We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and local produce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lithies Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lithies Houses
Ranked #250 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Zakynthos
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Excellent food and local produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went to Lithies tavern this June to eat as part of an an international conference that was organised in Zakynthos. People from Cyprus, Italy, Spain, Greece were really really satisfied by the good quality of the food. It is all real local produce that Nelos and Fotoula pick from their back garden (vegetables), as well as local meat. The quality exceded our expectations and i think this place is a must for people that want to to taste real good local produce cooked in a traditional manner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malamo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

After looking for a few weeks for a nice Greek destination on all the generic usual holiday websites and finding nothing I liked, I decided to book the flight and accommodation separately. I found Lithies Houses on a holiday lettings website and fell in love instantly with the look, feel, location and all round general ethos of it.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, Fotini and made to feel instantly welcome. We were showed to our house "Areti" and fell in love all over again. This stunning stone built two story house not only has everything you need or want, but has the most stunning views of farmland, mountains and of course, the Ionian sea less than a kilometre away.

We only ate at the tavern on the first night as we wanted to explore different eateries and distribute the custom around the town. That said, the farm has its own vineyard and we had 3 bottles of home grown organic white off Fotini over the week and splendid it was too!!

The beautiful and homely comfortable house aside, the setting is second to none. This was my first time to Greece and picked Vasilikos based on the quiet and peaceful setting I wanted, I wasn't disappointed. The whole town is just filled with the sounds of the birds singing, the local goats and donkeys, dogs, cats, chickens, along with the distant sound of authentic Greek music from a local tavern and the odd scooter going up the quiet road. Being towards the corner of the island, you don't really get lots of tourists or traffic, but busy enough to create a warm welcome and a real sense of community.

Apart from Fotini herself, you'll find Joanna at the local supermarket which is open from 7.30 until almost midnight!! Mario, the local boat tour guide ( read my separate review ) and everyone you pass will say hello to you.

I thoroughly loved this holiday and yes it's fair to say I fell in love with Greece, her people, her food, her breathtakingly stunning views, her easy going way of life, her climate and her many beautiful things to see and do, but the cherry on the icing was finding and stopping at Lithies houses.

Thank you Fotini and all of your staff for making my stay a week I'll never forget.........I'll be back!

Room Tip: The farm has several houses, some bungalows and a couple of stone built two storey houses. The main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lithies is the best place for those interested in tasting the traditional side of Zakynthos. The location and the houses are fantastic but what makes the difference is the tavern. The owners choose the local cuisine which is based on pure products from the big garden of Lithies!Don't forget to try the potato salad-it's exeptional! You can also buy local products from the owners such as "spoon sweets" made from almost any fruit you like,homemade jams,honey,liquors, extra virgin olive oil for you or to offer as a gift to your friends.personally i loved the quince preserve.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We loved Lithies house and the reviews we read were helpful, so I decided to write as well. We stayed in Hara, which was perfect for us & two kids. Other houses had indeed bigger verandas, but Hara has the best layout for young kids & we could use the front veranda to eat breakfast in the morning and the balcony (albeit small) to eat lunch, going with the shade. The interior was clean & comfortable, the bathroom was not newly refurbished though, but not a big deal. Washing machine - very useful. What we liked most was the lawn in the back of the house - we spent the most wonderful time in the shadow (even at lunchtime!) playing on the grass. Food @ the taverna was very good (not the cheapest, but worth it), and the short trip back to the house enchanting for the kids as they got to use torches.
The hosts were very nice (never there to impose, always available when you needed help) and were very helpful when we had a car problem. Local supermarket can bring fresh fish if you order one day in advance and the island & the kareta-kareta waiting to be explored. For trips around the island recommend small boats, much nicer than the big, touristy ones and give you a better sense of adventure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deliaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

staying here is fabualous.
the house is very charming.
the bed room is very big and the kitchen area is nice.
the local area is absolutely delighful, if you like the quite life which i do.
there are lots of birds and wildlife as well as farm animals (horses, goats, chickens) in the local area to look at.
the nearest beach is stunning! and sandy.
i would highly recommend going hear in May which is off season but absolutely charming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is an exceptional place for those interested in exploring Zakynthos and discovering the local knowledge that make Vassilikos such a special place. The owners are people really involved in the community's social life and are always committed in explaining all those secrets that make a holiday in Vassilikos so distinctive and memorable. D&M UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DimitriosT769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have visited Lithies tree times and I hope I go again! The best part of it is the garden with vegletables, that all visitors are free to cut fresh vegetation for everyday salads let alone the home wine and raki they make!. It is a perfect place for children because it is safe and has many aminals to get accustomed with ( a donkey, chickens, rabbits, a cow). The owners are the most friendly people I would expect. The houses are clean, spacious and have the comforts needed. Strongly recommened to families with small children!

Room Tip: For sea view from the bedroom choose the stone house ( I dont remember the name) that is next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zakynthos hotels
0.2 mi away
Myrties The Stone Houses
Myrties The Stone Houses
#10 of 36 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Joanna Studios & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Villa Kapnisi
Villa Kapnisi
#16 of 36 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brigitta Apartments
Brigitta Apartments
#6 of 36 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Zante Fiore Studios
Zante Fiore Studios
#5 of 36 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ammos Villas
Ammos Villas
#23 of 36 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lithies Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lithies Houses

Property: Lithies Houses
Address: Zakinthou - Vassilikou | Vasilikos, 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Zakynthos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the unspoiled region of Vasilikos in Zakynthos Island, Lithies Houses offer traditional architecture, tranquility and friendly atmosphere. The houses are set in large private grounds of 55,000 m2, in a forest location, within the borders of the National Marine Park of Zakynthos, with views of the Ionian sea. Lithies houses offer a chance to enjoy the beautiful natural Greek landscape and a slower place of life. It is run by an agricultural family, providing you the chance to enjoy many biological homemade products such as: organic honey, olive oil, wine, fresh fruit and vegetables. Lithies houses are ideal for nature and alternative tourism lovers and those seeking a tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lithies Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing