We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best musea I ever visited”

Museum of Byzantine Culture
Book In Advance
More Info
US$437.44*
and up
Thessaloniki City Break 4 Days
Ranked #4 of 134 things to do in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best musea I ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I admit that I am passionate about Byzantine culture. This museum is not vast, but it is a very modern concept, walking you through Byzantine culture. For instance, some of the best icons i have ever seen. Only pity was that a number of top pieces were on loan to other musea. We went at the end of July and the museum was quite empty. Entrance fees are very reasonable (students and under 18 being free). A must see if you are in Thessaloniki.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spillemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    183
    43
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good pieces”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I admired the exhibitions but ı saw some politics against the Ottoman Turks. Some evaluations are not objective and scientific. Cultures are belong to human beings, not to the nations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nevinozkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A beautiful effort that deserves our support!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have been to many museums but this is one to fall in love with. Small, manageable, even with young kids, well organized, carefully curated, hospitable, accessible. Our young kids really learned a lot during our visit and so did we. Even if you visit just to see the utensils and jewelry of this time period is worth it. The kids really enjoyed taking a peek at the daily life of Byzantine times, so in this sense it is a lively museum, not just a display of "dead" artifacts. The tombs are exceptionally well preserved. The mosaics and icons too. The staff was very helpful and polite also. The fee is very reasonable also. We got a combo ticket with the archaeological museum which was a great deal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alexiap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolu, Turkey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A new focus on byzantine culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The museum is centrally located; there are sufficient parking spaces within a diameter of 500 metres.
The collections are displayed in a very well organised building. Work are not displayed all together in adjoining rooms;they ar rather separated by long hallways, so you can organise your visit thematically and digest what you have seen. Diplays are scarcely illuminated; maybe this is due to the fragile nature of artefacts. Anyway it creates a gloomy but unique mood.
Absolutely advisable visit; try to combine it with the archeological museum nearby.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusk, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great museum and cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

As well as being the best museum in Thessaloniki, with every period in byzantine history covered from palaeochristian until eighteenth century and beyond, the architecture of the museum and the cool interiors is superb. After a tour of the museum, there is a very pleasant cafe with a very nice menu, and a small but good shop which I always go to and buy books and posters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mccloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Byzantine Culture also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Museum of Byzantine Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing