer complained about their sleep and noise. They must have had a unlucky experience at their time of the visit.
Once the balcony doors are shut and aircon is on, I cant say that I have had a better sleep anywhere else including my own house.
(Aircon setting 26 degrees for the perfect temperature in the room :-) )
Nidri has countless things to offer if you spend the time to investigate.
We have generally spend the previous years by the pool but this time as the children are older we have booked a lot of trips and visits and realised how much we had missed in our previous holidays to Nidri.
The hotel has basic rooms but very very clean and gorgeous views front to the sea and back towards the mountain - so dont worry if you dont book the sea view.
There is a huge array of restaurants/snack bars and cafes in the town, but also enjoyed the food at the hotel.
Its great value for money especially the hearty full English breakfast.
Tuesday night was BBQ night at the hotel.
Its a lovely authentic Greek experience with an AMAZING buffet and lots of music and dancing till late by the pool.
Overall a very relaxing holiday - at an awesome little hotel. Pretty sure will be back there again and definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank dimitri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews