We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Big House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Little Big House
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

It was a treat to stay at the Little Big House: it was super clean, quiet, and the staff was outstanding. The 4-bed dorm had it's own bathroom and a kitchenette; there was always coffee and tea available downstairs. Have directions handy; it's up in the old section of town, very quaint, but a little difficult to find. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in, a fantastic value and great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colorangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandroupoli, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I loved the location in the old town you can explore and feel the history on every street, easy to walk into the centre, you just keepgoing down, if you dont fancy the walk back ( its not so hard, i did it almost evrey night) a taxi from the centre is a few euro.
THe Hostel, value for money is an understatment, i wont write about it all the web page has all the correct info and its exactly as it says. Rooms are very clean and the kitchenette is great.
WHat isnt written is the relaxed, genuine freindliness of Viki, Stella and Kiriakos. THey make you feel that your in there home and more than welcome. THey dont through info at you but ask a question or need advice and they will do all they can for you. I'm blown away tobe honesst, my fourr day stay turned into almost two weeks, just settled in there and feel i have aa home to go to in Thessolaniki now.
DOnt take my word for it, go experiance it for yourself, one night or one week. I dont think i'll stay anywhere like it again. YOu guys should be cloaned and have a Little Big house in every city.
Malcolm Coulton

Room Tip: THere is no swimming pool, i made a mistake and cant take it off, sorry !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Friendly and helpful staff and owners gladly answer questions and make free coffee for you. Frappes are so welcome on a hot day. It's a bit up the hill from the center in the old town. Walking down is not bad, but I take the bus to get back up. It seems to attract more interesting and friendly guests than many hostels I've been to lately. It is close to some good places to eat. The hostel is in a new building built for this purpose. Each room has a kitchen and bathroom. Big lockers with keys. Towels available for the asking. I sometimes had trouble with wifi in the room, but it was always fine downstairs. If you take a cab make sure you get one who will actually take you to the right street (some are jerks and want to leave you outside the old wall). If you have serious mobility issues I'm afraid you'll have to miss this one. I have some moderate mobility issues and loved this place anyways. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Lovely big house with nice terase in front. Quiet area of many small narow streets,on top of the hill, just 15min walk to the White Tower.They offer a breakfast buffet in the morning for 2 euros .All you can drink tea&coffe all the time.Rooms are small but clean and the beds are comfy.
One toilet at every 2 rooms.
Do not concider going with your own car there, greek taxi drivers can make it , also probably the locals, us normal mortals can only try.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Hostel was great, spent much time sitting in the courtyard chatting and drinking with fellow guests. Only gripe id say is the shower was very small. The location wasnt great either, no beaches nearby and a long walk to city.,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I spent only one night her, due to a problem at another hostel. The dorm was spacious and very clean. The staff were very kind and helpful. The outside common area was great for chatting with fellow travelers.

I wasn't a big fan of having the kitchen inside the dorms, only for the fact that when I returned to my dorm, there was 3 people boiling water for pasta and frying up some food, that turned the dorm into a steam bath, and smelled like a greasy kitchen. This being only a couple feet from the bunk beds. In my opinion, kitchens and bedrooms shouldn't be in the same room.

Vicki and the other lady (don't recall her name) were excellent and provided a warm welcome.

The hostel is situated way up the hill, so be prepared to do a lot of up and down hill walking if you want to go to places like white tower, or down to the water.

Also, be mindful of the days of the week you choose to come to Thessaloniki. Different sites are open or closed on each day of the week. Some places are closed permanently, even though they have posted hours of operation. Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays tend to have the most places closed, not sure why, as you'd expect those days to be the busiest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

After a difficult trip to Greece, we met with one of the girls who runs this place. She was extremely kind and she even offered us a cold frappe to lift our mood. She was very helpful in giving advices about the city and they have maps and guides for Thessaloniki.
They have very good rooms, the space is very clean. Outside there's a nice terrace/garden where is very beautiful to stay by night.
We stayed there for one night. Although Thessaloniki is not the greatest place on earth, this is definitely one of the best hostels I've been to!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odinmodvalsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
6.6 mi away
Galaxy Design Hotel
Galaxy Design Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oraiokastro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#23 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#20 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#1 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#10 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Big House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Big House

Property: Little Big House
Address: 24 Andokidou, Thessaloniki 546 34, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Big House is a modern guesthouse, perfect for travelers looking for a quiet refuge to relax, meet people and experience all interesting aspects of Thessaloniki, its rich culture, its colorful history, its relaxed day life and its vibrant never-ending nightlife. It is located in the most picturesque, quite and safe neighborhood - the centre of the Old City (Ano Poli) of Thessaloniki- and is easily found in a short walking distance from the city centre and from the most popular tourist sites. Everything began in 2005 after a travelling experience in Europe. Guided by our desire to provide travelers with a cozy place where they can feel like home, along with all the privileges of being hosted in a modern, clean and friendly environment we created our guesthouse "Little Big House" in Thessaloniki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Little Big House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing