We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lithies - an exceptional place”
Review of Lithies Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lithies Houses
Ranked #308 of 428 Speciality Lodging in Zakynthos
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is an exceptional place for those interested in exploring Zakynthos and discovering the local knowledge that make Vassilikos such a special place. The owners are people really involved in the community's social life and are always committed in explaining all those secrets that make a holiday in Vassilikos so distinctive and memorable. D&M UK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DimitriosT769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have visited Lithies tree times and I hope I go again! The best part of it is the garden with vegletables, that all visitors are free to cut fresh vegetation for everyday salads let alone the home wine and raki they make!. It is a perfect place for children because it is safe and has many aminals to get accustomed with ( a donkey, chickens, rabbits, a cow). The owners are the most friendly people I would expect. The houses are clean, spacious and have the comforts needed. Strongly recommened to families with small children!

Room Tip: For sea view from the bedroom choose the stone house ( I dont remember the name) that is next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

It is a really nice place with comfort facilities surrounded by olive trees. It is an ideal quite place for relaxing and to enjoy the hospitality of a wonderful couple (Fotini and Nelos). Both of them are trying to do everything to keep their visitors happy offering pure ecological products of their farm, great local wine and tsipouro. There are beautiful beaches close to their houses and their place is almost in the middle of them.
150 m away from their beautiful houses they operate a beautiful tavern with traditional Greek (local ) dishes and unique taste.
I recommend this place without any reservations to someone who is looking for something close to nature and restful holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Loved everything about LITHIES houses. Owner are amazingly friendly. Apartements are clean , spacious , and you get the feeling of back to nature. The taverna is delicious, dont forget to try their rabbit stew. We stayed with our 3 kids ages 5,8 and 12. they loved every part of the farm. They had the chance to pick organic vegetables and fruits. pet the animals farm ....meet some lovely neighbours. Will definetly do it again and again. i highly recommend their organic oil and honey...a bientot

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent a week at Lithies this September and can't recommend the place highly enough, superb surroundings, wonderful food and complete peace. Fotini and Nelos made us feel very welcome and were always there for help and advice.

There are several nearby beaches which can easily be reached on foot, fantastic for swmming or diving.

There are plenty of tavernas within walking distance but although we had planned on trying them out, we ended up eating at Lithies Taverna every night. The food was really good and fresh and we thoroughly enjoyed the Lithies wine.

There's a great pottery about 500 metres towards Garakas which is worth a visit.

We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Lithies two weeks in September 2012, the second time for us. We love this peaceful place in the olive grove and the garden with lemon and pine tree, wine-growing and lots of different vegetables. All ecological cultivated. And we love to eat breakfast on the big veranda in the morning listening to the cocks, dogs and sheeps in the village. Especially it is fantastic to sit where in the dark, warm evening.

We really like to stay in this small village with the fantastic nature and many beaches in the neighbourhood. We love to walk around and up in the hill or cycling on the small roads.

Fotini and Dionisis are very kind, helpful and hospitable. We often eat dinner in their taverna and enjoy the tasty organic food and vine.

We recommend Lithies to everybody who is looking for a restful and peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We are Cosmin, Daniela and Sophia Maria, a young couple with a 2 years old daughter, all of us being in love with Greece... We have seen northern Greece twice before, and this year we decided to try to go in Zakynthos... Guess it was the best decision we made, starting with the destination (Zante is a gorgeous island), the period (September means summer in there, not autumn at all), and not at least the location (Lithies Houses).
About the island, we used to read before going in there, but seeing the island with your own eyes exceeds by far any written description (sandy beaches with shallow waters or in contrary small rocky gulf with turquoise deep waters, tall limestone walls with narrow winding roads through pine forests, large olive groves,beautiful people ready to help you in any kind, stone houses in traditional Greek style and almost everywhere the enchanted music of bouzouki).
About the location, we have been searching for a nice, quiet, relaxing place and this is what we discovered at Lithies Houses. We stayed at Xara House, the smallest house of all six, a stylish one, with 2 bedrooms, a living room, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and 2 verandas.
All the houses are placed in a very large olive grove, with fig trees, lemon trees, pomegranate trees, vines and a vegetable garden around, with some nice paths to walk on and some very old pine trees to keep shadow in the hot days...
Waking up in the morning, having the breakfast outside in veranda, listening the crickets and the sparrows, while tasting fresh figs, or some home made sweets and honey, all were wonderful moments.
That wasn't all, another fact is the tavern, combining in a delightful manner, the elegance with traditional. Above all you will find Fotini's hospitality, local foods which are simply delicious, and Giannis Xaroulis's magnificent music (Thank you Fotini for letting me to discover this)...
There were some very pleasant evenings at the tavern, with a glass of your lovely red wine, and Giannis Xaroulis's music.
We stayed for 10 days at Lithies Houses, far too little, still it was our best holiday in Greece so far.

Σας ευχαριστώ πολύ, ελπίζω να σας δούμε και πάλι (Thank you so much, we hope to see each other again).

Cosmin, Daniela & Sophia Maria
Craiova, Romania

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cosmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zakynthos hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Katerina
Villa Katerina
#5 of 18 in Vasilikos
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Myrties The Stone Houses
Myrties The Stone Houses
#9 of 37 in Vasilikos
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Joanna Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Kapnisi
Villa Kapnisi
#16 of 37 in Vasilikos
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brigitta Apartments
Brigitta Apartments
#7 of 37 in Vasilikos
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olga Studios
Olga Studios
#4 of 37 in Vasilikos
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lithies Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lithies Houses

Address: Zakinthou - Vassilikou | Vasilikos, 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 428 Speciality Lodging in Zakynthos
Price Range: £63 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the unspoiled region of Vasilikos in Zakynthos Island, Lithies Houses offer traditional architecture, tranquility and friendly atmosphere. The houses are set in large private grounds of 55,000 m2, in a forest location, within the borders of the National Marine Park of Zakynthos, with views of the Ionian sea. Lithies houses offer a chance to enjoy the beautiful natural Greek landscape and a slower place of life. It is run by an agricultural family, providing you the chance to enjoy many biological homemade products such as: organic honey, olive oil, wine, fresh fruit and vegetables. Lithies houses are ideal for nature and alternative tourism lovers and those seeking a tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lithies Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing