We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath of Fresh Air”
Review of Palm Trees Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lefkada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Trees Hotel
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Lefkada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at Palm Trees Hotel in Nidri, Lefkas Island at the end of May 2012. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Dina, the owner. We were first through the doors for the new season, everything was perfect. Dina made us feel right at home and so comfortable, she then had to jet back off to Athens on business until the weekend we left to come back home. We were then in the capable hands of her brother and parents, a delightful family. Our first week was crammed full of thing to do, cycling, walking, touring and exploring. All the things we planned to do while it was quiet. Wherever we chose to go and visit, eat or drink we were greeted with open arms and made to feel very special, (typical Greece). The second week got hotter and we beached, swam, picniced, rested and toured the island and the Parga mainland, fantastic. Our only tiny problem was a "pair" of "ladies" on a freeby fling, who got carried away on the local wine one night and managed to upset a couple in their next door room, but this could happen anywhere they decided to go I guess so the rest of 2012 should now be safe! Greece, Lefkada, Nidri, Palm Trees Hotel all excellent, it's on our list to do again when we run out of venues.

Room Tip: Second floor views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeandbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

I so enjoyed our stay at the Palm Trees Hotel that I feel moved to share our experiences. I can thoroughly recommend the Hotel for two reasons; it is as per the pictures in the brochures, right on the water’s edge with fantastic views, but most importantly the best thing is the warm and genuine welcome from the hosts Dina and her family, she is a lovely person, for who it seems, nothing is too much trouble.

A welcome unofficial bring and borrow library service seems to operate here – you bring and leave your cheap paperback and take another from the stock others have left – great for variety of reading material when it’s too hot to do anything else.

The area is especially good for watersports with a couple of vendors close by; the best thing we did was to hire a motor boat for the day - £80 all in including the petrol – great sense of adventure and freedom and discovery (and cool wind).

The town is very busy at this time of year especially at night and is a ‘tourist town’, but not boisterous; we were happy to wander around, as it seems are all the locals, with our child at midnight – you don’t finish your evening meal until that time! This busyness does not affect the calm of the hotel as it is tucked away off the main street and a short distance from the centre.

Some very minor criticisms: a couple of the mattresses were very hard, in retrospect we should have mentioned it at the time and I’m sure Dina would have sorted it out. Additionally you have to pay for the air conditioning, (I think it was £70 for two weeks) however this is made clear in the brochure, but is very necessary at this time of year. As is the custom in these types of budget hotels, the included breakfast is very simple - cornflakes, bread, cheese and cheap ham, plus occasionally boiled eggs and cake!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed at the Palm Trees hotel for 1 week at the end of September 2010. Hotel is clean and comfortable, in a prime location right on the beach yet a small stroll from the centre of Nidri. Room was well furnished with LCD tv, fridge, air conditioning, balcony with stunning sea view, clean and adequate bathroom with shower. The owner and his family were very accommodating during our stay. Breakfast was basic but adequate and there were alternatives available at a small cost, including bacon and eggs which were as good as any we've ever had! Meals were available for lunch and in the evening and this included a daily special cooked by the owners mother. Safe to say that the specials were also extremely good and as good as anything that was available in the tavernas in Nidri.
Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Having read the previous reviews, yes this is not a 5 star hotel and therefore you should not expect 5 star standards. However, for a 2 star hotel, that has stunning sea views, which is clean and comfortable and has a great family providing excellent service, you cannot find any better!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsikoudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

B&B rooms are basic but clean, Room cleaning every day with sheets and towels changed every 3 days. Air conditioning available at extra charge. Studio rooms are brand new and spacious. Each room has a balcony with the B&B rooms having a view of the beach and the ionian sea with the islands of Spiros and Meganissi.

Room Tip: For best deal phone direct to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldtrave1ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

A friend and I made few demands and greatly enjoyed our week at the Palm Trees Hotel in Nidri, but we try here to give a balanced impression, bearing in mind what people often want.

We visited in late September. The hotel lies down a short lane leading off Nidri's main road. We heard no traffic and there were no rowdy guests. The small back garden is only moderately well maintained, the huge palms being its main glory, but it is right on the shingly beach. This is fairly narrow and shelves steeply once you are in the water, which is amazingly calm and clear. We did not need to pay to use the hotel’s loungers because we just swam.

Our own second floor bedroom was simply furnished with no easy chair. We found the beds firm but comfortable. This particular room was sparklingly clean and bright like most of the public areas. The fairly small ground floor bar and buffet area is not so bright. The bedroom walls were thin, but our neighbours were quiet. We did not need the safe deposit box or air conditioning so we escaped the extra charges for these. There was a telephone, an unstocked refrigerator and a TV without English language channels. Our balcony (with sunblind, table, chairs and drying rack) had the most wonderful view of the sea through the palm trees.

The small bathroom was divided in two by the raised edge of the shower tray, which enclosed the toilet as well as the shower. (The shower curtain enclosed only the shower and did keep the toilet dry.) This layout could be awkward. There was a decent-sized wash basin with constant hot water. The toilet cistern functioned well under its chipped lid. The shower curtain was slightly stained. As elsewhere in Greece, used toilet paper had to be placed in a bin and not in the toilet bowl. The bathroom and bedroom were cleaned on all but our last day. Strangely, the top sheets and bedspreads were removed and folded, so we had to remake our own beds each evening.

We did not like the monotony of the limited self-service breakfast choice included in our daily tariff. This has been described by other reviewers and made a tight-fisted impression. We did not buy any extras from the displayed menu. I ate my own bananas.

Breakfast was eaten under cover on the terrace, which was a nice setting. There isn’t really a residents’ lounge — only some seating between the buffet and the Greek-language TV set which was probably the owners’ family space. The lift was available only during the day because the ground floor lift lobby, which leads also to the owners' living quarters, is sealed off at night.

Letters of thanks on a noticeboard proved that many visitors had enjoyed lunches and festive evenings of home cooking which we did not experience.

Nidri at the end of the season was quite sedate, with good restaurants and plenty of boat trips still available. We did not experience the traffic and crowds which are criticised in some travel guides. We did some walking and visited Lefkada Town (which has a fine Greek bookshop), Meganissi, Cephalonia and Ithaca. We ate well, except at breakfast.

Because we saw the hotel just as a base for exploring Lefkas and the islands in a cooler time of year, we made few demands and were enchanted by the view. Perhaps we were lucky to have an immaculate room. If we had hoped for attentive service we would have felt disappointed, but in the event we were happy with our week.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Downswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This hotel is in need of a revamp. The smallest bathroom i have ever seen, I wasn't even able to stand in front of the toilet! The most boring breakfast every day. Sheets only changed once a week, and room not serviced on Saturdays. The garden was so overgrown that you couldn't see the sea from the 1st floor balcony. No English speaking channels on your TV. They say a friendly family run hotel, but with kids constantly running around and the owners watching greek TV in the small lounge I felt I was an intruder in thier home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank teknotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for two weeks and paid a premium as is was well reviewd. We are experience travellers to Greece and were looking forward to a delightful holiday. The only good thing about Palm Trees is its location it has lovely views and is on the beach. The hotel is small dirty and in desperate need of refurbishment. Scruffy old tiny room, tired oand inadequate bathroom with dirty stained fittings/shower curtain/towels etc.There was tatty old plastic garden furniture, and crowded, grotty expensive sunbeds (theirs were more expensive than all the other sunbeds on the beach). Breakfast was included but also uninspired. Toast jam, cheese and cornflakes only, everyday for two weeks.

We found that the owners were not the friendly helpful family I was expecting but rather we felt we were intruding in a private home with thier noisy children and tv on Greek sport channel all the time. Certainly did not feel we would be welcome in the only small lounge area available. Everything about this hotel is about maximum pofit for minimum service. It is way overdue for some major investment and service improvement. There are lots of hotels along the same strtch of beach which were far nicer and shared the same aspect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knitynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lefkada hotels
2.4 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nidri
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
141 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Olga Lounge Hotel
2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Trees Hotel

Address: | Nidri, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Lefkada
Number of rooms: 292

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing