We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice hotel in greate location rooms are nice and clean very helpful staffs near shops Very good breakfast near ladadika were the city goes live in the evening a lot off restorants near the market very good hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michal Ilan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Nikoli, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mediterranean Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for you compliments concerning the Mediterranean Palace Hotel’s premises and services.
We are delighted that you are really satisfied with the breakfast and our stuff' s helpfull attitude.

We really hope that you had a nice time in Thessaloniki and look forward to welcoming you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel which is located in "Ladadika" area, which once had very nice taverns and still retains some of them. Located at the one side of town near the Aristotle Square and near the courts. The front rooms overlook the Port Authority of Thessaloniki. Fairly limited view to the sea. In general the location is good.
The word “Palace” in the title is excessive enough. The rooms are furnished with Louis XV furniture and fixtures, but there are very small.
Noisy hotel. Breakfast is average.
The service friendly enough. Too much about too little…

Room Tip: Best rooms not noisy -if possible-, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Favor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Nikoli, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mediterranean Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Sir ,

Thank you very much for your comments refering to your stay at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel.

It is very helpfull for our improvement to evaluate our customer's suggestions and opinions .

Concerning the "noise isuue", we have to take into consideration that the hotel’s location in the center of Thessaloniki is as one of its most valuable advantages. It is true that city centers all over the world are quite crowded and noisy. We have taken care of our guest by putting soundproof balcony door in all our room. And of course there are rooms located at the back side of the building for those who are more sensitive in noises.

We really hope that you had a nice time in Thessaloniki and look forward to welcoming you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A nice hotel located near the post and Ladadika where the City goes live in the evening.
It claims to be a 5* hotel, it is a very nice 4* and the best thing this hotel has is their staff.
They are attentive and alsways helpful.
The rooms are OK, some better & larger but even the smaller ones are OK. Good functional bathrooms and plentiful breakfast in the morning with fresh fruits in addition to the expected goodies.
I stayed in 2 occasions and I would recommend it for its price as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Nikoli, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mediterranean Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for you compliments concerning the Mediterranean Palace Hotel’s premises and services.

We are delighted that you are satisfied with the breakfast and our stuff' s helpfull attitude.

We really hope that you had a nice time in Thessaloniki and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2014. It is a lovely old style grand hotel with enormous charm situated in the heart of Thessaloniki close to the most lively area of the city which is full of restaurants and bars and which really comes alive at night. The hotel is tastefully decorated in the style of a grand European hotel. The staff in the hotel were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice from the buffet. Our room was large and spacious with period style furniture and with a large well equipped bathroom. Our only complaint, and it is not serious, is that there was some noise during the evenings form the nearby night life but it largely died down at midnight. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Thessaloniki which is a most interesting city with a fascinating history.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed four nights at the Med. Palace in Thessaloniki end of May/beginning June 2014. Hotel is well located, and walking to many of the local attractions is quite easy. Although our visit was with a tour group we had a large well appointed room. No view though, except for a car park. Hotel is quiet, but be forwarned that Thessaloniki is a party town (who knew?) and the local bars and clubs generate noise that continues late into the evening. For us, this was only a problem on Saturday night. Hotel offers a good mediterranean-style breakfast buffet with various baked goods, fresh and preserved fruits, juices, a number of cooked items, savory pastries, etc. Front desk staff was helpful. Several quirks: no wash cloths (a frequent issue in Greece) and inefficient toilets (an even more frequent issue in Greece).

Room Tip: Best view rooms are at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSteve316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mediterranean Palace Hotel in Thessaloniki delivers solid value for reasonable city room rates. We've stayed in other hotels in the city, with some charging far more for comparable rooms and facilities. Mediterranean Palace will remain our first choice from now on. Its location adjacent to the famous Ladadika section where there are countless small restaurants in narrow cobblestoned lanes, makes it a perfect choice for people wishing to explore the center of the city. A number of the stone-paved streets of Ladadika are restricted to pedestrian-only traffic, adding to the attractiveness of this city feature. We had brought our car to Thessaloniki by ferry, so the location of this hotel less than 50 metres from the port entrance eased our travel into and out of the city. Proximity to the port also means that the hotel is steps away from the city's extensive "boardwalk" along the length of the harbor, a place where tourists and residents alike frequently stroll during pleasant evenings. The hotel itself is nicely decorated in a style reminiscent of grand old hotels with some modern overtones. Rooms are equipped with expected conveniences, except for room safes; these boxes are too small to fit laptops and are accessed by a metal key. Our room had a few pleasant surprises, including a lovely desk and chair to use for work or reading, a small sitting area, nice balcony, extra closet space, and free wifi. Room rates for us included a free breakfast buffet, which earned good reviews from us. On the first morning after our arrival, we had descended too late for the buffet, but the chef offered us any selection from the breakfast menu to compensate for our disappointment. Staff were polite and helpful for the most part, assisting us in our travels and adventures about the city, giving us accurate directions and maps, and offering good suggestions. Front desk staff also kindly offered us a late check-out so that we could load our car in the afternoon and drive right over to the ferry terminal for our scheduled departure later the same day. In all, we were very pleased with the hotel and will stay there again whenever we return to Thessaloniki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Mediterranean Palace Hotel is one of the old traditional classy hotels that always make you feel like stepping into the good old days. The service is classy, friendly and very service minded. The room was nicely decorated with loads of nice details and the bed was large and perfect. I had a small balcony in my room overlooking a side street.

The hotel is located close to the water promenade and you can reach loads of bars, cafes and restaurant in only a few minutes walk. The hotel have parking in the basement but you can be lucky to find a parking space in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace

Address: Salaminos 3 | Karatasou, Thessaloniki 546 26, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#14 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £95 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Palace is a five-star hotel in the center of Thessaloniki, with 111 rooms and 7 suites; all meticulously decorated, and equipped with modern conveniences, next to the traditional district of “Ladadika”, and with an astonishing view over the Thermaikos Gulf. It features the most beautiful aspects of Thessaloniki; the live cosmopolitan atmosphere, sophisticated sense of serenity, and traditional, warm hospitality. Luxury and style, in conjunction with its strategic location at the heart of the city’s shopping and financial center, make Mediterranean Palace a unique destination. Taking only two steps inside will be enough to fascinate you. The inspiration for the decoration of the lobby was drawn from the aristocratic atmosphere of Thessaloniki in the 30s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing