We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE ONLY GENUINE MUSEUM HOTEL IN THE WORLD”
Review of Imaret Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imaret Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our French brethren owe the obelisk in place de la concord to Mehmet (or Muhamet ) Ali from Kavala. He was a great admirer of Napoleon and he sent the obelisk as a gift to him. Napoleon in his turn he sent him a Breguet watch that was broken. It did not make a difference to him because he could not neither read or write. But after being the khediv (the king) of Egypt, he returned to Kavala that he left when he was 5 years old and asked his fellow citizens if they want a mosque or a school. For our luck they answered a school. So the Imaret was built. Imaret means religious school financed by someone, in that case Mehmet Ali and took the name KAVALALI MEHMET ALI PASA. That is Mehmet Ali pasa from Kavala. Although the hotel even today belongs to the Egyptian government, the overall reconstruction of it is very impressive. It was built in 1817 as a school, and after Kavala became Greek it was left to its luck. So when Mrs., Misirliyan took the project into her hands it was practically in ruins. Only to bring the building to its original state was an enormous task. After too much study, work and of course money the Imaret took the shape that is in today. The owner is so meticulous that she wouldn't even let you speak very loudly. She also has a collection of tea cups that belonged to Queen Virginie of Austria that went to inaugurate the Suez canal and were ordered by Mehmet Ali only for her visit to Egypt. The hotel is a treat to the eyes during the sunset. As was a school of 67 rooms for the advantage of the hotel the rooms were reduced to 37, so the bathrooms are the original bathrooms with modern needs. They are a little bit higher then usual to get in so be careful. The amenities in the bathroom are Bulgari and linen and towels are of the highest Egyptian quality. If you are, I read in bed type, bring a small reading light with you because the rooms are pretty dark. After the nightly service of your room you will always have fruit or sweets and chocolates in your room. And as is the custom in Muslim countries water, a bowl and a towel for you to wash your feet before you get into the bed. The restaurant accepts guests (even if you are staying in the hotel)
only by reservation. The bar on the other hand is open to anyone. If you are a group of friends it is wise to reserve for the bar as well. Breakfast is sublime, everything is made at the spot and fresh. So when the hotel is full you can wait a few moments otherwise the service is fantastic. Rooms (even the cheaper ones) big and beds are very comfortable. The pool that you see in the internet os brochures is not for swimming. Tell the girls in the reception to give a tour of the premises to see the spa and the water cistern that even today is full of water. Minor setback: The hotel is smack over the port. Some days there are ferries departing very early in the morning that can wake you up. Mehmet Ali maybe didn't know how to read and write but he was not ignorant, far from it. He was very intelligent to finish a quote from him: SEEK FOR KNOWLEDGE, WHEREVER IT IS TO BE FOUND.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic but if you can afford it choose the corner suite to utmost privacy and luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed for one night, beautiful place, well run and the most important and THE historical sight to visit in Kavala. Really enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Usually we select for our stay the best hotel to be informed about how the competition to improve service to our Hotel. Imaret Hotel is the best of everything we have stayed in Greece. The atmosphere and environment are not compared. The way they have renovated the spaces and the rooms is characterized by the respect and the sensitivity to the architectural elements of the original construction.
The services of the rooms are unrivaled and compared with only 7-star hotels.
The strict rules of operation are necessary for a Hotel - Monument at that level. The specific time to rigorously check in - check-outs allows the preparation of the room (opening music, placing fresh flowers final check etc).
The historic atmosphere of the residence in Imaret requires respect, which is manifested by a set of rules in the operations of spaces and rooms of the monument. These rules are fully respected and understood by all customers who chose Imaret for their stay. Also, these strict rules are fully understood as necessary for tranquility and privacy for the occupants stay, within the high standards of service they expect to find on Imaret. We strongly recommend Imaret which offers memorable experiences that we believe you deserve to live.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

There could not be a better place to relax. Or a more beautiful place to stay. Perfect service, immaculate rooms, tranquility throughout. Also a very nice restaurant. I hope to return often.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amymone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here with my wife in August for 1 night before we crossed over to Thassos. Overall a lovely hotel with a high standard of service. It was pretty quiet when we were there but we loved this. We had the pool area and beds to ourselves. The rooms were superb, very clean and the maids were so friendly.

It is pretty pricey and I'm not sure I would pay the normal room rate for what it is however we acheived a deal with the advanced booking and overall we were very happy. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RR-AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I really love IMARET - a place to recover after a tough business week, a place to experience the miracles of history, the beauties of natural harmony and perfect hospitality. The services provided to the customers are excellent and moreover, they have always been like that in the last four years.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank gemini6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Although you will be amazed from the beauty and the aura of this monument, you will soon be dissapointed of the rooms and what they provide. A mini bar with only a variety of waters, which were unexpectadly expensive. Secondly the rooms were very small and quite uncomfortable, not to mention the pillows which were by far the worst that i have ever seen! Imagine that i tried to sleep on the towels! I suppose that the hotel managers should have find a way to put twin beds in some rooms, or even a sofa. Not everyone can sleep with his/her partner! From the other hand the dome rooms were very quite at night, but you should not sleep very late, because the morning light will wake you up by its rising, through a small window up on the dome and there is nothing you can do about it, it's too high to reach and cover it. I realy didn't have a good time. Restricted space and inadequate accomodation.One thing will be unforgetable and that is the experience of the relaxing massage, it was the only thing that deserved its money!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kateseirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavala hotels
1.5 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavala
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airotel Galaxy
Airotel Galaxy
#2 of 14 in Kavala
656 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tosca Beach Bungalows
Tosca Beach Bungalows
#9 of 14 in Kavala
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kavala
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Traditional Hotel Akontisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imaret Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imaret Hotel

Address: 30-32, Th. Poulidou str., Kavala 65110, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kavala
Price Range: £250 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imaret Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imaret is a world apart, a rare jewel, where East meets West in Northern Greece. A historical monument crowning the hillside overlooking the picturesque harbour of Kavala, the hotel combines the grandeur of Greek Roman and Byzantine Style with a scent of the orient, and the elegance of Hellenic hospitality. The building was the gift of Mehmet Ali, modernising ruler of Egypt in the 1800's, to Kavala, his birthplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imaret Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imaret Hotel Kavála

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing