We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Difficult to say something "special" about this hotel. Everything is ok and the way you would expect it from a chain hotel like Holiday Inn. For sure the hotel saw already better days but the same problem have a lot of hotels in Thessaloniki. Good location, friendly helpful staff ... average rooms ... but again ... for the money we paid ... I didn't expect anything more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Gunther N,

Thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Thessaloniki and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the service received from our staff, as well as the convenient location of our hotel, close to the city’s hot spots. It is always our primary goal to deliver great service and value for money to all of our guests and your feedback is very important to monitor our endeavor to this direction.
Once more we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

This marvelous hotel was perfect in every way. The food served to our group of 34 for breakfast and dinner was fantastic. The service at the front desk, the bar and everywhere else was first rate. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Rgm30,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Thessaloniki and for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the service from our staff, the breakfast, the dinner and your stay in our hotel in general. Guest satisfaction is our main concern and we are glad that we have met your expectations. Kindly note that we will share your kind comments with the hotel's teams.
Thank you once more for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Holiday Inn Thessaloniki on your next visit to our city.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Sales & Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I'm a little bemused by some of these negative comments, it seems people just like complaining for the sake of it and a lot of the information they give is inaccurate. We also got a great hotel rate and while it did not include breakfast there are places all around the hotel to get breakfast at a fraction of the cost.
Having arrived at the hotel I was wondering if I had read the same reviews. It is very easy to find and clearly marked in bright neon lights the "Holiday Inn". I have never been to Thessaloniki and driving in to the city we found the hotel no problem. Yes the city is having an metro installed and a station will be located outside the hotel. The disruption is not the fault of the hotel and indeed there was no noise or inconvenience associated with the construction. Yes it can be a little confusing as some of the roads are blocked off and traffic can be a bit of a nightmare but we were able to get to the back of the hotel to park up and check in without a problem. The hotel has free fast wireless internet access in the foyer. However our room was on the 4th floor, at the side of the hotel, and if we stood closed to the door we were still able to pick up the wireless signal.

The room was of a very good size and was comfortable and was spotlessly clean. The air-conditioning unit in our room (420) was not working very well so needs working on. Two criticisms - To ensure we came back to a coolish room we left the key in the room to ensure that after spending all day on the hot busy streets of Salonica the room temperature was of some comfort. However to our anger the cleaners had not only taken the room key out of the power slot but also took the key. When returning the room was unbearably hot and because the air-con unit wan't working properly the room took a very long time to feel comfortable - we advised the reception team who also provided us with another key card. Also there are no tea/coffee making facilities - something the hotel needs to provide.

The reception staff were friendly, the location of the hotel was fine and is just 5 mins walk to the main central areas and places to eat.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Bubwal,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the size and the cleanliness of your room, the friendly service of our staff and the central location - close to city’s hot spots. We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding your room’s air conditioning system, it will be surely addressed to the Housekeeping department, as we always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We have also noticed your comment about internet and we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that along with wireless high speed internet in all public areas, we will provide wireless high speed internet in all guest rooms in the near future. Regarding "coffee and tea making facilities", kindly note that these will be available in all guest rooms in the near future, as well.

Once again, thank you for providing us your valuable feedback and for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Thessaloniki on your next visit to our city.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel is on the Main Street not far away from the city centre. Unfortunately the underground work makes its not so easy to find, as the work is just outside the hotel.

The hotel itself is outdated, in need of some modernisation especially for the price required and the brand name. I would say it is a 3* star hotel, with a name of 4* brand. Staff are friendly and there to help you, I did not get breakfast as I cannot justify the 15 euro for it, I have had Holiday Inn breakfast before and surely not worth the money. Wifi is only available in the lobby, which is totally unheard of especially in 2013,many business travellers have IPads rather than laptops for wired connection.

Bus stop is 5minutes walk and the bus takes you outside the terminal, excellent value and only 40min. I would recommend this rather than a taxi.

Overall it's ok, I would probably not stay there again unless i have more Club rewards points. There are far better hotels in Thessaloniki even if you have to pay a little extra.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuslimTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Tripadvisor reader,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you have experienced attentive and friendly service from our staff. As you most probably noticed, there is a metro construction throughout the city; however there is an open space in front of our hotel which makes it easily reached. We consider that this is a temporary situation.
Regarding internet access in our hotel for the time being, we provide wireless high speed access in all public areas and wired high speed internet access in all guest rooms. Please note that wireless high speed internet access in guest rooms is scheduled to be provided in the near future. Also, I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our hotel serves rich buffet breakfast with a variety of assortments (hot and cold) at a reasonable price. However, kindly note there are available favorable rates on the internet, some of them inclusive of breakfast.
Your comments truly give us thought for future improvements and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel accommodation choice was made based on the fact that is a member of well known hotel chain and therefore we thought that this would guarantee a minimum standard of quality.The reality however proved us as wrong;the last room renovation must have taken place ages ago.The toilet flush is so old fashioned that did not work properly, the bath curtain was stained and the toilet had turned yellow probably from usage through ages.In addition the room carpet was dirty and you could see dust & stains on the furnitures and in the wardrobe. Access to the balcony was restricted because the cooling system was set just in front of the window.This room costed 115 euros per night, and breakfast,parking facility and wifi access NOT included.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Niki_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Niki123_11,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Thessaloniki and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will surely be looked into.
We would be grateful if you could contact us at sales@hithessaloniki.gr, so we can obtain additional detail about the situation and the cleanliness of your room. In regards with the room’s price, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that our rates were in line with our product and the market demand during this specific period of the Thessaloniki International Fair, which is the highest season of the year in our city. However, there are available more favorable rates on the internet for our hotel, some inclusive of breakfast, under certain restrictions, such as advance purchase.
We truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Thessaloniki and to offer you a more pleasant stay.


Yours Sincerely,


Christina Manolopoulou
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived in Thessaloniki and weren't sure where to stay...When we saw Holiday Inn, we decided to stay there since it is a chain we are familiar with. Great choice. Very clean and comfortable. The staff is great, very helpful. Great location...walking distance to city center and lots of great restaurants and bars. Indoor parking. Included is a great breakfast with tons of choices. We would stay there again!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank goldy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Goldy 53,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Thessaloniki on your recent visit to our city.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.
We would like to thank you once more for your recommendation and for taking the time to leave us your valuable comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel on your next visit to Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Well, I expected more from a Holiday Inn. The hotel is conveniently located just next to the main train station, the city centre is not that far as well. The thing is that the hotel itself looks kind of old and not as looked after as it should be. The room was OK, however the balcony was a little bit dirty. The staff on the other hand was friendly. You can chose from smoking and non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbelinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor reader,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are pleased that you found convenient our hotel’s location and that you were satisfied with our staff and your room. However, we are sorry to hear that your overall experience of staying with us did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the balcony will be addressed with our Housekeeping department. Your feedback is very important and helps us to monitor and improve our services for an enjoyable and comfortable accommodation.

Thank you once more for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Thessaloniki.

Yours Sincerely,

Christina Manolopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#17 of 58 in Thessaloniki
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
967 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#16 of 58 in Thessaloniki
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#22 of 58 in Thessaloniki
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Thessaloniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Thessaloniki

Address: 8 Monastiriou, Thessaloniki 546 29, Greece (Formerly Capitol Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £61 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Thessaloniki 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the northern Greek port-city of Thessaloniki, the Holiday Inn Thessaloniki offers a superb service, excellent facilities and immediate access to the commercial and cultural centre of the city. Its convenient location at the city center,only 30 minutes from Makedonia International airport, 200 metres from the railway station, one hour from some of Greece's most beautiful beaches and other historical attractions and next to exciting shopping, entertainment and business areas makes the establishment ideal for leisure and business travellers alike.The 177 stylish rooms and suites have been designed to offer convenience, relaxation and comfort to all guests. All rooms enjoy an atmosphere created by the philosophy of custom-made care of the hotel. In order for your stay to be memorable Holiday Inn Thessaloniki suggests 3 magnificient areas within the hotel itself. Begin your day with a rich breakfast or continue with exquisite tastes of domestic and mediterranean cuisine at the Aristotelis restaurant. The Coffee shop constitutes the ideal meeting point where can taste various coffees,beverages and snacks. Enjoy unique cocktails, fresh juices and drinks at the Capitol piano bar every evening.Special events deserve special attention and guests will receive it at Holiday Inn Thessaloniki. Combining full support services and state of the art equipment, the hotel's 5 conference halls, with natural daylight, can accomodate up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Thessaloniki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki Hotel Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing