We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if not 5* definitely 4*+”
Review of Lucy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lucy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It's been a business trip during November, so my expectations were different to the ones of those spending their summer vacations there. It's true that one needs a taxi to visit the city (the price of which however doesn't exceed 5 euros for a 10min' ride). I stayed with my husband in a junior suite with an amazing sea view, which was definitely a 5* experience(including bathrobes, slippers, bathtub, etc). Most importantly, mattresses and pillows were of very good quality!

Breakfast buffet was rich (with no unnecessary items that end up being recycled or thrown away) with fresh roles and pastry, greek delicacies, eggs and bacon, variety of teas, and so on. The food we tried in the restaurant was good but not superb.

There is a business corner, fast wi-fi and a lounge - bar for smokers (convenient for the ones who cannot do without it).

Room Tip: If you can afford it try the jounior suite with a sea view. If not make sure that you get a renovate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasiliki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Due to a holiday in Turkey, the hotel was fully booked which also increased number of problems ...

In general, Lucy is one of the best in Kavala area but surely not a 5* hotel.

They have clean rooms but that's all. Paid 100 € / room for 2 persons including buffet breakfast which is not cheap at all.Also this time the breakfast buffet was terrible due to crowd..

Quite far away from the city center and you have to have a car or use taxi to go to downtown area.

The beach is a public one , ca. 50 mt from the hotel with clean & clear waters. Hotel is providing towels for beach as well.

The service at the hotel bar and breakfast room was too slow. To be able to have a cup of coffee you should wait at least 15 minutes :(

Room Tip: We always stay at junier suite by paying some extra ..They all have sea view ( either castle or bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKALIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location of the Hotel can't be beat.
The room was just the right size, but nothing special.
A terrible, strong sewer smell was coming from the bathroom and our balcony was full of bird droppings.
Poor quality food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aristea_Gian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After a very long search for a perfect holiday (one that includes both sightseeing and relaxing on a beach), my girlfriend and I decided to go to Kavala, and picked the Lucy hotel for our stay. We booked through a Serbian travel agency, at a very low price for this kind of accommodation. We booked a double sea-view room, on a half-board basis.

When we arrived, we received the keys to a room immediately, even though we were there early, and our check-in wasn't supposed to be for another two-three hours. The first impression of the hotel is very nice, the lobby is big and nicely decorated, the reception staff very polite and helpful. The room was exactly what we wanted, clean and nicely furnished, the bed big and comfortable, the bathroom spacious. One minor letdown was that there was only a low shower tub with a curtain instead of a bathtub, or at least a full shower cabin, which was why there were always puddles of water on the bathroom floor after taking a shower.

Everything else was quite amazing. The service at the hotel was superb, our room was cleaned at least once a day (sometimes even two times a day), towels changed daily, bed sheets changed daily or once in every two days. As for the food, it was very diverse, lots of salads, pastry, meat and sweets. Even though we were there on half-board, we were never hungry, and rarely ate between the breakfast and dinner we had at the hotel. The waiters are very friendly and always smiling, which ads to the overall feeling of being welcome. The hotel is situated at the outskirts of Kavala, but the city center is 5 minutes away if you take the bus which stops 50 meters away from the hotel.

The hotel is next to a public beach, but it has private sunbeds and umbrellas on a part of it nearest to the hotel. The beach itself is nice, and the water cleaner than we expected (for a big city with a port), although a bit cold at times. We usually went for the hotel pool instead, which is great, clean, and was never crowded while we were there. Towels for the pool and the beach are free to use for hotel guests.

There is also a private beach located at a small bay one bus stop away, called Batis. The entrance fee is 1 euro, which is ridiculously cheap for what you get - very clean and calm water, sunbeds and umbrellas, sports facilities, a pool, kids playgrounds - all included in that price. If you have a car, you can visit nearby places of Iraklitsa, Peramos and Ammolofoi, for nice beaches and relaxation at beach bars.

I warmly recommend the city sights if you are adventurous and want to see more than a beach and the sea. Checkout the home of Mohamed Ali pasha, and the old Kavala fortress, both on top of the center hill in the old part of town. It is a bit of a climb (especially the fortress) but absolutely worth it for the sights and the view you get. There is also a free public train that goes up the hill at every full hour until 2 PM, but note that it makes a full circle, so look for it's stop at the highest point possible as to not make it down the hill without getting off (speaking from experience on that one :))

All in all, it was a great holiday, and a superb hotel. I recommend it to both couples and families, you will feel very welcome, and as for us - I believe we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: If possible, take a sea view room. The city view (or mountain view) rooms look at nearby buildings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the week before I came here I stayed in a hotel in china.
It was 4 star, Lucy is 5 star. I think not.
It may be the best hotel in town and superior to other Greek hotels but it is nowhere near 5* international class.
No Robes, slippers, the bathroom accessories are cheap and not comprehensive.
Location is lovely if you want to travel by taxi to find something open after 2000hrs. although this was at the end of the season. It may be different in Summer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoshortplanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a 7 days with another couple and we have enjoyed our holiday there. With this occasion we will like to say a special THANK YOU to Hasan SELEN from Non-Stop Travel from Bucharest, very professional and we will come back to them for our next holiday.

Plus:
1.Location,near by the beach. In my opinion this Hotel has the best location from Kavala.
2.Beach was clean and the sea was clear.
3.The view from the restaurant and from our room 214 and our friends room 205.
4.The young man from the beach(sorry we do not know his name) a big .Thank you! he has gave us many tips regarding the restaurants/bars/beaches from or near Kavala.

Minus:
1. The carpet from the rooms, is was the most dirty carpet I saw in my life so far in a Hotel. The room was not vacuum during our stay there and it is not acceptable for a 3* Hotel but for a 5 * Hotel.....very disappointing!
2. The food from the last 3 days during our stay there was poorer compering with the first three days probably because it was the end of the season but this is not an excuse for a 5*hotel, especially because we paid not less than if we'd came in August.
3.Except the young man who was in charge with the beach, I think that other employees of the hotel services needs to be upgraded to a 5 star hotel.
4.Pool closes at 18 and the saving lifeguard start to gather the cushions from the sun lounges from 16.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirabellandreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The strong points of this hotel are:
1. Its excellent location and view of the city of Kavala
2.The size of its rooms and,
3.The swimming pool
The breakfast although plenty in quantity, was at best very-very average in quality.For example a hotel that claims to be '5 star' must have real fruit juices and not water thin immitation fruit drinks!! The food in general was food that you find in a mediocre three star hotel. The top selves in the room closet had not been dusted for sometime... There were only 3 or 4 hangers in the closet.. To mention few of the negative things that come to mind.
I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavala hotels
1.5 mi away
Imaret Hotel
Imaret Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kavala
192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airotel Galaxy
Airotel Galaxy
#2 of 14 in Kavala
652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tosca Beach Bungalows
Tosca Beach Bungalows
#9 of 14 in Kavala
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kavala
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Porto Palio
Porto Palio
#6 of 14 in Kavala
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucy Hotel

Address: Kalamitsa Beach, Kavala 654 04, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lucy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located at the western end of the city of Kavala at the tip of cape Kalamitsa, our hotel offers a combination of spectacular sea views of the Aegean, elegantly decorated rooms and suites, a variety of dining facilities, superb meeting and event planning capabilities, an outdoor swimming pool, a blue flag sandy beach - a combination of a resort hotel within the city's reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lucy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing