We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Excelsior
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights in Thessaloniki staying at the Excelsior. The hotel is superbly located. Service was absolutely first class and the room/facilities were likewise excellent. We are returning again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Harry S.,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Excelsior.

It is truly appreciated to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and our provided service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back next year.

Kind regards,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    99
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
317
40
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having spent 10 days at the sister hotel in Ouranoupolis, this hotel was just as good. Centrally located in the old town, close to all amenities, including restaurants, historic sights, shops, markets etc. Like the Eagles Palace, the service was excellent and the staff all appeared to enjoy looking after you. Took an excellent suite on the first floor, which was very well appointed. Staff arranged everything we wanted and gave good details of what to do and see. If you want to stay in Thessaloniki, the hotel is a must.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Lord Richard,

Thank you for your kind words and your wonderful review on Tripadvisor

We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in both of our hotels. The Excelsior is located right in the center of the vibrant Thessaloniki and we are glad to hear your supportive comments.

We wish to have the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our experience in this lovely boutique hotel could not have been better. To start with its location, it is right in the centre of Thessaloniki, parallel to the main shopping street where most of the bars and shops are located. The second one walks in to the lobby you are received with a big smile from the front desk staff. The lobby is decorated in such trendy way; with white modern leather chairs, and a refreshing welcome drink was offered. While we waited for our room to be ready (which was just under 15 mins) the porter brought our suitcases to our room. We were escorted to room, which was the 44. The porter explained to us some of characteristics of the amazing decorated room. Well appointed, with a big wardrobe, safe box and trendy (again) small details; such as the lamps hanging from the wall at each side of the bed. The bathroom was very big and comfortable, with enough amenities for our stay, there was two types of bathrobes with two pairs of sleepers for the each of us (we were two adults). The room is decorated with gorgeous brown curtains dark enough for the strong Thessalonian sunshine in the morning. We were very impressed with the size of the balcony, which faces the side street where a couple of restaurants/bars are located, but dont worry, the windows are sounds proof.
The breakfast is served in the rooftop, a small but very cosy, stylish room where you will be welcome by once again very very courteous staff. It was a truly pleasure starting our day with such welcoming and warm staff. The food was to a very high standard, there is a small menu of what one can ask the chef to cook for you, besides the traditional buffet. Everything is fresh and if you are a coffee person (like me) you will be really impressed by their coffee. On June 26th was my birthday and I was surprised by the breakfast personal with a delicious (from the house) chocolate cake, again a really wonderful detail from The Excelsior and their staff.
Having worked myself in hospitality for many years, I can guarantee that everyone went beyond our expectations. Both, morning and night shift receptionists and porters went that extra mile,that that many managers would love to see in their staff, they helped us looking at things to do, at the public transport and their recommendations were spot on, specially Chryssa, Dimitrios, Daphne,and the gentleman (with long black hair) who worked the night shifts that unfortunately I can´t remember his name right now. Hopefully I am not leaving anyone out but my point is that absolutely everyone make our stay and my birthday just unforgettable.
If you want to have a great experience in Thessaloniki, at a great, trendy and friendly hotel this is the one.
Thank you to all The Excelsior´s staff for this amazing time in your gorgeous city.

Michael & Markus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Michael & Markus ,

Thank you for choosing The Excelsior during your last visit in Thessaloniki. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, since it was your birthday too and be certain that your kind words force us to become better.

The Excelsior is a historical building of Thessaloniki dated back to 1924. With primary goal to guarantee our guests coziness, we attentively maintain all the classical parts and combined them with modern details.

Once again thank you for taking the time on sharing with us your review. All our staff is truly happy reading your wonderful comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very luxurious and high quality hotel! The rooms are excellent and very clean and the staff is friendly. The location is near to the center. The hotel offers great meals. The price is reasonable if you think that the quality is really high,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Evi D.,

Thank you for choosing The Excelsior during your stay in Thessaloniki and sharing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.
We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back sonly.

Kind regards,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
281 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night. If you are used with the 5 star treatment maybe it won't that big of a thing, but their customer service was excellent, they really know how to make you feel welcomed and special.

The rooms were flawless, nice decor, very comfortable bed. Breakfast had abundant choice of delicacies. If you go by car, be ready to pay for parking (20€ per night).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and for your nice comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the provided service by our team and we looking forward to your next visit.

Yours faithfully,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed recently at the Excelsior which is located very centrally in Thessaloniki, close to Aristotelous Square. This makes it an ideal base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, commercial and importantly entrainment districts of the city. I can not imagine a more perfect location.

The hotel has been renovated only a few years ago and now operates as a boutique luxury hotel. The rooms are very tastefully done - our was on the smallish side - and the bathrooms are superb and very spacious. Bathroom amenities are what you would expect from a luxury hotel and the welcome wine and bottled watered on arrival is well appreciated. All other mod-cons are offered in the rooms including an exceptionally fast and free wifi.

The breakfast choices are small as you would expect from a hotel with limited rooms, but the offered a wide selection of cooked breakfast items to order and a wide selection of precooked dishes. We particularly appreciated the Greek gourmet cornet as it allowed to sample every day different Greek delicacies. There is also a wide variety of fruit and a great selection of Greek pastries. The breakfast is served in a tasteful roof top garden.

What sets this hotel apart from many other Small Luxury hotels we have stayed in is the service by every single one of its staff. The service is attentive and informative, but never intrusive, and this applies to the front desk staff, the room service and the exceptional restaurant staff. We lodged a small complaint about the street light coming through our skylight window in our bathroom; it was impressive how quickly this was resolved and without any questions asked.

I can only recommend this hotel highly enough. It has everything you would expect from a boutique luxury hotel but its service sets really apart. During our stay the hotel was fully booked by a mixed clientele, including some Greek customers. This is not surprising given what it offers and the standard at which this is offered. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room in the 3rd or 4th floor but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Excelsior.
It is a great motivation for all our team to know that you’ve been satisfied with our service.
Our primary goal is to give attention in every detail and our staff is always willing to assist you in order to assure your pleasant stay.
We’ll be more than happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Thessaloniki.

Yours faithfully,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Excelsior Hotel in Thessaloniki exceeded my expectations with their superior customer service and room standards. Very clean, excellent amenities in the room and the staff were so friendly & professional at all times. Free WIFI in the room & across all areas of hotel was great. Would definitely choose again, wish I could have stayed longer!
Great location, within walking distance to shops, harbour - the lot!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos B, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at The Excelsior, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly delighted to read such a positive comment. Thank you for taking the time on writing your review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed everything about your stay, from the room and the facilities to the location and all our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Boulas Konstantinos
Front Office Manager
The Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.5 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#13 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior

Property: The Excelsior
Address: 10 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Green Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel located in Thessaloniki center, next to Aristotelous square, right in the heart of this vibrant town. Situated in the historical building of the classic and glorious Excelsior Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing