We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so accommodation”
Review of Airotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Airotel Galaxy
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So so accommodation”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here in July 2013, just a short stay and the hotel was good for that. Central location, we had a room overlooking the harbour which was wonderful. Overall the service was great, HOWEVER, the buffet breakfast which was included in our deal was packed up over half an hour before the advertised end time. As non smokers we dined in the non-smoking side of the restaurant but the air conditioners were not turned on and it was very hot as the restaurant is located on the rooftop and had glass all around. While the views were great the comfort level was non existent. Furthermore the air conditioners in the smokers part of the restaurant were working! Very peculiar set up indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views, and don't take up the offer for breakfast as the buffet was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Operations Manager at Airotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Voula K,

Thank you for staying at the Airotel Galaxy Hotel while travelling to Kavala last year and for taking the time to share your comments.
It is with pleasure that we learn that your stay was an enjoyable one and of your satisfaction with the level of service you received from most of our staff.
However, regretfully we have made note of the lapse in service you received in the Roof Garden of our hotel and would like to apologise for the disappointment caused to you.
With regard to the operation of our Roof Garden we are pleased to inform you that breakfast has been improved greatly and that the whole area of the restaurant is now non smoking.
Hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you and extend the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind Regards,

Ioannou Dimas Dimitrios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    233
    87
    22
    9
See reviews for
156
206
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We chose this hotel due to various reviews, including tripadvisor and travel guides. It is probably geared up for a mixed clientele - business and tourists. It falls somewhere between the two. The room we had (110) had a great view of the harbour/castle/old town. It was a little shoddy and not the cleanest, but had a good sized bathroom and was big enough for the 3 of us (2 adults + 1 child). The breakfast was a mixed bag, again somewhere in between a standard international hotel offering and more local fare. I suppose there is something for everyone, but I was generally underwhelmed. We only stayed the one night and, as a stop-over, it did the job. Middle of the road, nothing more. Choose for the location only.

Room Tip: 110 had a good view of the harbour/castle and a large bathroolm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Operations Manager at Airotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear DMW,

On behalf of the entire team at the Airotel Galaxy, we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
In our attempt to improve our property, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
I was sorry to hear that you have mixed feelings about our hotel.
As you may understand, we try to satisfy all different people from different cultures that are visting Airotel Galaxy and the city of Kavala in general.
Please rest assured that we will attend to the points you highlighted.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kavala.

Kind Regards,

Ioannou Dimas Dimitrios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

First amazing thing is the location right in the middle of everything you need and want in Kavala. Shops and restaurants are directly behind the hotel. The harbour is across the road. The castle is up the road. Bars are around the corner and you can walk to a couple of beaches. The breakfast is massive and tasty. The staff are super helpful and nice. The gym works fine. A couple of small gripes though, the ironing board was broken in my room and there was very limited parking but Street parking was very close. All in all, it was a great experience. Big thanks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazel_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I got so many thoughts in my mind for this hotel...
To begin with, it is located in the heart of kavala just 15 feet from the sea! If you reach it by car, there is a small parking in front of the hotel, but if it is full you can park it for free in a safe, extra one parking about 150 meters far.
As concern the stuff: They are polite, friendly and helpfull!
The building ir renovated and all the areas from lobby, rooms and the roof garden are modern and new!
When i opened the room i thought that i was the first one that i had to stay in that! It is so clean, really! The interior is quite modern and we did not heared any noise from the other rooms, so good soundproof.
Last but not least, THE BREAKFAST! I think perfect... There is a wige rande of products, from light menu (milk, bread, muesli, yogurt etc), the normal (omelate, eggs, croissant, bread etc..) but the best are the greek products.. (Bugatsa, many greek pies, egg fried slices and many more).
If i have to find any disadvantage maybe it is the price.. I think it is a little expensive for a 4 star (during summer season)

Room Tip: Of course if you have a choice, prefer the front side of the hotel, so magic sea view. But if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AkiSKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Good quality and location...beautifull view from the restaurant at seventh floor... A little bit noisy with open windows on the sea side. The rooms are clean and well structured, the forniture is quite new... The prices are very good and in line with the other hotels...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel paid a extra 10 euros for sea view well worth it .rooms are good size beds very comfortable breakfast fantastic they even have a roof top area for meals and drinks will stop here again for sure x

Room Tip: 109 see view quiet and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulbg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

first time in Galaxy, i was very impressed by the location of the hotel. Everything in maximum 2,3 minutes walking distance...city center, old town, port everything.. ( in case you want to go to swim you need a car, or by bus or 4,5 euros by taxi ). Clean comfortable minimal room with view to the old town...if you pay something more you get a sea view room! I was very lucky they gave me a free upgrade ! Polite and friendly staff especially multi language speaking kristina, Aristomenis , stefanos and DIlhan! Fantastic roof garden with panoramic view of Kavala, old town and Kavalas port. Delicious with variety of choices breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavala hotels
1.5 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Imaret Hotel
Imaret Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
#8 of 14 in Kavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Traditional Hotel Akontisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Galaxy

Property: Airotel Galaxy
Address: 27 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Kavala 653 02, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AIROTEL Chain of Hotels presents to the city of Kavala the Galaxy Hotel it deserves! The spaces and services of the reconstructed and fully renovated building combine the modern aesthetics and technology with its long lasting fame with respect to the area’s traditions. The hotel consists of 149 rooms spread over 6 floors, the highest of which, gives position to a special Roof Garden with a panoramic view to the amphitheatrically built city and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Galaxy Hotel Kavala
Galaxy Hotel Kavála

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing