We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Excelsior
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

from the moment we turned up in our hire car the service has been fantastic. staff, almost going out of their way to help us out. our room was clean and smelling great. wifi signal was great. I honestly can't think of anything negative relating to the hotel. We have traveled to many countries and in most cases stayed in 5 star hotels, for us, this to date by far is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. highly recommend The Excelsior

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrism1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    93
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
306
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

5star plus,just great.Yiannis the manager was very attentive,made us feel so much at home.Great rooms and breakfast plus dining room with good menu,we were very happy,must return as soon as possible.The position is also great for shopping with the hotel discounts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

A beautiful building of the 1920’s recently restored, in the very center and most elegant area of Thessaloniki. Modern interior design (highly professional) in perfect harmony with the character of the building, with particular attention given to details, resulting in an exquisite ambiance. All comfort (all you could need is there and of good quality) and great hospitality making you feel pampered. The garage is an appreciable plus in a busy city. In brief, the key words describing 'The Excelsior' in Thessaloniki are: charm, comfort, hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Everything is awesome.rooms are the best you can find.Sure we talk for a 5 star hotel.recomended without any doubt.congratulations to all there keep up the good work.wish everyone who work in hotel treat like Excelsior do.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostas7Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights,is located in the heart of the town. we wanted a city break and a luxury one. definitely worths your stay!
the building is a old classic one,amazing architecture and its rennovation respected its style!
Our room,number 38,on the third floor,not large but convenient and very stylish. for bedside furniture has a totally mirror one,all the products so fine chosen,has a Tivoli radio,an lcd screen, a welcome bottle of wine and a hand made candle as a gift for the guests!
the time bath is the best part! you feel so relaxed,a spa shower and apivita bath kit,all well cared.
Of course has staff polite and descrete.
looking forward to visit it again!
P.S. has also an offer for each guest from the nearside mall "notos galleries"!

Room Tip: very satisfied with number 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersaPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki Greece
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Fabulous architect design, very good service, bar with perspective and nice service, great location in the heart of the city,rooms not all very spacious but very well equipped. I'd loved the Nespresso machine with the variety of coffee flavors. Breakfast is quite a tasteful experience and the whole package comes with plenty more details that would add a touch of luxury in your visit. Really, there isn't any more to ask...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpissio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I was amazed by the hospitality of the staff and the excellent taste in every corner of this hotel. The food was of the outmost quality. I will definitely come back here and I strongly recommend it whether you come for holidays or for business. Is unique!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaKou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#12 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Nikopolis Thessaloniki
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Thessaloniki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior

Property: The Excelsior
Address: 10 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel located in Thessaloniki center, next to Aristotelous square, right in the heart of this vibrant town. Situated in the historical building of the classic and glorious Excelsior Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your The Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing