We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic hotel; hip dinner location; good price/value”
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Met Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fairly large design hotel. Various art works and installations spread around the hotel.
Rooms are in dark soothing colours. Nice marble bath (2nd room had a marble shower). Standard rooms are on the smaller side, but ok. Quality toiletry accessories.
Large and varied breakfast, also with local options. Pleasant outdoor seating in the courtyard.
Good price/value at around E120.
Large underground car park (free).
Located in the harbour area of Thessaloniki. What looks a bit like a wasteland during the day actually makes a very hip dinner location. Sitting on the top (6th ?) Floor next to the light-engineered pool and looking down to container vessels must be one of the best dinning experiences in the city. And the food is actually really quite good, including a large selection of Asian dishes.
So back to the location. Whilst not located in old down the hotel runs regular shuttle buses to old town and a taxi is only 3 or 4 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for writing your comments after your stay here at The Met Hotel.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure to pass on your positive input to our team.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Thessaloniki.



Kind regards,

Haris N Neofytidis
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

What more can you ask for?!?! Great customer service, breakfast was fantastic, and the roof top pool... What a view you get from there. Rooms were kept clean. Free wifi was always there when you needed it. All in all we would defiantly stay there again!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor member ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Met Hotel on your recent visit to Thessaloniki and for your recommendation.We are glad that you enjoyed our service, free wifi and rooms.Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Met on your next visit to Thessaloniki

Yours

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Although it's very expensive to stay, eat and drink here, it's a luxury worth making. Rooms are very clean and modern, it has a rooftop pool with amazing views and friendly / helpful staff. There's an indoor pool and gym. Drinks by the rooftop pool are 9euros for a beer and a Greek salad is 10euros. There's a free shuttle bus to the main centre, on the hour. Breakfast was fantastic, everything you could wish for. It's a great hotel for all kinds; couples / families, etc.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank CraigDN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor member ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Met Hotel on your recent visit to Thessaloniki and for your recommendation.We are glad that you enjoyed our food, Roof Garden , ambience and our free shuttle service .Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Met on your next visit to Thessaloniki

Yours

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very nice, trendy, with good service, nice food and very exquisite ambience. Very good choice to stay in even if the location is not in the center of the city. Free shuttle takes you to and from downtown Thessaloniki every hour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mgkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor member ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Met Hotel on your recent visit to Thessaloniki and for your recommendation.We are glad that you enjoyed our food, ambience and our free shuttle service .Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Met on your next visit to Thessaloniki

Yours

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very original and trendy hotel, large and spacious rooms with big bathrooms and nice view of the port. The restaurant is also VERY good and serves intenerational cousine, which is a fine break from the usual.
That said, I think that guest if the hotel should have a few reserved places at the pool. We came in in a sunday and it was full of noisy locals. We couldn't attend the pool all day.
Plus, the minibar was fully stocked but not working.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank NicoDB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor member ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Met Hotel on your recent visit to Thessaloniki and for your recommendation.We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel .Our pool ( as well as our bars and restaurants )is open with a fee to locals ( I am sorry that you found them to be too loud ) and we do not reserve any sunbeds as our policy is first come first served . Concerning your mini bar issue , should you report it , we would be glad to fix it or replace it , right away

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Met on your next visit to Thessaloniki

Yours

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel are first glance is nice but the devil is in the details.

The rooms are very small making it difficult to open a door or manoeuvre your suitcase.

The door to our room did not close properly and we were startled to find it open on two occasions.

The bathrooms flooded whenever the shower was used.

The wifi was mediocre.

We would stay elsewhere next time in Thessaloniki.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beacon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor member,

I am really sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us . Please note that our maintenance team is available 24/7 and they would be very happy to assist you with any technical issues hould you bring them to our attention .Our internet connection is 30mbps synchronus speed , it comes free of charge and I am really sorry it was not strong enough for you .Again you should report it so we could check if there was any issue and fix it right away.As the hotel is located 1,8 kms from the city center our free shuttle service is available for our guests and as we are a city and mainly business hotel we are really happy that a big part of our guests (especially on summer ) combines business with leisure or chooses The Met just for its the leisure part
Concerning the size of our rooms please note that they are in line with the room type booked and paid .

Yours

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Met Hotel is a very elegant hotel on the outskirts of the city.
The city centre is an easy 20 minutes walk away. My family and me did it many times (we stayed 7 nights). THe hotel also runs a free shuttle bus every hour that takes 5 to 10 minutes pending traffic (Thessaloniki is a very nice city but the amount of traffic lights is staggering). If the bus is full (there are approx. 20 seats) the drivers do not mind the extra run. A taxi ride costs around 5 EUR, but there are generally speaking no taxis waiting around the hotel (you can phone them of course).
We had three deluxe rooms. They are of a good size, very modern and elegant like the rest of the hotel. The bathrooms have an excellent separate rain shower. We also had a little balcony, but the view was nothing special (the hotel is in an area that is being re-developed, so lots of old warehouses around). We did not find that important however.
Breakfast is in the restaurant downstairs, which is just as elegant as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast quality is very good. You should definitely try the Thessaloniki special sweet cakes. There is an omelet station as well. Breakfast is until 11 AM on weekends, so no rush. There are a few tables outside (there is a lovely patio), but unfortunately all of these tables are for two people only (we were six - no doubt the lovely staff would have put some tables together if we had asked but I did not want to bother them with that).
There is a very nice spa with a small pool and jacuzzi, which are fun unless they are crowded.
There is also a lovely roof top terrace with a swimming pool and a bar. The view from the terrace is excellent, in particular if you like to watch the merchant boats come in and out of port. The staff are very friendly and helpful and distribute free water without you having to ask. You can order stuff but no one is pushing you at all.
The only drawback is that the pool generally closes at 6 PM, which is quite early, in particular if you have been out in the country during the day. That seems to be because the pool area is also used as a function area for weddings etc.. The pool area is sufficiently big although not huge, which means that if there is a busload of loud tourists, you may have to fight for your space (unfortunately we had a few days that a crowd of badly behaving tourists descended on the hotel and tried everyone's patience - staff included I bet).
There is ample parking space below the hotel, and it is free of charge.
I found it a little strange that although the A/C was definitely sufficient for the rooms, there was hardly any A/C in the corridors. It seems that only the ground level public areas climate is controlled. Not a biggie.
Did I say staff was wonderful? From the concierge to receptionist to housekeeping they had very high standards.
WOuld I pick this hotel again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Spillemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haris N N, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor member ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Met Hotel on your recent visit to Thessaloniki and for your recommendation.We are glad that you enjoyed our food, Roof Garden , ambience and rooms.
I am really glad that the transportation options to city center , including walking , matched your needs. Concerning the pool operation indeed the official operating time is untill 18.00 ( we never close the area before 19.00 though ) should a private even take place upstairs.Otherwise the pool remains open till sunset (that is around 20.30 for the being moment ) .
.Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Met on your next visit to Thessaloniki

Yours

Haris N Neofytidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
1.1 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
988 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Address: 48 26th October Street, Thessaloniki 546 27, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £106 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Met Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MET HOTEL, a newly built, exquisite combination of unique location, modern architecture, high-end luxury, launches an avant-garde hospitality concept in the city of Thessaloniki. Experience deluxe hospitality in the city of Thessaloniki with our 212 stylish rooms and suites. Thirteen meeting rooms provide ample conference space in an ideal Thessaloniki location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing