We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A nice hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"A nice hotel"”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We visited this hotel at least four times so we probably have an adequate picture for the next evaluation. You will need a car if you want to go to the center of the city of Kavala . The hotel has several parking spaces. This hotel is actually an excellent 3 + hotel. It is best to request a room with a sea view. You will have views of the sea and city of Kavala. The elevator does not fit more than two people and it will need patience at the hours of the breakfast. The breakfast is adequate and includes all the necessary like eggs, jams, butter, bread, juices, cold cuts, cheese, and other like cheese pies, etc. Also if you want you can order another kind of coffee for free if you are not satisfy with the French coffe which is basic. Try the greek "FRAPE" especially in the summertime. The rooms are adequately, the beds are pretty well and the same goes for the layers. In the rooms there is always an ashtray which means that everyone can smoke inside the rooms. The aircondition unit is really ancient and needs replacing. All rooms have wifi internet connection and you 'll get all the necessery passwords from the reception. The menu of the room service is rather poor but not very expensive. Finally, great caution when you park your car . The parking space is on a bend in a large downhill and all Greeks are running like crazy with their cars especially locals. So be careful on how you stop your car for the parking. After all that : A good hotel for the cost of the rooms with all the drawbacks mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask for the second or third floor. Definitely with sea view. Always ask first if the have any refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEORGE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    85
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
81
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kavala, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The main worth of this hotel is its view. For that reason the roof garden is a must visited place. The waitresses are polite but not speeking good english. The prices are a bit expencive for what you get especially when it comes to the food.
The main complaint is that there is no smoking policy in the area. I am a part time smoker but still I was surprised to see in such a hotel people let to smoke free inside the restaurant. When complained about it in the reception the answer was 'oh that means you don't smoke'..!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights whilst on holiday on Thassos, so we could take in all the city of Kavala offers. Lovely hotel, fabulous food, excellent service and nice rooms with a magnificent view over the Bay of Kavala. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We booked last minute and got an excellent rate for one night, and initially the welcome and getting a weather report and somebody asking if you were happy with the room was a lovely touch. Room service and the food was very good. The pool area is very stylish. I am so glad we did not pay full rate because there were many points that made it less than what you would want of a 4/5 star hotel. The room was very warm and a member of staff responded - well its Greece what do you expect - well I expect a room that is a comfortable temperature to sleep in. It was suggested I open the balcony door - but as we were on the busy main street that was not an ideal option. The evening meal was okay but throughout the staff were rearranging the dining room after a large party had dined, and making a huge amount of noise, at least the barman apologised for the disruption. I think the waitresses must have had a trying evening and had had quite enough of hotel guests by the time we sat down to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tryavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pafos
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Me and my wife were very dissappointed when we entered the hotel and saw the surroundings. It was our fault as it was a last minute holiday and did not really paid attention.There is nothing to do there so DO NOT GO if you have young children. However the staff was excellent very friendly and helpful, breakfast fine,excellent views from our room, and a brilliant roof garden restaurant. Room Service perfect and cleaning the room morning and afternoon. My wife used the spa/relaxation centre and was very satisfied, had internet just outside our room. The only negative was the fact that there was nothing for our 2 year old son to do so we could not relax while been in the hotel.I would recommend it for business people 100% they will love it, but I believe that it's not suitable for holidays.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salpiggidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I ve been there for 3 nights last month. Excellent food, amazing view from my window. Nice NICE NICE NICE SPA. Exellent massage, clean pool. Loves mrs Stella Kotrotsou, clever, young and polite operation manager.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makinoskav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.AFRICA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

It was my only available option for the Christmas season and I stayed there for 5 nights.
Let’s start with the good things:
Have to get a room facing front because it’s all about the view. Very conveniently placed on the main road so you cannot miss it. There is parking however it is located next to the hotel (open) and on a sharp curve by the main road .However there is no parking space on pick times and you have to park in front of the main entrance of the hotel. Also there was a braking in on a customer’s car while I was there. So no security at all. There are facilities for gym, massage etc.
The restaurant is well locating with excellent view and the food is acceptable but over prized.
Most of people working there are professional and the front desk very helpful and polite.
Now for the bad:
The rooms are very small, smelling of smoke and as I got in I had an allergy reaction to all the aromas they had sprayed in order to cover the smoke and dust on the room. There is no space for two people to put their clothes on the wardrobe as it is only one and just a meter long. So it is a double room but your clothes need to stay in the travel bags!
The hotel was very noisy between 9 and 12 and since I was on a holiday I wished to sleep a bit late but that could not be possible at al.
The main restaurant does not have any smoking policy and people smoke wherever they want and as a result you are ending up smoking with them while you are eating.
T he food was way too expensive (two people with no wine 80 euro). And the food was under cook.
Some of the stuff there have a very negative attitude and do not like complains at all.
Last we got food poison by a complimented wine that was 5 years old and kept on top of the bar fridge in a cabin and as a result from the 30 + temperature in there it had gone bad.
My wife got sick the all night and when I complained about it they did nothing at all!!!When I called the room service and ask them to urgent bring a coke in order to help my wife they replied very sarcastically: how did she got sick so quick from the wine??
The including large breakfast is disappointing I only use it once….. In five days of stay.
It is a business hotel and I wouldn’t recommended to people that come from overseas and knowing what a 4 star hotel facility is all about.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavala hotels
1.3 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavala
360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Airotel Galaxy
Airotel Galaxy
#2 of 14 in Kavala
626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kavala
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Imaret Hotel
Imaret Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kavala
187 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tosca Beach Bungalows
Tosca Beach Bungalows
#9 of 14 in Kavala
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
#6 of 14 in Kavala
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egnatia City Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egnatia City Hotel & Spa

Property: Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
Address: 139 7th Merarchias Str., Kavala 654 03, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Egnatia City Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa is a hotel, where luxury competes with the sensation of fullness and the aesthetics with high quality services. Enjoy your luxurious stay at the top of the hilly area in which the city of Kavala Is situated, where everything is designed for the guest’s complete satisfaction with orientation and target, , whether you are in the city for business or seeking for recreation and relaxation. It is 32 kilometers away from the airport “Alexander the Great” and five minutes away from the city center. Also, some of the most beautiful beaches in the country are only a few minutes away. The luxurious rooms are spacious, functional, stylish and beautifully decorated in earthy tones.The complete relaxation in a comfortable and meticulously cared place.Most of the rooms have a private balcony with view, either to the mountain of Kavala, or to the sea. Relax and let your eyes wander, from the panoramic view of the city and the harbor, to the island of Thasos and the Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Egnatia City Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing