We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its not a conventional Hotel, a place to slow down your daily life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imaret Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imaret Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kavala
Certificate of Excellence
Cappadocia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its not a conventional Hotel, a place to slow down your daily life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2006

I have red the mixed reviews & mixed feelings about Imaret.
Just tell you my thought in brief;
This place should not be reviewed purely as a hotel. A monument which allows guests to sleep in would be a better explanation. Guests who can enjoy historical buildings deeper, enjoy peaceful atmosphere, inhail the history with charm, guests who can tolorate limitations can enjoy this place perfectly.

I understand the dilemma of the guests who stayed here but please look at from this point:
If the owners would like to built a luxury hotel they would not restaore & renovate an old monument but built something probably with the half the money. Instead they gave life to this mystic heritage wich had religious ties as well as its social responsibility.

In such building one should not expect Pay TV, let alone why to wish to a TV set.
To my opinion, all the ameniteis, textile, furniture are first class and nicely located to its places. Having a historical monument does not always give possibility to break, enlarge or take away parts of the original building. If I was the owner of this place I too would not allow fireplaces to be operated due to safety concerns. However if one does feel the need extra warmth I believe management would do something.
Probably management were so excited and concerned about their guests wellbeing, felt they have to be present all the time and all around so they were keeping a close distance so one poster felt they were being watched.
This can vary from day to day operations in a place where hospitality provided.

Using hamam with a charge sometimes is usual practice as the places like Imaret with limited number of rooms, to be able to give an extra service they need to recaputilate by charging.

Overall this unique places can not make every traveller happy so one should choose the hotel according to their needs and moods. I was very impressed with the structure, how the history get back in life, food service, gardens and the rich library.

One more note; Imaret is the only hotel I have ever been, able to give a house tour by an Archeologist.


Y. Murat Ozguc
Traveller, Travel Agent from Turkey

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank PropertravelTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    25
    11
    7
    23
See reviews for
10
95
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
David Steene
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2006

Stayed with a group. One person on check in-you figure.
Lots of staircases, very easy to fall down.
Rooms dark, small and claustrophic.
Tried to book a table in restauranrt, said full, nor true, only 4 tables taken and the others emply!
This is an interesting buiding, let down by surly management, dangerous infrastructure and is a complete waste of money.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank steeneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles BE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2006

This is an exceptional renovation of a palace residence from the time when Kavala was under Turkish control. Rooms are cool, stylish and the building exudes calm. It's probably a bit overpriced but the main draw-back is the extraordinary attitude of the management which is one of suspicion verging on disdain. Have these people no idea about the market they are targeting where graceful service is the norm?

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2006

Imaret is a new luxurious hospitality property located within the homonymous historical monument built in 1817 overlooking the city of Kavala in Northern Greece. Following many years of renovation, the original building has been carefully restored into a Luxury hotel featuring 26 rooms and suites.An excellent gourmet restaurant offers the Mediterranean cuisine.The monument has been fully restored to become the first hotel operating within a historical building in Greece. Mrs.Anna Missirian, owner and soul of the complex - did the restoration privately - the largest private restoration effort in Greek history.The Imaret displays ample character, unique middle-eastern architecture, soul, style and select luxury.
You do not just check in - you are welcomed, a guest in the true sense of the word.
Here you still find the real "Greek Hospitality".
I look forward to return soon and experience the "Unique relaxation".
Special thanks to Mrs.Missirian and all the friendly staff,for their always kind assistance during my short stay.
January 2006.Baron E.E.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Baron E.E.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2006

I have stayed at numerous luxury hotels around the world, but this one is truly a joke. Despite the fact that the location is interesting and the refurbished old imaret adequate, the owner of the place makes the entire experience worthless.
Please take my humble advise and stay away from this place. I have never had experienced abuse bordering physical violation by anyone, let alone the owner of a, "supposedly", luxury hotel. She should not be in this business.
Be warned.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panorama, Greece
Level Contributor
193 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

We spent (my wife and I) a weekend in this hotel.
Overall it is a unique place. Very beautiful architecture, the atmosphere is extraordinary, it gives you the feeling that you are a part of an oriental fairy tale. The yards are beautifully scheduled with plants and nice furnitures,a beautiful swimming pool,fantastic views over the harbour of kavala and the city and light music all around in very low volume.
The personell very polite and quite proffesional.
The restaurant and the bar were great with gourmet style dishes, good service great settings.
The spa facilities were o.k. The bad thing was that you had to make an appointment to use the indoor swimming pool and the hamam (turkish style sauna) in extra charge which was outrageous since the room price was so high that they should let you to use them complimentary (in all the luxurious hotels I have stayed the use of the indoor swimming pool and sauna were free of charge).
The room (type: dome-deluxe room) was a big dissapointment for 260 euros!
It was rather small very beautiful though not luxuriously furnished. There were candles everywhere, beautiful egyptian style lights, roses in bowls ,a persian carpet etc.
There was a fire place that didn't work and instead they placed candles inside( big dissapointment because we thought that we could use it as a classical fire place). There was a full stocked mini bar and a small stereo cd.
The bathroom was very oriental style with huge bathtub,bulgary cosmetics and molton brown, bathrobes (used!) sleepers and extremely soft towels. the sitting area was in the same area of the bathroom and the furnitures were very uncomfortable to sit on. The drapes didn't make the room dark enough for a midday nap. The heating was very limited.
There was no cupboard but some hangers and only two small drawers(we did not have enough space to put our clothes!). There was no pay t.v. or internet access in the room.
Evening service was wonderful. The owners were everywhere most of the times and you felt sometimes that your every move was...observed(!) by them!
Generally it is a very beautiful place,fantastic ambience and architecture, but in my opinion it needs better managment. When you pay 260 euros per night (without breakfast)everything must be more than perfect which as far as the room concerns were not. Consider that we are a couple that we don't mind of how high are the prices in a hotel-but we want to get what we are paying for.
I think that if it wasn't so expensive (consider that the hotel is in a city where everything is cheap and the other hotels-4 stars cost around 100 euros) then I wouldn't mind so much about the room. Sometimes you felt that you had to pay even for the air you breath!
Maybe someday I 'll return to this hotel again after serious thought!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank alex12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2005

When you enter this monument, you might need a day or two to get down from the shock of the beauty of it. Make sure you would stay more than two days in Imaret, in order to realize where you are really staying. This is a place for peace and quite, and nothing else. Your bed and bath linens will be the best produced on this planet, starched ironed to perfection. You will not see a trace of plastic here, except for the garbage bags. You will also not smell any chemicals or detergents. Flowers, according to the season (violets, gardenia, orange blossoms) as well as herbs (mint, basil, lavender) will be the smell in the air. You will fall asleep to the sound of the water flow from the marble ponds in court yard. Every detail of decoration serves a function, therefore you will find the ultimate beauty of nothingness. The colors are the colors of earth and spirit. The lights and the the textiles will flow on your mind like gentle winds. You will find your candles lit in your room, for you, every night. The staff serves with genuine warmth that only professionalism can provide. A wash in the hamam (Turkish sionalism can obtain. I Bath) and a private swim in the cistern, each will take you to places that you've never been before. I will be returning here everytime I want a break from matters of life.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavala hotels
1.5 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airotel Galaxy
Airotel Galaxy
#2 of 15 in Kavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Egnatia City Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esperia Hotel
Esperia Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Traditional Hotel Akontisma
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
#7 of 15 in Kavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imaret Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imaret Hotel

Property: Imaret Hotel
Address: 30-32, Th. Poulidou str., Kavala 65110, Greece
Region: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imaret Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imaret is a world apart, a rare jewel, where East meets West in Northern Greece. A historical monument crowning the hillside overlooking the picturesque harbour of Kavala, the hotel combines the grandeur of Greek Roman and Byzantine Style with a scent of the orient, and the elegance of Hellenic hospitality. The building was the gift of Mehmet Ali, modernising ruler of Egypt in the 1800's, to Kavala, his birthplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imaret Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imaret Hotel Kavála

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing