We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Esperia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esperia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Hotel is located in the center of the town, close to the See. The rooms are small and not very clean. Breakfast was average, the quality of the food was ok. The hotel has a really small parking (free of charge). Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDDBansko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

We chose the Esperia because it was central and reasonably priced. However, we'd look for somewhere else next time.
On the positive side the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean - nothing spectacular, just what you'd expect from any hotel of this class.
We stayed in one of the standard rooms - which meant that it was small, dark and with a pretty unappealing view of the side street. First impressions were soured by the smell of smoke in the room from a previous occupant. Sound insulation between rooms and floors is non-existent. Also there was no safe in the room although this was advertised on the website. After mentioning this to the reception we found that a safe had been placed in the wardrobe the following day. However, this was useless since it wasn't fixed down, so a thief could just walk off with it! Unfortunately the roof garden, which might have provided a view of the sea, was out of commission.
The breakfast was very good with a wide choice. One word of warning. Don't leave any food unattended on the balcony while you go and get another coffee - large aggressive seagulls and pigeons will make off with your food and dip their beaks into your yoghurt - nasty.
There is an underground carpark, but we found the entrance to this blocked one day when we were returning from an outing. For this reason, we decided to pay to put the car in the car park opposite (6 euros overnight) rather than risk not being able to get out when we had to leave.

My advice is to check if there are any school parties staying in the hotel. A group of 200 - yes 200! out of control, rampaging, singing, running and shouting Serb students kept us awake till 4 am, despite the best efforts of a single night porter to try to shut them up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hippocleides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

inconvenient bathroom in our Superior Double Room with Sea View.
Noise from the street early in the morning because of the floating market on Saturdays.
Breakfast is good, but there were birds (doves) on the table at the open terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljuba_Shumkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a basic hotel. Not much to be expected, but you won't pay a lot of money, so you won't need to pay for things you won't get. Service is adequate; not very professional, but pretty friendly, which is typical in many small hotels in Greece. Breakfast is not exceptional, but not bad either. Location is pretty convenient as well, but Kavala is small anyway, so it doesn't make a major difference if you live a few hundred meters away from the place you wish to go.
All in all, an adequate and not expensive hotel if you want to spend a couple of nights in Kavala.

A tip for breakfast: if you eat on the balcony, don't leave your food unattended. A seagull ate half my sandwich when I did that!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms. There is a huge difference between these and the older ones and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilipposATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Basic hotel and basic breakfast. 5min from the harbor but just in front of the sity marketplace (which is not advantage). Too noisy! Good service. They have directed us to the RIGHT restaurant. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conqueror233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed here for 4 days in December. The hotel is in a great location!
I had a nice room, however the first room I was given had not been made up, but they soon sorted it.
I was overlooking the main road, and so there was a slight noise, but all in all it was fine.
Breakfast was actually quite good for a greek hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was a nice centrally located hotel.
The room was renovated and clean,breakfast was also very good.
Nothing negative to say really, except for the parking(quite "uncomfortable") but...oh...well...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavala hotels
0.3 mi away
Airotel Galaxy
Airotel Galaxy
#2 of 14 in Kavala
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
#5 of 14 in Kavala
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavala
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imaret Hotel
Imaret Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kavala
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Philoxenia
Hotel Philoxenia
#13 of 14 in Kavala
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperia Hotel

Address: 44 Erithrou Stavrou, Kavala 654 03, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Price Range: £42 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esperia Hotel is a three stars hotel, renovated on April 2009. It is located in the centre of Kavala, on the sea - front Avenue of Erythrou Stavrou Str., with a view of the sea, 300 m. from the beach Rapsani.Access to the Hotel is very easy. It is situated 350m. from the central bus station and 450m. from the port. The trip from kavala international airport takes only 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esperia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperia Hotel Kavála

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing