We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best you can have”
Review of The Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Excelsior
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a wonderful hotel.
From the location, to the rrom itself, to the breakfast buffet, everything is just perfect.
Would wish all hotels were like the Excelsior.
Couldn't have been better.
Can only recommend and will without any doubt stay over there next time I am in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Franco8375,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback about your stay at The Excelsior.
It’s been our pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team is very happy to know that we meet your expectations.
Reviews like yours urge us to become better.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location, 50m away from Aristotelous square. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The room was comfortable but I was awaken by sunlight in the morning. The breakfast was good but disappointing for a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cédric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Cedric B.,

Thank you for choosing The Excelsior during your last visit in Thessaloniki. It is truly appreciated the time you took on sharing with us your review. Please be certain that we took into consideration every remark in order to improve our services.

Do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Excelsior hotel is excellent choise for one business traveller.
You have all the city without car!!!
The staff recommends one wonderful restaurant in Kalamaria!!
The quality of spleep was very good.

Very clean room and hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Andrea B,

Thank you for taking the time on sharing with us your impressions following your stay at The Excelsior .
It is very important to know that you were satisfied with the service provided by our team.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback. We are looking forward to your next visit, maybe this time for vacation.

Yours Sincerely,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a junior suite and joining double room, both rooms were extremely spacious (more spacious than what the photos look like)! We had an amazing nights sleep, very quiet and great bed&cushions! The staff was extremely helpful &kind! Will definetly stay here again! Location wise it was great, there is also a nice cafe/bar across the street. Thank you for the wonderful stay:)

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Elelea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at The Excelsior. Your encouraging words are really appreciated.
We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location of this hotel is great, exactly at the heart of Thessaloniki. a small and nice hotel, everything look new and modern, good breakfast.
there is no lobby at this hotel but the internet was free in the room.
i had to wait too long to get my room at the check in it was 5 minutes that it grow to 10-15 at list it was more than 40 minutes. even i didnt come early.
the shower is not at the same room with the sink and the toilet i didnt like it but can live with it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shushush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to share your review with us. It is truly appreciated in order to become better.
Although The Excelsior is a boutique hotel with 34 rooms, there are different room types where we can fulfill every need of every guest.
Due to the high occupancy we would like to thank for the understanding during your check in. Since our primary concern is the satisfaction of all our guests we look after every detail.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Drove to Thessaloniki for my wife's birthday and spent 2 nights there. The hotel is street behind the seafront - so remember it is not sea facing, but still a great property on a lovely street.

The good - this is a charming, well maintained, recently refurbished hotel. So everything is spotless, and while new, it exudes style. Rooms are compact, but well equipped, and a very high quality bathroom. Even has some interesting appliances like a Tivoli radio which is a very good radio. Breakfast was included at the restaurant on the rooftop - this was excellent, in terms of service and food. I ordered eggs of choice and enjoyed their menu. The concierge Nikos was superb and always on hand to help. He parked my car in a nearby garage (Euro 20 per day) and this was well taken care of. We used him for advice on restaurants and he didnt disappoint - we went to 2 different restaurants each day on his advice and both were superb and off the tourist track. He and the lady on the evening shift at the reception went out of their way to help. The location is excellent as everything that matters is walking distance. On our check out the concierge in duty brought the car out smoothly.

What can improve or was missing: The only glitch was on arrival at 4 pm - when we arrived our room (deluxe double) was not ready so we had to wait for 30 mins. That was a bit of an irritant having driven all day from Istanbul, and their check in time was 2 pm. But they were apologetic and then the great service kicked in. No gym, but then if you are prepared to explore who needs a gym. No restaurant, but the bistro is being renovated so hopefully will be ready soon. TV channels were pretty basic so didnt use this much.

Tips - try these two restaurants and you wont be disappointed (ask Nikos) - Stafyli, and Foul Tou Meze

Overall a superb experience and will be back one day for sure. I am more convinced that "The small luxury hotels of the world" have a great selection as this is the second hotel we have stayed in in the last 12 months.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor and facing the courtyard if you can manage within budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asiaishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment with us. It is truly appreciated because it helps us to keep our services on a high level.
The rooms, the Roof Garden and all the areas of The Excelsior are carefully designed in order to ensure a pleasant stay for all our guests.
Because of the fact that the hotel is located in the city centre there are many choices nearby and our staff is always eager to assist you with a great tip of entertainment.
You have our sincere apology for the incident caused at your check in and we would like to thank you for your understanding.
Also, Be*, the bar- restaurant located on the ground floor after a two week renovation open its doors and constitute one of the best choices in Thessaloniki.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Located next to Aristotle Square and among a bunch of other hotels. Good location, very friendly staff, and cute rooms. Free wifi, free breakfast including to-order coffee and eggs. Definitely recommended. Only negative was a very small elevator, but it was well functioning, and the hotel itself is not that big.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Amit G.,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took in order to share with us your positive feedback.

The Excelsior, four and a half years ago, was totally renovated and became this wonderful boutique hotel right in the heart of Thessaloniki.
Among the elevator, many classical parts of the building maintained exactly as they were back to 1924 in order to bring the air of another era with a modern touch.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
704 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#5 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,011 reviews
0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#9 of 58 in Thessaloniki
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior

Address: 10 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Green Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £105 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel located in Thessaloniki center, next to Aristotelous square, right in the heart of this vibrant town. Situated in the historical building of the classic and glorious Excelsior Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing