We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday - greek style !!!”
Review of Lithies Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lithies Houses
Ranked #294 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Zakynthos
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We are Cosmin, Daniela and Sophia Maria, a young couple with a 2 years old daughter, all of us being in love with Greece... We have seen northern Greece twice before, and this year we decided to try to go in Zakynthos... Guess it was the best decision we made, starting with the destination (Zante is a gorgeous island), the period (September means summer in there, not autumn at all), and not at least the location (Lithies Houses).
About the island, we used to read before going in there, but seeing the island with your own eyes exceeds by far any written description (sandy beaches with shallow waters or in contrary small rocky gulf with turquoise deep waters, tall limestone walls with narrow winding roads through pine forests, large olive groves,beautiful people ready to help you in any kind, stone houses in traditional Greek style and almost everywhere the enchanted music of bouzouki).
About the location, we have been searching for a nice, quiet, relaxing place and this is what we discovered at Lithies Houses. We stayed at Xara House, the smallest house of all six, a stylish one, with 2 bedrooms, a living room, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and 2 verandas.
All the houses are placed in a very large olive grove, with fig trees, lemon trees, pomegranate trees, vines and a vegetable garden around, with some nice paths to walk on and some very old pine trees to keep shadow in the hot days...
Waking up in the morning, having the breakfast outside in veranda, listening the crickets and the sparrows, while tasting fresh figs, or some home made sweets and honey, all were wonderful moments.
That wasn't all, another fact is the tavern, combining in a delightful manner, the elegance with traditional. Above all you will find Fotini's hospitality, local foods which are simply delicious, and Giannis Xaroulis's magnificent music (Thank you Fotini for letting me to discover this)...
There were some very pleasant evenings at the tavern, with a glass of your lovely red wine, and Giannis Xaroulis's music.
We stayed for 10 days at Lithies Houses, far too little, still it was our best holiday in Greece so far.

Σας ευχαριστώ πολύ, ελπίζω να σας δούμε και πάλι (Thank you so much, we hope to see each other again).

Cosmin, Daniela & Sophia Maria
Craiova, Romania

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cosmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Lithies Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Everything in Lithies is hand made....the cheese, the bread, the olive oil, the wine the honey the tomatoes, the cucumbers even the tavern and the houses....
All the stone and wood work is made out of the hands of Nelos and Fotoulas....
Do not forget to ask to taste tsipouro, white wine and honey....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Fotini was very kind to us by giving the reservation confirmation asap as we had to apply for the Greek visas right away. We stayed on a villa called Hara, the place is ideal and we will definitely be back once on Zakynthos - the place hard to forget. We haven't tried the food in taverna, which I already regret, but I had a fantastic Greek coffee in the morning as a gesture of hospitality from the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This past August, I spent a couple of weeks here in Vasilikos, and while I didn't stay at Lithies Houses, I did wind up eating here a number of times.

Lithies Taverna is a family-run business that is very focused on providing the best possible service and food prepared in the “traditional manner”. For Fotula and Nello Giannoulis, that means with organic ingredients, largely produced on their own farm. I had the opportunity to explore their gardens, vineyard, and olive orchard and was very impressed by their operation. I have also used some of their products (jam, wine, olive oil) when entertaining others and they are always received enthusiastically. The jam (sour cherry) and wine are excellent, but even more valued and praised is the olive oil. The “home grown” characteristic of many of their ingredients makes a significant difference in things such as their hortiki (village salad) which uses their own vine ripened tomatoes rather than the imported Italian tomatoes used in many other establishments which are picked and shipped well before they are fully ripe.

The friendly family atmosphere actually makes one feel that one is being welcomed into the Giannoulis home for a meal. Both Nelo and Fotula do periodically check in with their guests to see how they are enjoying their meal and the home atmosphere extends to the “home made” quality of the food itself. One of my dining companions, who is extremely opinionated on this topic, has often stated that certain dishes (e.g., moussaka and pastitio) can only be authentically made in the home. Entrees such as these lose much of their quality when they are made outside of the home. However, she had nothing but compliments after tasting both of those dishes from Fotula’s kitchen. The rabbit stew in red sauce was particularly delicious and well worth the extra time it took to prepare it.

I would be remiss in my comments if I did not at least include a note on the starters and desserts as well. Lithies Taverna offers many of the traditional dips one would expect, as well as a wide variety of salads that go beyond the usual expectations. The feta cheese used in many of the salads and appetizers is exceptionally smooth and creamy, fried delights are light and tender, and Fotula produces very creative vinaigrettes according to the time of year. Desserts showcase, again, local and seasonal ingredients, whether it is a simple plate of melon or figs from the garden, yogurt covered with a gliko (fruit syrop), or various simple cakes. In short, I ate there a few times during my stay, mostly because every meal I had was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I did not stay here - my experience was in their taverna
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Boxelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at Lithies for two weeks this summer with our two girls, aged 7 and 9. We had been looking forward very much to a break and, I have to say, this place really exceeded our expectations. The houses are tasteful and fairly well equipped, but really it is the location that is special.

As city dwellers we really wanted our kids to be able to ‘run free’ while on holiday – and that’s certainly what they did! It wasn’t long before they were going off to visit the various farm animals, taking the dogs for a walk and feed carrots to the donkey. What’s more, there is a large grassy area between the houses which acts like a village green, and it was here that all the kids would meet up and play together (from Greece, the UK and Denmark, in our case).

The farm is not too far from the beach and is at the peaceful end of Zakynthos. Our hosts were very generous and almost every day we came back from the beach to find melons, tomatoes and pieces of cake left out for us. They also make their own wine, honey and bread at the farm, all of which are delicious.

The food in the taverna is excellent and we noticed that it’s one of the places where lots of Greek visitors go. We had plans to eat at lots of different places, but found ourselves drawn back to the taverna again and again!

The only criticisms of the place are pretty minor – we’d have loved to see the hot water heated by solar power rather than electricity … and some hammocks to swing in would have been nice!

In short, it’s a very idyllic place that we are sure we will return to.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more privacy ask for one of the houses set back a little from the grassy area.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JasonHep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We've stayed at Lithies Houses three times, so as you can imagine we love it. Located in the quieter part of the island in Vassiliko, Lithies Houses is a large estate full of trees and farm animals which is great value for money. The beautiful traditional 2-storey stone villas with their breathtaking view are the perfect getaway for anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing vacation. The owners, Fotoula and Nelos, will make you feel at home the moment you arrive. Their lovely tavern offers delicious local specialities along with their exquisite organic wine at reasonable prices!! The fantastic beach of Gerakas (nesting ground of the Caretta Caretta sea turtle) is only a 5 minute drive away. I look forward to going there again next summer!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dimitris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This was our 4th holiday at Lithies Houses so, no surprises, we just love it! Our hosts, Fotoula and Nelos, as ever made our week's stay trouble free, even arranging for a hire car ( from her brother and sister's Potamia Rentals) to be waiting at the airport.

As usual we stayed in the two storey stone houses Areti and Galini. Wonderfully clean, spacious and with all mod cons. Great eating at their own taverna, a short walk down through the fig, olive and citrus trees past the goats, with other very good tavernas close by. We particularly recommend Babbas and the Steakhouse.

A choice of good beaches is only a 20 minute walk ( a few minutes by car) and Joanna's is always well worth a stop for refreshments and provisions on the way back from the turtle Beach at Gerakas.

But what we really love about this place is friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and the tranquility. Not somewhere for a night out on the town but ideal for recharging the batteries.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliveperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zakynthos hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Katerina
Villa Katerina
#5 of 18 in Vasilikos
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Myrties The Stone Houses
Myrties The Stone Houses
#9 of 37 in Vasilikos
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brigitta Apartments
Brigitta Apartments
#6 of 37 in Vasilikos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Kapnisi
Villa Kapnisi
#13 of 37 in Vasilikos
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue House Apartments
Blue House Apartments
#14 of 37 in Vasilikos
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Joanna Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lithies Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lithies Houses

Address: Zakinthou - Vassilikou | Vasilikos, 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Zakynthos
Price Range: £63 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the unspoiled region of Vasilikos in Zakynthos Island, Lithies Houses offer traditional architecture, tranquility and friendly atmosphere. The houses are set in large private grounds of 55,000 m2, in a forest location, within the borders of the National Marine Park of Zakynthos, with views of the Ionian sea. Lithies houses offer a chance to enjoy the beautiful natural Greek landscape and a slower place of life. It is run by an agricultural family, providing you the chance to enjoy many biological homemade products such as: organic honey, olive oil, wine, fresh fruit and vegetables. Lithies houses are ideal for nature and alternative tourism lovers and those seeking a tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lithies Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing